We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Viva

Save Saved
You added Riad Viva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Viva
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #221 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Waasmunster
2 reviews
“Beautiful riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very Nice riad in walking distance of the most important sites in Marrakech . Clean , Nice staff. Free transfer from the AirPort . The first night we had dinner at the riad , a very tastefull tagine . The list of drinks is rather limited and sometimes they are out of stock . None the less I would recomment the riad to anyone who wants a touch of the real Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    47
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
41
141
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We traveled in a couple to Riad Viva and stayed for a week. We arrived at the airport and we had organised a free transfer with the Riad which was very convenient and easy after our flight! You can not drive directly up to the riad so we were met by a friendly man who put our luggage in a trolly type and walked us down the windy streets to the riad. This was lovely until at the end he asked if we could give him a tip as he didn't work for the Riad, we felt under pressure and we didn't yet have any dirhams or small change and ended up having to give him 10 Euro, despite saying he didn't work at the Riad we saw him numerous times serving tea and setting up for dinner on the terrace.

The Riad itself is beautiful and was a very relaxing place to return to after a day in the souks, the location is perfect as it is close enough to walk to the main square but far enough away for it to be very peaceful and quiet.

Despite the Riad being beautiful it was lacking some of the little touches. On Arrival the shampoo dispenser in our bathroom was empty and the shower gel only had a tiny bit in, they were not refilled any time during our stay. There was only one towelling robe in our room even though there was clearly a coat hanger next to this one where the other should be, this wasn't a particularly big deal but again its the little things that they advertise on their website that add up. One of the days the maids had cleaned our room and taken our dirty towels but forgot to replace them, we asked for some more and got told they would bring some up to our room in 5 minutes, half an hour later there still weren't any towels, we went down and asked again and only then were we given them.

The roof terrace was lovely except the towels on the sun beds didn't seem to be swapped for clean ones daily and you were sharing with people day after day, it would have been much better to provide everybody with pool towels in their bedroom or have a pile of clean ones people could use up there. The glass table was cracked and the sofa cushions had no covers on them and some were covered in damp marks, others had the stuffing coming out of them.

We had a massage and hammam half way through our stay and that was absolutely fabulous and definitely worth the money, the girls that did our treatments were lovely. Breakfast was of good quality and filling and our room was lovely, although our double bed was two singles pushed together!

We did enjoy our stay to Riad Viva but because of all these little touches missing it just seems that it is maybe getting slightly shabby and it is definitely not worth the money at the moment, if they fixed things and the service improved then we would consider returning but certainly not as it is now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your feedback and I can only apologize for the lack of service you criticized.

Unfortunately, our manager Aziza was on holiday at the time of your stay and it seems that our staff has taken the opportunity to relax a bit after the very stressful month of Ramadan. I was hoping that it works for 2 weeks without the attention of the manager, but now I understood that the service was not the same.

After Aziza now returned from her vacation, I can assure you and all the other guests that all employees are "back on the track" and will give their best.

I really would appreciate if you could come back to stay with us and to prove our service!

Best regards,
Carsten Sommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Met at airport, taken to Riad Viva ( we would never have found it otherwise !) and when you wind down the small streets and alleyways you wonder what you will find. Then you walk into another world. It is like walking through into the Tardis. A beautiful, relaxing Riad. Friendly staff greeted us with Morrocan tea and showed us to our room. We had an evening meal on our first night--excellent standard--and also had a guided tour of the markets and souks and museums--well worth it as you could fail to find the really interesting places without a guide. Nice terrace on top with a plunge pool to cool off in. Thanks everyone for a lovely time. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

The whole team of Riad Viva thank you very much for your nice review. We all hope that you come back soon.

Best regards,
Carsten Sommer and the team of Riad Viva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived having taken a taxi from Essouira. I called the tel number on our reservation to confirm (I gave her my name and the name of the suite to avoid any confusion) & for the driver to get directions as he hadn't heard of this riad. The receptionist directed him to their other riad - Riad Carina where we were dropped off and wandered aimlessly in the 40 degree heat not realising we were nowhere near Viva. Eventually, having tried several times, the phone was answered, we walked to Carina & were greeted with tea and waited half an hour for them to arrange another taxi so not a great start. A little apology and a smile would have been appreciated.

On arrival at Riad Viva we were greeted warmly and Joseph gave us some great advice & a useful map.

This riad is beautiful, clean & quiet and we loved that there were children playing in the alley who would smile and greet you as you passed by.

I requested a pedicure which took place on the roof terrace in full view of other guests (not in the treatment room) with my feet on the lap of a surly woman with a kit of drying out varnish. Horrible!

We were asked to check out and pay at exactly noon by Aziza despite their agreement we could stay by the pool until the taxi they arranged for us arrived at 4pm and would be having drinks/ snacks throughout the day. We felt she didn't trust us which made us feel uncomfortable.

The pool is fabulous but small and is used by guests of their other 2 raids. When you check out the only place to change is a tiny loo cubicle used by everyone - nowhere to hang your travelling clothes & a wet floor.

I mentioned we are returning to Marrakech in October at which point her attitude changed. It all felt so fake and I couldn't wait to leave.

I would say that Joseph and the guy who takes your luggage are lovely and it's a stunning place in a great location however, the female staff need some further training in guest relations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in Riad Viva for a week in August 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The Riad is beautiful and is an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard and are very clean.
We felt at home and can't thank Joseph and the team enough for their hospitality.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fairly similar, apart from the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Abi,

It was a pleasure to meet you at Riad Viva and that you enjoyed your stay with us - even in the very hot month of August.
Thank you very much for your nice comment!

Best wishes,
Carsten Sommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay when in Marrakech. The staff, the rooms, the breakfast, the rooftop pool, the additions one can request (Moroccan cooking course, trip to the Atlas Mountains, Hammam Spa) are all simply fantastic and I would highly recommend taking them up on the additions they offer. I can't praise the staff highly enough; they were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Riad Viva is a perfect sanctuary to come back to after exploring the crazy, hot, busy streets of Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Caroline,

I thank you very much for your nice review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure for us that you stayed at Riad Viva. I hope that you already tried your experiences from the cooking class and imported some Moroccan delights to England.

Best wishes,
Aziza and the team of Riad Viva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't praise staff enough, couldn't do enough to help with advice on where to go, eat etc. Rooftop pool a blessing - most of the time only a few people up there so always a sunbed and parasol. If you are travelling independently beware of the maze from where the taxi drops you off to where the hotel is - it may seem daunting but don't be put off by this. Would definitely go back but perhaps in April or October as August temperatures were 46/47 degrees so too hot to do much in the way of walking/sightseeing etc. Just to mention that currency, Dirhams, cannot be used in the duty free shop at the airport so make sure that you change your currency back before going through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Viva

Address: 107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Viva 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Riad Viva, you can feel the atmosphere of a small royal palace, where tradition and modern style meet together. Build in a typical Moroccan style and decorated with fine handcraft, you will enjoy the luxurious comfort of spacious and bright rooms as well as the nice terracce with pool and lounge.The access to the Riad is directly near the private palace of king Mohammed VI and from the big terrace you experience the direct view into the large park of the world-famous five stars hotel Mamounia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.