We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hammam Cleopatre

Hammam Cleopatre
Kennaria n 44, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 6 67 79 72 72
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 530 Activities in Marrakech
Attraction details
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hammam was a little too cold, Massage a little too soft. Might only be my taste but I didn't find it THAT great. Also quite annoying that the guys in the Hamam that did the washing and scrubbing would not stop talking when we had a body mask in there for 20min or so (we had a package for two people). The place has a very nice interior though!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    14
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ningbo, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We got the duo package (45 minutes hammam with body scrub + 45 minutes massage, for two people) for Dh500. Having never been to a hammam before, we have nothing to compare our experience with. However, our impressions are that the setting was quite nice (low lighting, nicely decorated), the facilities and towels were quite clean, and that the service was so-so (I've had better massages). A pretty good first hammam experience, but not good enough to make me want to go back for more.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First Hammam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We came to the Cleopatre Hammam based on the recommendation of our day guide. It was a phenomenal experience and I am not sur I want to experience the public hammam now. Price was fair. Treatment was actually 5 star with the scrape and scrub of the steam room area, followed by an argon oil rub and one hour massage. All this was exceptional. The people were lovely, concerned, helpful and professional. Unfortunately the drain would not drain the water and much of our hammam part was them scraping and plunging out the drain. The massage was very relaxing and interesting. As an expert on sports massage that was not close to what I got, but the massage was extremely relaxing with firm pressure. If they fixed the drain it would easily be four star, but likely is not as well appointed and clean as a five star would necessitate.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Refreshing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hammam was recommended by our riad. We pre-booked the hammam and massage for 2 persons for 1 hr. Its great that they personell is speaking (a bit) English, however they don't explain a lot during the scrubbing. The place for washing and exfoliation is pretty small, but I was there with my boyfriend, so it wasn't a problem for us. If was funny that the lady who was scrubbing me was not very tall, therefore I almost had to kneel at the part where she was washing my hair. But it was not annoying since she was doing her best.

Inbetween the hammam and the massage we got some minttea to drink and flower water on our hands and head. The massage was very relaxt, again I had a lady for the treatment (and a men for my boyfriend), and we smelled very nice afterwards.

The only disadvantage was the (deep) scratches on the backside of my upperarms and back, which I discovered uin the evening. It faded away after 4-5 days. During the hammam treatment I didn't had the feeling that the lady was doing rough, but apparently too much skin was removed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Filthy place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Visited hammam Cleopatre on our recent stay at Marrakech. We were escorted by a young boy who was distributing flyers on the Jemaa al Fna square. First impression was good, English speaking friendly staff, good facilities. When we actually decided to take a package for 2 with 1h hammam with chocolate mask and 1h massage following by feel mask. I decided not to have hammam (as it was a bit too intimate for me) instead I swapped it for a pedicure and a chocolate face mask.
While my partner was having hammam I had the worst pedicure ever, had my nails brutally polished and cream applied on my dirty feet. I could have done better job on my own. The whole pedicure lasted 25 minutes and I was left waiting for my boyfriend to finish his hammam. When he arrived he was wearing dirty, dump and smelly bath robe which was clearly used before and passed between people. We then followed upstairs to the massage room to have our 1h massage. The towels on the tables were again dump and smelly and definitely used before, I was disgusted laying on them and couldn't wait till the massage is over. Although massage was good my misuse was texting mid through the massage and I had an allergy afterwards and was very itchy on my arms and legs (may be their magic argan oil!?). After our massage we had a feet mask, first they applied the substance with a brush on my make upped face and then on both our feet with the same brush, imagine how many people this brush been used on? Face feet, feet face, don't even want to think about it. Then all this was removed with a cloth which was used the same way, face then feet, and probably the same on other people.
Dirty, filthy place, left very uncomfortable and was desperate for a shower. Would not recommend hammam Cleopatre, shop around and see a few, its better to spend a few extra dirham but be satisfied in the end.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammam Cleopatre also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Hammam Cleopatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammam Cleopatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.