We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Viva

Save Saved
You added Riad Viva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Viva
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #245 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a truely amazing experience, the city is just so interesting and different. The riad is beautiful, clean and the staff so friendly and helpful. The service is just above many top hotels that I have stayed in. Such friendly, smilie and lovely people. Would highly recommend staying and I will be going back with my children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    46
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
139
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I spent a fabulous long week end at the RIad Viva at the end of April 2013. We were absolutely enchanted by the service and the decoration - we almost felt that we were visiting family! So a big thank you to all the staff, particularly Aziza and Rhaoul.
The Riad is well placed for visiting Marrakech and we loved the fact that it was in the authentic, vibrant part of town away from the typical touristy areas. Even after our fairly short stay we began to feel like locals and once the RIad doors were opened - well, we were in paradise!
I am sure that one day we will return to Marrakech - the day we do we won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

In this price bracket I'm not sure this place can be beaten. The staff are friendly and attentive without being in your face. The building is beautiful and calm and serene, it's a super professional outfit, almost too professional but in the madness of Marrakech its great to be somewhere where everything is taken care of. The only slight downside is the fact that it's at the southern tip of the medina so is 15-20 mins walk from the heart of things in the souk across a few of the medina's busiest roads, however once you're used to that it actually has it's advantages as it is very quiet. It overlooks the large gardens of the high class Marmounia hotel which means you're buffered from the noises of the City and as far as the you can be in the Medina from the early morning call to prayer so all in all very quiet and relaxed.

As some people have mentioned it is down a narror and somewhat poorly lit alleyway (but that is what the Medina is like-get over it) However once you're used to it you realise it is not that threatening at all and is actually quite a family orientated neighbourhood.

The roof terrace with plunge pool means you can happily sunbathe and relax in the afternoons and shop in the evenings!

Another bonus is the Riad's complimentary taxi service. I'm not sure if you get this for shorter stays (we were there 3 nights) but they provide an airport taxi service which will collect you on arrival if you email ahead or take you on the way back and save you the €20 fare (it can be cheaper if you're a good haggler but it's tough!)

If I go back to Marrakech I will deffo book RIad Viva. Some of the previous bad reviews are just ridiculous, and many of the comments are problems with Marrakech/Morrocan culture not Riad Viva (the alleyway, the food (normal Morrocan fare -including just an orange for desert) The layout of the "dark" rooms, which are designed to keep out the heat - when it's 40 degrees you'll be thankful!)

The staff and the hotel were fabulous! Book with confidence.

Room Tip: Higher rooms aren't so dark but will be hotter. AC helps though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stunning public rooms, great bedrooms, wonderful roof terrace with small pool. Service good, were happy to make some special food for my ill mother in law despite us not being booked in for dinner.

Beware that if you arrive by car you have to park in a busy street which is about 5 mins walk from the riad. That said there are usually some parking wardens who will help you. GPS pretty much essential to find it by car!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very clean, beautifully presented riad in a (relatively!) quieter part of the Southern medina. Plentiful (sweet) breakfast - eggs and english tea if you ask. TV channels pretty rubbish but good firm beds and hot showers. The narrow alley from the nearest road can feel a little intimidating at first but absolutely nothing to worry about. Agree with the comments about crossing very busy roads to access the main square but we managed to find a quiet, fairly traffic-free 20 min route via the Kasbah. Great, polite staff, wine for 12 euros a bottle, the best meal we had during our stay in Marrakech and a lovely rooftop area overlooking the grounds of the Mamounia hotel. Would welcome a bit more tourist info in the Riad but all in all would highly recommend.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms more private. We probably had the worst room - ground floor adjacent to the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Riad viva was an oasis of relaxation after a great day of sight seeing and bartering. All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
Dinner was a quiet affair and well worth the money. They will go to extra lengths to get you what you want. Booking a taxi to and from the riad is a good idea. And the excursion to the Atlas mountains is a must. All in all well worth the money and we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed in Riad Viva for 4 nights. We were with 3 persons in total and we have really enjoyed our stay here! The Riad is a truly paradise, which you enter after a walk of 5 minutes (no taxi possible in front of riad) from Rue Sidi Mimoun. Our suite was more than large enough for the 3 of us and well decorated. Since the riad is half-open, the fresh air comes from inside the Riad, as well as the noise. We will recommend the staff to lower the volume of the telephone in the early morning.

We arrived in the evening and we were glad that we could have a small meal in the riad, if you prefer to have a full dinner you have to reserve that before arrival. Breakfast is served at the rooftop, if the weather is ok, and was very complete every morning! Nice coffee, fresh jus d'orange, fruit, pastries, bread and on request an egg, all served by our favorite staff member of the Riad! We have done several excursions, like the trip to the Ourika Valley, cooking course and a visit to the hamman; all well organised by the friendly staff. We have experienced that Marrakech was quite crowded in the weekend, several restaurants and hammans were already fully booked. Marrakech and Riad Viva are an ideal combination of a city trip, relaxed holiday and interesting culture!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Viva

Address: 107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Viva 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Riad Viva, you can feel the atmosphere of a small royal palace, where tradition and modern style meet together. Build in a typical Moroccan style and decorated with fine handcraft, you will enjoy the luxurious comfort of spacious and bright rooms as well as the nice terracce with pool and lounge.The access to the Riad is directly near the private palace of king Mohammed VI and from the big terrace you experience the direct view into the large park of the world-famous five stars hotel Mamounia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.