We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome and Exceptional Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charme d'Orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Charme d'Orient to your Saves list
Riad Charme d'Orient
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   61 Rue Touareg, Ksibet N'has | Old Town, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 1,114 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome and Exceptional Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Riad Charme d'Orient is a a gem, both because of its structure (a renovated courtyard house hidden on a narrow lane in the Marrakech Medina) and because of the exceptional service offered by owners Laurence and Alain, and their friendly staff.

It was our first visit to Marrakech and we wanted to experience the town's history and culture, so staying in a large tourist hotel was definitely not going to fit our needs. In looking for a more personal experience, we stumbled upon Charme d'Orient and I cannot imagine it is possible to find a better place! From the warm welcome (three people came out to greet our taxi and escort us (3 mins) down the winding lane to the Inn) to the exceptional assistance and advice offered by Laurence on touring and dining, to the friendly, smiling service staff (Said and Asma), this was an outstanding way to exeperience Marrakech.

The location is ideal -- close to some of the major historical sights of the Medina, including the Saadian Tombs, the Bahia Palace and the gem of Islamic art that is the Dar Si Said museum. We walked from there around the old city, and at the end of an exhausting day experiencing the clamour and congestion of the narrow streets and alleys, it was a breath of fresh air to return to the calm Charme d'Orient courtyard and sip a quiet glass of wine. (Because the hotel is so small and intimate, we found ourselves actually chatting with other guests, which was a welcome social touch.)

We didn't stay at the Riad for any evening meals, but we did enjoy beer, wine, snacks and even a few whiskies in the courtyard. Breakfasts were excellent -- good quality "pain au chocolat" is a sine qua non for a good breakfast, but Asma also offered cooked omelettes and yogurt or flan.

All in all, our stay at Charme d'Orient was one of the best B&B experiences we have ever had, and I would recommend it to anyone -- other than families with small kids. (While they would be welcome, I am sure, the serene atmosphere of this place would not benefit from their presence.)

Room Tip: This inn is built around a lovely central courtyard -- see pics. Rooms on the ground floor are righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
133
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at this Riad on our first ever visit to Marrakech. We loved the Riad, it was all we had hoped for and more. Our room was very clean and the whole Riad is a beauty. It is hidden in the hustle bustle of the narrow streets of Marrackech and very near to the city centre. Alan and Laurence, the couple who own the Riad are such a nice people. They were there to receive us just as we steepped outside our taxi and made our stay really memorable. I am not sure about the tariffs of other such Riads in Marrakech but would defenitely recommend this one for exceptional service of the people in Riad who will make sure your stay is as memorable as it could be.

We will defenitely stay at this Riad the next time we visit Marrackech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkoswald, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was our first visit to Marrakech and to Morocco and Riad Charme d'Orient was the ideal place to stay. Laurence and Alain are perfect hosts, and did everything possible to make our visit memorable. We took advantage of the offer of airport transfer, which made arrival swift and easy. The taxi stop is a short distance from the Riad, and Alain, Laurence and Said all turned out to meet us - what a welcome! Over several cups of sage tea, Laurence talked us through the major sights, then walked with us almost as far as Djemaa El Fna to show us the safest route at night.
The city is fascinating, but noisy and crowded, so the ability to withdraw into the calm of the riad was a huge bonus. The courtyard and the rooms have all been restored with immense taste and sensitivity. Our room and bathroom were beautifully appointed - lovely fresh linen and towels, and lots of little touches.
Breakfast, served in the courtyard, was generous and quite set us up for the day. One evening we ate in - Alain prepared us two magnificent tagines, one lamb and the other chicken. We dined in the salon by the fire, starting with a salad of tomatoes and onions and ending with slices of orange with cinnamon and dates. Delicious!
Said looked after us very well, organizing taxis and a wonderful trip into the Ourika Valley. Asma, who is at the riad during the day, showed us great kindness, and we particularly appreciated her mastering the art of making English tea, which she served us on the roof terrace each afternoon.
The location of the riad is extremely convenient: the whole of the medina is in walking distance, but sights such as the Saadian tombs and Badi and Bahia Palaces are only a couple of minutes away. The little street where it is located is very quiet (by Marrakech standards) and easy to find. We had a fabulous time, and would recommend the riad without hesitation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and individual. Look at the photos. Rooms on the upper floor are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have just returned from 3 nights here, the Riad is absolutely beautiful, very nicely designed and spotlessly clean. Alain and Laurence, along with their team of Said and Asma, put a lot of effort in to make sure your stay in Marrakech and at their Riad is the best it can be.

