We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun evening with good but overpriced food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Sun - CLOSED

The Red Sun
Zone Touristique Agdale Lot MH24bis | (à coté de Megarama), Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212524377979
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $28 - $55
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Après Amsterdam et Blaricum THE RED SUN ouvre ses portes à Marrakech, une Nouvelle adresse de la modern Asian Cuisine, situé dans le nouveau village touristique de l’Agdal, avenue Mohammed VI (à côté de Megarama). Inspirée des cuisines chinoise, japonaise et thaïlandaise, THE RED SUN vous propose une spécialité asiatique moderne, une formule unique au Maroc.Outre l’originalité de sa carte «Modern Asian Cuisine» et de son ambiance chaleureuse et branchée, THE RED SUN propose des spectacles musicaux .
Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun evening with good but overpriced food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went and did the chefs choice and everything we ate was very good but just way overpriced. The portions were decent and suffice. All the staff was great, attentive and very friendly. The atmosphere was very cool and modern but expect to drop a lot of money for drinks and food. Overall a nice evening and place but I do not think the quality of food matches the prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“just am ordinary Thai/Chinese, cannot live up to Amsterdam in anyway. Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Food is covered is large amounts of sauce.

Sushi is okay but nothing special.

Lamb chops, pour quality.

Waitress very friendly but does not know anything about the menu or the wine.

If you go there with in mind an Amsterdam experience, you will have a disappointing evening. If you go there because you are tired of tajine or brochettes then you eat like at a cheap Chinese take-a-way at highstreet price.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked a table the same evening, when we arrived, there were a couple of tables. We decided to do a tasting menu - heard good things about the cuisine. It was 450 dhs for 5 courses, if I remember correctly. And then we regret immediately that chose such a long option - the live music started. It is a disaster! They played almost non-stop and extremely loud. First two guys with the moroccan songs, then a lady singing Ayo, Whitney Houston etc (nothing to do with Asian cuisine). We have not seen our friends for two weeks and planned to have a nice dinner - no way we could talk. Sushi arrived. What was called King crab on the menu appeared to be simple crab sticks. All fried. The rest of the menu was arriving with 30min breaks. We were constantly hungry and annoyed by the music. The only good thing - friendly staff. But I would recommend them to stop this live music thing and speed up the kitchen.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This was the 2nd time I went to this restaurant. The first time was on a weekday. There was hardly light enough too see what was on the menu. We got an extra candle (!) still not easy too read. Food was nice. When we left they turned on more light....(wasn't closing time) The second time it was on a friday night. More light. Nice sushi. Had lobster, allthough sauce was very nice i would not recommend as suspect lobster is deep freezed and very hard to get out of the shell (they say "you do it with your hands" even like that, it's not easy.) No cracker was provided and I had to ask for a knife.
The ambiance is nice but in the weekend you'll have to support the very loud music (my friend and I weren't able to talk to each other) first the dragon, then the moroccan gnaoua musicians and then the singers. They seem to like it like that here. For me a shame as I wanted to go to a RESTAURANT, not a DISCO or LOUNGE . Great option maybe for couples who don't have any to say to each other anymore but not for people who want to spend a night catching up with friends. A down is also the price of the wine. a bottle that cost 40 Dh in the shop costs 180 DH and the better wines are around 280 Dh, quiet pricey even for Marrakech standards.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

this restaurant it's exactly what i needed after 5 days of tajine and cus cus...

The location: te restaurant is not central, around 50 dirham from the medina (price needs to be negotiated with the taxi driver all the time of course), behind the famous international discoteche PACHA, it's the new area of marrakech, I don't really like it.

The atmosphere: It is weird, you can see a lot of effort to make the place very asian, I was there on Saturday night and they have done 4-5 different shows during the dinner

The food: I like the concept very much, they are mixing different asia food (japanese, chinese, thai...) and the result is pretty good i have to say.
I had a SUSHI mix (32 pieces for 4 people) and we shared 2 GOLD menu. A lot of food came and the quality was quite high.

The service: amazing!!!We had a private waitress very alert but never too obsess or tormenting

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Sun also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.