We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where great style meets great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charme d'Orient

Save Saved
You added Riad Charme d'Orient to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Charme d'Orient
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   61 Rue Touareg, Ksibet N'has | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #44 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Wollongong
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Where great style meets great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

There is much to say about this Riad, but most of it has already been said.
My many pre-booking emails were answered promptly by Laurence and after requesting a quiet room she suggested we take the Abdelhadi room, which is in the corner on the upper floor. Great choice! The room was very big with a small sitting area as well as the bed with crisp white mongrammed sheets. The décor was beautiful. There was a large "Moroccan style" bathroom with large walk-in shower and complimentary toiletries, huge bath towels and fluffy robes. The Riad is spotless throughout.
Our room-rate included free pick-up from the airport and breakfast. Breakfast was served on the roof-top terrace by the friendly staff. Although the breakfast is normally bread/cake/jams/juice and sweet Moroccan dishes Laurence made a special arrangement for my husband's dietary needs. The transport was waiting for us at the airport even though our flight from Barcelona was approx. 45 mins late.
The Riad is beautifully decorated throughout with lots of lovely things and lots of colour. There is a small "pool" in the courtyard. Although it was unusually hot when we were there - 41 degrees!!! the pool was too cold for a swim but excellent for dipping your feet in to cool down.
The 3 staff members employed here are delightful. They are friendly and obliging. We ate in the Riad two nights as we had been out all day on tours. Laurence asked what we would like both times and dinner was served on the rooftop by Said. We had an absolutely delicious lamb tangia one night and then a chicken tagine. The prices were very reasonable and you can buy wine, which unfortunately we didn't find out until the last day Wine prices were also reasonable.
The Riad is in a quiet location, approx. 10 mins walk to the Jemma el Fna. The Saadian Tombs and the Bahia Palace are also close by.
Laurence spent a long time with me going through our sightseeing requirements. She was extremely helpful suggesting the Three Valleys full day tour as well as our request for a day in Essaouira. Transport was booked through her and the prices were very reasonable. She also booked a private car/driver for our transfer back to Casablanca airport for our flight.She drew maps for how to get to the money-changer and gave suggestions for places for dinner and maps how to get there. The service she provides goes far beyond anything you would get in a hotel.
There was nothing not to like about our stay here and we would definitely return if visiting Marrakech again. We would recommend also to anyone who wants an "authentic" stay in Marrakech with great personalized service at an excellent price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
106
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Everything has already been said and I can only confirm it. This Riad is p-e-r-f-e-c-t-i-o-n !
Not only does it look like a little piece of heaven, but it truly is, for real ! The style, the quality (of everything, from bed sheets to breakfast and dinner !), the cleanliness (this must be the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in), the service... Honestly, I don't think I could have been better anywhere else, and I wonder if I'll ever be ! All of this for an incredible quality/price ratio.
Congratulations to Laurence who lets her hosts get a taste of paradise and best regards to Said, with whom we had very fun and interesting conversations. He will certainly keep you entertained !
Would I ever go back to this place ? I would do in a heart bit for sure !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the very early breakfast on the day we had to leave it was so wonderful !!

The Staff can't be more friendly and helpful ! They even made a nice breakfast for us on the day we left around 05:00 in the morning..

The Riad itself is very nice and spotless, located in a small street close to Jemaa el Fna ( +- 10 Minutes walk ) central located for all the things you want to see in Marrakech.
The Rooftop is nice to relax and to have breakfast..

Overall this Riad is perfect with the most friendly staff !! I will definatly come back !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Riad has a very good and calm location - around 10 minutes walk to Jemma el Fna and 5 minutes to Saadian Thombs and Les Bains de Marrakech. We were lucky to be accomodated in Moulay Ahmed room - the deco is amazing and the bathroom is spacious and lovely. The breakfast is fresh and delicious. The hosts Laurence and Alain are extremly helpful and try to make you feel like at home. They can help you to arrange excursion, book the table at a restaurant or suggest activities while staying in Marrakesh. The Riad is quiet and clean and after all the craziness during the day you will find your oasis there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

my wife and I stayed here for a few days recently and thoroughly enjoyed our trip and the entire Marrakech experience, thanks in no small part to Laurence (and her fantastic staff). the riad is beautiful, spotlessly clean, and a wonderfully tranquil oasis amid the intensity of the medina. also, and everything Laurence recommended we thoroughly enjoyed - don't skip breakfast and check out the bains de Marrakech for a hamman. highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This charming, beautifully renovated riad is excellent! The rooms are wonderful, and kept very clean.
The owners are great and you feel like you are visiting in their home rather than in a "hotel". We were met by owner Laurence and manager Said upon arrival at the taxi drop off, we felt very welcome.
They will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Only drawback was that we couldn't be served dinner at the riad. Found it a struggle to find good restaurants nearby.
Would definately recommend this riad!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in room "Moulay Ahmed". Wonderful and private with no other guests passning since i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beurieralain, Propriétaire at Riad Charme d'Orient, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind comment about our riad.
It was a pleasure to met you and share these few days with you.
Just a little answer about negative point with food at the riad. We only buy fresh food, that's why we ask our guests to tell in the morning if they want to eat in the evening.
So when people arrive late, and haven't told that they need a dinner,yes i confirm that's its' impossible to have .
Close to the riad, guests can eat at :-

- TANJIA: 4 minutes by walk from the riad
- Cosy Bar: 4 minutes by walk from the riad
- Dar Essalam: 7 minutes by walk from the riad
- El Bahia : 6 minutes by walk from the riad
- Casa Saada: 5 minutes by walk from the riad
- Kafé Kasbah: 5 minutes by walk from the riad
- Les jardins de la Médina: 10 minutes by walk from the riad
etc....
So, even if you can't eat at the riad, lots of restaurants are close to us , and the Jemna El Fna Place is 7 minutes by walk..
We are sorry for you , may be we shoud have given you more explained about all the restaurants situated around the riad.

Hope you will keep instead of that a good memory of your stay in Marrakech ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexUK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

In over 35 years of travel we have never stayed with as wonderful a hostess as Laurence - she is exceptional in her care and attention to detail.From the moment we arrived by taxi and were met by Laurence and Said, we were looked after, helped and advised as to the best ways to spend our time with them. The rhiad is in the Kasbah area of the Medina and once through the door you enter a different world full of beautiful, authentic decorations in an oasis of calm. Our room was spotless and presented in the style you associate with more expensive, boutique hotels. The breakfasts every morning were exceptional. There are quiet corners in which to relax and read as well as a roof top terrace with loungers and other seating. The couple of evening meals we had there were plentiful and of good quality. We would highly recommend this rhiad without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Charme d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charme d'Orient

Address: 61 Rue Touareg, Ksibet N'has | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Charme d'Orient 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad «Charme d'Orient» is situated in the heart of the beautiful Marrakech Kasbah quarter. You will be received in pure Arab-Andalusian style after its restoration in subtle harmony between tradition and comfort, and surrounded by a noble and charming atmosphere.It is especially well located close to the Saadian Tombs, the palaces of El Badi and La Bahia, and the famous Djeema El Fna Square. Therefore, the Riad has many appealing features to seduce you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Riad Charme d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charme d'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.