We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a banging place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Sun

The Red Sun
Zone Touristique Agdale Lot MH24bis | (à coté de Megarama), Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212524377979
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #147 of 508 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $28 - $55
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Après Amsterdam et Blaricum THE RED SUN ouvre ses portes à Marrakech, une Nouvelle adresse de la modern Asian Cuisine, situé dans le nouveau village touristique de l’Agdal, avenue Mohammed VI (à côté de Megarama). Inspirée des cuisines chinoise, japonaise et thaïlandaise, THE RED SUN vous propose une spécialité asiatique moderne, une formule unique au Maroc.Outre l’originalité de sa carte «Modern Asian Cuisine» et de son ambiance chaleureuse et branchée, THE RED SUN propose des spectacles musicaux .
1 review
“What a banging place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious and so was our mojitos.. Some reviews complaining on costs. Well the menu is clearly visible outside before you go in. Best nite we had by far the food especially the thai fish cakes where so good we ordered everything twice. Cost us £68 for 8 starter style dishes, 2 mojitos and a shisha to finish off the evening. Oh and the music players where amazing... Would highly recommend....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    12
    16
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, fun entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Excellent quality food, international food menu for sharing, great sushi - great if you want something a bit more western based. Live music from 10:30pm - one night they did requests.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Chinese....ish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Went to the Red Sun twice whilst working in Marrakech. The restaurant is located at the side of Pasha nightclub and is about 2 miles out of the town centre.
First impressions were good, the place looks and feels quite upmarket.
The menu is varied in that it offers Moroccan food, as well as Chinese, Thai and Japanese dishes. Prices are good.
On the first visit I tried the chicken in sweet chilli sauce with cashew nuts which was tasty and on the last visit I went for the chicken in teriyaki sauce, which again was very nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
3,316 helpful votes 3,316 helpful votes
“If you love Chinese/Thai food this is the place for you but limited veggie options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ok Let me start by saying that I'm not a fan of Chinese/Thai food and I came to this restaurant because my family love Chinese/Thai food so I didn't have anything from the menu apart from an absoloutely delicious dessert they offered me for free (I think they felt bad because I'm vegetarian and they weren't much vegetarian options or range of variety available in this restaurant which was disappointing). According to my family the food was very nice and loved the decor even though it was a bit dark - we struggled to read the menu because of the dim lighting.. The staff were very nice and even went to great lengths in making sure that I had something to eat and not charging me for it - that left a good impression on me despite the fact I'm not a fan of Chinese/Thai food.
The downside to this restaurant is that there is a bar/club next to it and I don't think it is a suitable place take your children with you to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent oriental food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The food is of high quality. A mixture of chinese, japanesa and Tai, with internationational touch
The place is very well decorated
The service of high quality

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Sun also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to The Red Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.