We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Viva

Save Saved
You added Riad Viva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Viva
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #213 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a wonderful experience here. The rooms are well kept and the staff go above and beyond. The riad organised several extra activities and trips (the cooking day is a must and the trip to Ourika Valley). Breakfast in the morning was lovely and the view was brilliant with a short walk to the main square.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    45
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
139
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The minute we landed we were very nicely greeted by Majid, the hotel driver who picked us up to go to the Riad. Again , we had a warm welcome by the reception staff, Aziza and all the others were so kind and helpful. The breakfast is served on the terrace or the dining room with fresh bread, wonderful fresh orange juice, jam and honey. Eggs can be served if requested. We had a suite for three and our room was very nicely decorated and clean. In fact the whole riad is very nicely decorated with good taste and not too goddy . There is a beautiful view from the roof terrace with a small pool and confortable lounge chairs. It is situated 5mns from the Palace and 10mns from the Jama el Fna square in a quiet neighbourhood. It is not the cheapest place but it's worth it. I will recommend to my friends and family anytime. Again, congratualtions to the whole staff and not to forget the very good hammam and massages.

The only little negative aspect is the bad lighting in the street that leads to the riad.

Room Tip: Exceptionnal and efficient staff. Always available if you need help or tips for sightseeing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having spent years hearing of the glories of Morocco, off I finally went in search of the beautiful images and startling sensual overload I expected to find.... only to be greeted on Day 1 by thieving, begging, harrassing locals who continued to bother us until we departed, despite the best efforts of staff. Having said that Aziza was most helpful in addressing the problems with the local thugs. Service in the hotel was very good although it is expensive for what you get - again the whole city takes advantage of tourists, so the riad was only following local tradition by overcharging. Clean rooms, pleasant meals, quiet location, obliging staff - well done Riad Viva!

Room Tip: the suite was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear valued client,

Thank you very much for your review. It’s a pity that you didn’t like Marrakech but it’s nice to read that you liked Riad Viva as well as our service. So maybe the next time you could differ between the points that you give to the hotel and also the town where the hotel is located. So if you haven’t felt well in Marrakech you could give 3 points for Marrakech in a separate review for the town (it exits on Tripadvisor also!) but if you liked the hotel (or Riad) it is more than fair to give 4 our 5 points to the hotel. We can only optimize our hotel and our service but unfortunately we can’t change Marrakech. You have to like Marrakech like it is (like fortunately the most people do) our you don’t like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We've heard a lot about Marrakesh from beforehand. Our friends who have been there a few times to Marrakesh recommended this Riad and we were not disappointed at all! So we decided to spent our 5 year Anniversary in Riad Viva in Marrakesh The Service from the crew is marvelous. They really do care about you and your well being.They make sure that very little problem that might occur is solved. Especially the cooking was prepared with a lot of passion and with an astonishing amount of detail. I have to admit though that after 3-4 days you've had enough of the Marroccain couscous dishes to be honest-but maybe that's just me!
The Locations is alright not too far from the Medina all within 10 minutes walking distance.
The Room was very clean and nicely decorated.
Definitly would love to come back at some other time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Raid Viva is simply glorious. This Riad has been decorated with love and complete attention to detail and the pool area and upstairs terrace are amazing. This attention to detail is extended in every form, from Aziza and the whole team to all their guests. Nothing is a problem for them as they are willing and able to accommodate your needs and desires. The food and drinks were lacking in nothing and it was wonderful to savour some local dishes. Finally, the Hammam (on site) is an experience not to be missed. You will float out of there. If you are looking for an escape from reality or a romantic break, the Riad Viva is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have difficulty to identify our experience with the excellent reviews written below.
We arrive the 31/12 to celebrate the New Eve in Marrakech and we went directly to Riad Viva. It is situated at the end of a small alley in the heart of the Medina. We left our luggage in our room which were on the ground floor by the lobby (not very well located especially that the reception phone is quite loud). When we came back at around 3am on the 1st of January, our room had a horrible sewer smell. I have not been able to sleep in the room the whole night and went on the sofa in the corridor.
In the morning, we went upstairs on the terrace and we realised that the whole Riad had this very unpleasant smell.
Despite that we booked for 10 days, we decided to leave the next day. However it was a nightmare to get our deposit back. The lady at the reception (very friendly by the way) had to call the manager for me to explain the situation and request a refund of our deposit. The manager was rude and impolite. He told me that it wasn’t his problem. He doesn’t seem to be there often.
Anyway we couldn’t stay there so we move out. When we called the next day and we mentioned that we choose this Riad because the good review on TripAdvisor, he became very nice on the phone and decided to reimburse our deposit almost straight away.
He even called us back 2 days later begging us not to leave any bad review on TripAdvisor. I must say that I don’t think we would have had our money back if we would not have mentioned TripAdvisor.
However I want to say that the whole staff at the Riad was very nice and understanding. We understood they couldn’t do too much about it.
It was our bad experience of Riad Viva

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear valued client, our excellent reviews on Tripadvisor are a proof that our guests like the Riad Viva and that they feel well to stay with us. Unfortunately, what happened in your room could happen in every 5*hotel and also in every private house: The former guest has thrown something in the toilette that blocked the canalisation so that a bad smell comes up in your room. We explained the situation to you and we promised you to solve the problem immediately even on the public holiday on 1st January. We finally fixed the problem within the same day so that there was no particular reason to break up the stay with us. But finally we accepted your wish and paid the deposit back to you and charged no cancellation costs. We even offered a free transfer to the other hotel that you have selected. What could we do more? I am very sad about the negative review and the 1 point after all that we have done to solve the problem and to give a compensation for the first night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Riad Viva it was definitely an 'Oasis of calm.' The staff especially 'Hassamia & Khamisa' was fantastic and couldn't do enought to make our stay more pleasurable. Breakfast on the delightful roof terrace (braving the morning chill!) consisted of home made cakes and crepes, yummie. It was reassuring to have police & army guarding the King's Palace just around the corner with a 10 mins stroll to Djemaa El Fina which is a must see. I would recommend the Riad Viva for location, staff and overall appearance as a gem in the madness of what is Marrakech!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Viva

Address: 107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Viva 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Riad Viva, you can feel the atmosphere of a small royal palace, where tradition and modern style meet together. Build in a typical Moroccan style and decorated with fine handcraft, you will enjoy the luxurious comfort of spacious and bright rooms as well as the nice terracce with pool and lounge.The access to the Riad is directly near the private palace of king Mohammed VI and from the big terrace you experience the direct view into the large park of the world-famous five stars hotel Mamounia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Riad Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.