We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building with lovely roof terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Viva

Save Saved
You added Riad Viva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Viva
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #213 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful building with lovely roof terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Riad Viva is beautifully decorated inside, the rooms are comfortable, and the staff are friendly. We stayed in the riad for a four day break over New Year. A highlight is the lovely roof terrace, a little suntrap that offset the January cold spells in the shaded streets.

The riad is a great location in the heart of the old town, but set back from the Medina making it a good escape from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas. The main sights are all only 5 to ten minutes away on foot.

The riad will organise a free transfer form the airport, which is a must not least to find it the first time. After initially locating it, it's easy to find down an alleyway near the hospital and Palace Bahia. We were however charged MAD 200 for the airport transfer return - expensive given it is only a ten minute journey and there is a taxi rank nearby. If we'd had more time we would have gone for that.

We also loved the nearby "Les Bains de L'Alhambra" for a traditional hannam. You'd need to book in advance, the receptionist speaks a number of languages fluently so nothing to worry about there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    45
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
139
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

stayed for 6 days in mid December. pre arranged free taxi picked us up promptly from airport and took us to alley way where a person took our luggage the final 300yards to the riad .the alley ways were perfectly safe , real nice to see lots of happy children playing in the alleys. no hassle at all . people at all times very polite and helpful.the riad is superb, from the minute you step inside you are made to feel special by the amazing staff,always on hand to give advice . room 2 was real cosy ,air con great shower comfy bed. great tasty breakfast could be took on the roof terrace. nice pastrys pancakes ect.sun.beds and splash pool nice in the afternoon.girlfriend had the in house hammas and massage which was a good price and excellent. the riad will book various trips at real good prices if you ask at reception ,the valley one being especially good value. beer and wine good prices in the riad . wish we had eaten in the riad as the menu looked superb and cheap.they will cook it to order. having read previous reviews people seemed a little concerned about the location down the the alleys. I can assure people it is certainly feels lot safer than most English towns after dark. we liked using the little shops/kiosks in the alley to buy snacks, water and great cakes.my girlfriend would often go by herself to buy stuff and found people really helpful ,no hassle at all.with taxis get a price ,it can vary from 30 to 100 drhs to the new town and always have right money as nobody has change!!in all a fantastic stay in a real part of Marrakech. the hustle bustle is part of the experience of the medina. we loved it and at the end of the day we could get away from it all it in the amazing riad viva . special thanks to all the great friendly staff .all were so helpful and polite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Beautiful Riad only 10 mins walk from the Medina, the big square and the Casbah.
Very very clean, breakfast is beautiful and the service is absolutely excellent. There was excellent attention to detail and staff are extremely helpful. The room was fantastic, immaculate and very comfortable. Excellent Wifi connection throughout the building. Well presented roof top terrace. We thoroughly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have just returned from 4 days in Maarakech - from the moment we arrived we made to feel welcome and at home in the Riad Viva - the staff , location was superb and our room, overlooking the ground floor courtyard , was amazing . A real calm when returning from the noise of the square . Aziza was charming and ensured our stay was a memorable one - will defiantly return

Room Tip: We had a ground floor , courtyard facing, superior double - which was large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A little difficult to access from the main square…. Need to cross some busy roads and then down some side streets. Initially this can be intimidating but its fine…the riad is lovely and the rooms were very nice….the massage session was very good and well worth the money….it’s more expensive than outside the riad but the quality is very good. The staff are helpful but maybe slightly distracted….the breakfast is nice but probably not as good as the price/style of the riad would suggestion. They don’t use the terrace for breakfast which is a pity….overall I would suggestion a better location not in distance but in terms of access….it’s quite a mixed up walk to the sights

Room Tip: Ground Floor room can be noisy as near breakfast areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Riad Viva for 2 nights. They were very accommodating. The night before they asked what time I would like breakfast and because I was leaving early for a tour, they were up early to prepare it at 7:00am. They then walked with me to meet my guide. My departing flight was cancelled on RAM, but the host at the front desk looked up and found the appropriate train. It turned out I needed to leave at 6:30, they woke up early prepared breakfast at 6:00 and helped me with my luggage and found a taxi to the train station. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, our transfer from the airport was perfect. Aziza, the Manager, ensured everything ran perfectly. We had a lovely Morrocan meal on our first night. 3 nights in total, very relaxing with lovely comfortable beds. Just what we were looking for.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Viva

Address: 107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Viva 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Riad Viva, you can feel the atmosphere of a small royal palace, where tradition and modern style meet together. Build in a typical Moroccan style and decorated with fine handcraft, you will enjoy the luxurious comfort of spacious and bright rooms as well as the nice terracce with pool and lounge.The access to the Riad is directly near the private palace of king Mohammed VI and from the big terrace you experience the direct view into the large park of the world-famous five stars hotel Mamounia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Riad Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.