We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad in crazy Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charme d'Orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Charme d'Orient to your Saves list
Riad Charme d'Orient
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   61 Rue Touareg, Ksibet N'has | Old Town, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful riad in crazy Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Have just returned from wonderful 5 days in Marrakech. Riad Charme D'Orient was a beautiful, comfortable and luxurious place to stay and providing the much needed relaxation and calm for escaping the craziness of the Medina. Laurence and Alain were excellent hosts - really helpful when planning your visit and ready to greet you with a mint tea at the end of a long day. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
137
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I could not fault this Riad. Laurence and her husband, Alain have created an oasis in the heart of Marrakech's Medina. The Riad is a 5-10 minute walk from the Jemaa al-Fnaa square and local restaurants and hamams (which Laurence is more than happy to advise on).

My partner and I stayed in the "Moulay Ahmed" room which is located in the centre of the Riad on the first floor, overlooking the indoor fountain. The room was very clean. Breakfast is served between 8.30-10.30 on the open-air rooftop terrace: it is filling and delicious. When we departed early one day, the staff was more than happy to prepare us breakfast outside the standard times.

The Riad is very safe and there is an on-site manager 24 hours a day. We had a truly exceptional experience and would definitely recommend this Riad to friends visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

One must stay in the medina when visiting Marrakech, at least the first time. The place to stay is Charme d' Orient. Wonderful rooms and a great rooftop terrace. Breakfast are spectacular and if you have the chance to have them make your dinner it is excellent. Laurence and Siad are gracious warm host that make the a paradise.n

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Absolutely fantastic

We stayed at this Riad for five nights. It was an excellent way to see Marrakech. The Riad is close to the main sites and is an oasis of peace and tranquillity in what is a mad exciting city.

The Riad is of a very high standard and all the staff very friendly and helpful. The owner Laurence sat down with us and worked out what was best to see and when was the best time. Laurence also booked a private trip to the mountains and on another day a hamam which made organising things much easier.

Alain cooked a superb traditional meal for us in the Riad which was a great relaxing night after a long hectic day.

Without reservation I can recommend this Riad to anyone wanting a quality stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Everything about this riad was perfect. As soon as we had booked we received a personal email from Laurence , the owner, who welcomed us and offered to arranged a taxi pick up from the airport to the riad on our arrival. We were glad we agreed with this arrangement as we would never have found the riad on our own since it is down a quiet alley. Laurence was waiting for us on the main road, she was very welcoming, we had mint tea when we got there and Laurence sat with us to give us information about the city, she booked a hamam for us and a day trip to the atlas mountains. The riad was beautiful, full of character, clean, quiet and an ideal place to come to after the hustle and bustle outside. Laurence and her staff were very pleasant and only too happy to help with any queries. Laurence, Allain (laurence's husband) and Sahid (staff) walked us to the taxi pick up point on our departure. They clearly love their work which made this a lovely experience for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Fillans
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent three days here on a last minute holiday.

Laurence and Alain are excellent hosts, with nothing too much trouble (including getting us back to the Riad when we got lost on the first night). Beautifully decorated and well located (if difficult to find until you get used to it), I'd thoroughly reccomend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This has to be the perfect place to base your stay in Marrakech. Only 10-15 mins from the airport, we were met promptly (even though our plane was 40 mins early!) and whizzed to the Riad.

The pictures can't do justice to the beauty of the place - it is a thing of beauty. It was awe inspiring to hear from the wonderful owners about their transformation of what was a below average building into something of exquisite handcrafted beauty. All the carvings, mosaics, plasterwork and other detail in the building are handmade in a tradition that probably won't exist in a decade. The attention to detail is breathtaking and it really is a feast for the eyes.

The breakfasts were delicious and extremely generous and tea/ fruit/ sweeties were always being offered to us every time we came in the building by the lovely Said. Said also took us on a very special trip to the Atlas mountains, where he seemed to know everyone en route (being a native of Ourika Valley) and was able to help us see fascinating aspects of mountain life that are not open to all tourists. We felt very privileged.

Alain and Laurence really made this trip special for us. Not only their endlessly charming and warm hospitality, but their never-tiring enthusiasm for the city and country. They generously shared all their local knowledge with us and this was better than any guide book. We got a huge amount out of our 5 day trip and are convinced we would not have had such a quality experience or such an enjoyable one without their insights and stories.

Would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to anyone - there cannot be a better place to experience Marrakech and we will definitely be back to stay in the future. Thank you for making it such a memorable holiday!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Charme d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charme d'Orient

Address: 61 Rue Touareg, Ksibet N'has | Old Town, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Charme d'Orient 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
C'est au coeur du tres beau quartier de Kasbah que le riad <> vous ouvre ses portes. Restaure dans le pur style Arabo-Andalou ce riad de charme, subtile harmonie entre tradition et confort vous plongera dans un univers raffine et enchanteur. Sa proximite avec les tombeaux Saadiens, le palais El Badi, Le palais de La Bahia et la celebre place Djeema El Fna, lui confere une situation privilegiee. Autant d'atouts pour vous seduire et permettre au riad << Charme d'Orient >> d'operer sa magie. Alain & Laurence et toute leur equipe seront heureux de vous accueillir au fil des saisons pour vous faire partager leur passion et rendre votre sejour inoubliable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Charme d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charme d'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.