Unfortunately I got horrendous food poisoning on the first day by eating at a Cafe in the Medina so I spent all but about 4 hours of my 3 days in the Riad and I am so glad I was staying there, especially as Laurence was very kind and made sure I was okay and gave me some medication to help! It is so very peaceful, the bed was extremely comfortable, the linens are lovely as are the towels and the nice fluffy bathrobes, all the details have been very well thought of, it was a haven to stay in.

There is a lovely roof terrace that is a great suntrap too, nice for a bit of relaxing.

I really liked the area the Riad was in, the Kasbah quarter, I found it more quiet and less hassley than the other parts of the Medina, yet only a short walk to Jma el Fnaa square and the Souks and other attractions.

I absolutely would stay here again if I return to Marrakech and I highly recommend it to anyone else, there are so many Riads to choose from, but I am so glad I chose this one, it was great value, Laurence and Alain were excellent hosts and for me it was just the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very large and comfortable Riad, beautiful pool and terrace, at night you can do star-gazing on the terrace. lovely host Laurence who showed us all the main attractions and also guided us to Spa and Sahara tour. Highly recommended. It's within walkable distance to all the main attractions in the city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent three beautiful nights in Riad Charme d'Orient and I would advise anyone to stay here.
Riad is beautiful, very nice decorated, extremely clean. Bathroom is provided with lots of towels, bathrobe, hairdryer, and amazing shampoo, shower gel and body creme. Bed is very comfortable, silence rules all day and night long. Laurence is the owner, she came to pick us up where the taxi leave us and lead us to the Riad. She showed us the room, and then she provides us a Marrakech map, highlighting the most important sites in the city giving us some tips to live the city in a easiest way. She is very kind, careful and most important, very natural. Said is there all day to help you and give any kind of information. He is very helpful, and really nice, very careful as well. In the morning, breakfast is huge and fresh. There is a girl serving the breakfast she is lovely. Anyone in Riad Charme d'Orient work to make you feel good, with a cozy and "at home" feeling.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are beautiful, but not suit for a young couple :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Riad Charme D'Orient is the most perfect place to stay in Marrakech. Laurence's wonderful eye for design has resulted in a stunning restoration of this beautiful Riad. The friendliness and service that Alain, Laurence, Said and Asma offer to all of their guests is quite exceptional and something that all hoteliers could and should learn from. They are the most perfect hosts and will do all that they can to ensure your comfort, safety and happiness. Alain & Asma served us beautiful food. Laurence & Said were our guides and companions. Nothing was too much trouble. On departing, it genuinely felt like we were leaving the company of close family and friends. The location is also ideal. You are a 2 minute walk away from the edge of the Medina and within easy walking distance of Saadian Tombs, Bahia Palace, El Badi Palace, Jemaa el Fna and Koutoubia Mosque. I cannot recommend Riad Charme D'Orient highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Charme d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charme d'Orient

Address: 61 Rue Touareg, Ksibet N'has | Old Town, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,114 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Charme d'Orient 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
C'est au coeur du tres beau quartier de Kasbah que le riad <> vous ouvre ses portes. Restaure dans le pur style Arabo-Andalou ce riad de charme, subtile harmonie entre tradition et confort vous plongera dans un univers raffine et enchanteur. Sa proximite avec les tombeaux Saadiens, le palais El Badi, Le palais de La Bahia et la celebre place Djeema El Fna, lui confere une situation privilegiee. Autant d'atouts pour vous seduire et permettre au riad << Charme d'Orient >> d'operer sa magie. Alain & Laurence et toute leur equipe seront heureux de vous accueillir au fil des saisons pour vous faire partager leur passion et rendre votre sejour inoubliable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Charme d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charme d'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.