We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charme d'Orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Charme d'Orient to your Saves list
Riad Charme d'Orient
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   61 Rue Touareg, Ksibet N'has | Old Town, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
EssexUK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

In over 35 years of travel we have never stayed with as wonderful a hostess as Laurence - she is exceptional in her care and attention to detail.From the moment we arrived by taxi and were met by Laurence and Said, we were looked after, helped and advised as to the best ways to spend our time with them. The rhiad is in the Kasbah area of the Medina and once through the door you enter a different world full of beautiful, authentic decorations in an oasis of calm. Our room was spotless and presented in the style you associate with more expensive, boutique hotels. The breakfasts every morning were exceptional. There are quiet corners in which to relax and read as well as a roof top terrace with loungers and other seating. The couple of evening meals we had there were plentiful and of good quality. We would highly recommend this rhiad without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
122
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week in October 2012 and cannot praise this riad enough! Entering in through the small door (it's a bit of a challenge to find) from the dusty streets of the medina, it really does feel like you're entering an oasis of calm. The owners and staff (Laurence, Alain, Said, and Asma) were all incredibly welcoming, warm, and friendly and went above and beyond the call of duty, even offering us medicine when the inevitable Moroccan stomach malaise set in. We stayed at a few other riads during our visit to Morocco but none of them compared to Riad charme d'orient. The attention to detail at this riad is flawless, from the amazing breakfasts with a myriad of tiny pots to the tangia cooked in the oven of the hamam across the street. We would definitely return if we come back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilenkirchen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent three nights at this wonderful Riad. Laurence, Alain and Said will welcome you with open arms and set the tone with wonderful customer service right from the moment you step out of the cab. She will imediately welcom you with tea and tell you everything you need to know about the city. We arrived late on the first evening and decided to eat in, you will not be disappointed, the food was soooo good. The Riad is just simply gorgeous, in a great location and customer service everyone desires!!! Would go back there in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights - this place is an absolute haven away from the madness that is Marrakech! Laurence, Alain and Said were great hosts ensuring that we knew where we were going, how to get there and what to expect! Our room (Moulay Ahmed) on the first floor was perfect. We decided to try one of their evening meals on offer and have to say it was delicious! The lamb tagine was amazing.
The roof terrace has plenty of seating and sun beds - ideal for the end of the day after the hustle and bustle of the city.
We would definitely recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: Most rooms have double beds only though I do believe there is one guest room with singles. First f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The riad itself is beautiful - comfortable, stylish and relaxing. A perfect retreat from the busy crowds.

Nice roof terrace for breakfast and lounging in the sun. Owners and staff all really friendly & welcoming. Helped us organise day tours to the Atlas Mountains & recommended things to do in Marrakech.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This riad is a little gem. It has only been open for 2.5 years and everything inside is brand new and of amazing taste. Laurence is a wonderful hostess. She does it with the heart and as a guest, you will feel incredibly looked after. She works so hard in the riad, taking care of every little detail. Our room was very nice (Moulay Ahmed on the first floor) and offered privacy. The riad also has a great terrace and a brand new glass roof which makes it probably the only riad in Marrakech to have that sort of roof protection over the central patio. Good breakfast, very central position. We highly recommend it (and we are fussy, typically only go to 4-5 stars hotels).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a lovely riad in an excellent location within easy walking distance to all the attractions. Laurence, Alain and Said were very helpful and welcoming, making our experience there a very relaxed one and creating a homely atmosphere. Breakfast on the terrace was delicious. All highly recommended and the best of the 3 riads we stayed in in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Charme d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charme d'Orient

Address: 61 Rue Touareg, Ksibet N'has | Old Town, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Charme d'Orient 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
C'est au coeur du tres beau quartier de Kasbah que le riad <> vous ouvre ses portes. Restaure dans le pur style Arabo-Andalou ce riad de charme, subtile harmonie entre tradition et confort vous plongera dans un univers raffine et enchanteur. Sa proximite avec les tombeaux Saadiens, le palais El Badi, Le palais de La Bahia et la celebre place Djeema El Fna, lui confere une situation privilegiee. Autant d'atouts pour vous seduire et permettre au riad << Charme d'Orient >> d'operer sa magie. Alain & Laurence et toute leur equipe seront heureux de vous accueillir au fil des saisons pour vous faire partager leur passion et rendre votre sejour inoubliable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Charme d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charme d'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.