We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese....ish!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Sun - CLOSED

The Red Sun
Zone Touristique Agdale Lot MH24bis | (à coté de Megarama), Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212524377979
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $28 - $55
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Après Amsterdam et Blaricum THE RED SUN ouvre ses portes à Marrakech, une Nouvelle adresse de la modern Asian Cuisine, situé dans le nouveau village touristique de l’Agdal, avenue Mohammed VI (à côté de Megarama). Inspirée des cuisines chinoise, japonaise et thaïlandaise, THE RED SUN vous propose une spécialité asiatique moderne, une formule unique au Maroc.Outre l’originalité de sa carte «Modern Asian Cuisine» et de son ambiance chaleureuse et branchée, THE RED SUN propose des spectacles musicaux .
Preston UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Chinese....ish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Went to the Red Sun twice whilst working in Marrakech. The restaurant is located at the side of Pasha nightclub and is about 2 miles out of the town centre.
First impressions were good, the place looks and feels quite upmarket.
The menu is varied in that it offers Moroccan food, as well as Chinese, Thai and Japanese dishes. Prices are good.
On the first visit I tried the chicken in sweet chilli sauce with cashew nuts which was tasty and on the last visit I went for the chicken in teriyaki sauce, which again was very nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4,558 helpful votes
“If you love Chinese/Thai food this is the place for you but limited veggie options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ok Let me start by saying that I'm not a fan of Chinese/Thai food and I came to this restaurant because my family love Chinese/Thai food so I didn't have anything from the menu apart from an absoloutely delicious dessert they offered me for free (I think they felt bad because I'm vegetarian and they weren't much vegetarian options or range of variety available in this restaurant which was disappointing). According to my family the food was very nice and loved the decor even though it was a bit dark - we struggled to read the menu because of the dim lighting.. The staff were very nice and even went to great lengths in making sure that I had something to eat and not charging me for it - that left a good impression on me despite the fact I'm not a fan of Chinese/Thai food.
The downside to this restaurant is that there is a bar/club next to it and I don't think it is a suitable place take your children with you to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
220 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent oriental food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The food is of high quality. A mixture of chinese, japanesa and Tai, with internationational touch
The place is very well decorated
The service of high quality

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not a tagine in sight!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We visited the red Sun as we were staying close by at Al-fassia Aguedal and were tiring of morroccan food. First impressions were wow! someone spent a lot of money on decor, but it was too dark for me to be able to read the menu, which was in french anyway - We had the platinum chef's selection and it was very tasty, but horribly expensive, by this point in the holiday anything that didn't have lamb in was sure to be a hit. We were in early (7.30pm) and so missed any live music. I was bitten by a mosquito in there - only bite of the holiday! We went again and just had starters and a main course - still very expensive :-(

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun evening with good but overpriced food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went and did the chefs choice and everything we ate was very good but just way overpriced. The portions were decent and suffice. All the staff was great, attentive and very friendly. The atmosphere was very cool and modern but expect to drop a lot of money for drinks and food. Overall a nice evening and place but I do not think the quality of food matches the prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Sun also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.