We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning riad in peaceful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Viva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Viva to your Saves list
Riad Viva
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #179 of 1,128 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning riad in peaceful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a lovely four night stay in this beautiful Riad, 10 minutes walk from the main square in Marrakech. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible: nothing we requested or enquired about was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless and eloquently decorated. The roof terrace was a wonderful place to relax after a day around the souks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    63
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
57
184
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Cove, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A very charming place to stay. The rooms here are very comfortable and well kept. Beds are perfect for a good nights sleep. The terrace is lovely for sundowners in the evening and the staff are very warm and friendly here. We ordered dinner for our group on one evening and it was a very nice Moroccan feast, the tangines were delicious ( quite basic - but still very yummy!) the dining room was set up very thoughtfully with decorations and special table settings which was a nice touch. I would definitely recommend this Riad, which is the 3rd I have stayed in in Marrkech. The souk is only a ten minute walk, so it's very good or shopping too. The location is at the end of quite a long alley/laneway in quite a family oriented neighborhood that is close to the palace and not far from the airport. My tip: book airport transfers through the Riad ( makes for a hassle free arrival/departure)

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor closest to reception have the best wi-Fi and mobile reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

we had a lovely 4 night stay at riad viva with the warm and helpful aziza and her staff. they offered a complimentary taxi from the airport to the riad which i would highly recommend as its easy to get ripped off if its your first visit to marrakech!

our room on the first floor was immaculate, spacious and very pretty. the bed was very comfortable and i slept like a log! breakfast was a bit different everyday and delicious. i even asked for satsumas one morning which they didnt have to find some in the bedroom when we came back from a day out, how thoughtful!

amazing massage - 2 for 39 euros, pretty roof terrace and usually offered delicious complimentary mint tea whenever we passed through reception.

aziza is welcoming and friendly and gave us some great tips for our first trip to marrakech which i am sure added to the smoothness and enjoyment of our stay. thank you so much for having us - we would happily stay at riad viva anytime we come back!

Room Tip: go for first floor as its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Riad Viva for 4 nights. The riad is very cozy. The patio is beautiful and clear. The terrace has a nice view over the mamounia gardens and the kotoubia mosque. It is the perfect place to start the day with a complete and tasty breakfast (that changes everyday).
The room (in our case the lavender suite) was very charming with a typical decoration.
But what make the riad a very special place to stay is the staff. They were all very kind and helpful. They helped us with the arrangement of the tours, the reservations for the restaurants, etc.
I spent my birthday there and they made a great effort to make it really special.
It is worth mentioning that the riad is located in a narrow alley that may seem unfriendly at a first glance. But after all the neighborhood is safe and nearby the royal palace. In fact, the same happens with all of the riads located in the medina.
We highly recommend Riad Viva and definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I booked this Riad as part of my 60th birthday celebrations as a stay in a Riad in Marrakech was on my "to do" list in retirement. We were attracted to the Viva because of its beautiful traditional interior and were not disappointed. We were met at the train station and efficiently taken to the Riad. On arrival we were given the customary cup of mint tea whilst our bags were taken to our room and we were able to discuss plans for our stay. We had chosen the Suite Orchidee which was spacious and comfortable. The room was on the first floor and overlooked the interior patio. We had a TV in the room (with limited English channels) and air conditioning which we needed even in November. We had pre ordered an evening meal which was taken on the lovely terrace. It was very good and the wine a reasonable price. Breakfast was also good and we had the best coffee we drank in Marrakech! The Riad is in a good location not far from all the main sights and fairly easy to find on your own! We booked a 3 hour guide to show us the sights and she was very helpful and informative. Inevitably we ended up in the souk and had the hard sell to buy a carpet! We would certainly recommend this lovely Riad but with one note of caution.

We had booked the Viva a couple of months prior to our visit but on arrival were told that we would have to move to their sister Riad Diana for our third and final night as it had been booked by a group. No mention of this was made during our few communications by e-mail. We are flexible and could have changed our dates to suit. We were however offered the final night free of charge in a similar room and all transfers were made smoothly. I have no criticism of the Diana as the staff were very nice and friendly. However it is not as nice a building as the Viva and I was still disappointed at having to change. I expect to get what I book and not to feel that I am not as important as a big group and the obvious financial rewards they bring.

Room Tip: Rooms are better on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This riad was gorgeous! Tucked away behind the tall walls in Marrakech. We stayed in the Freesia room which was amazing, although it was on the ground floor so sometimes we could hear people and we had no outside windows. However, the hotel was very quiet at night.

They offer pick ups from the airport, which I highly recommend because we NEVER would have found this place! In fact cars can't even go all the way to the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The riad is walking distance to the souks/ Djemma el Fna

Breakfast on the rooftop every morning was very good! The rooftop itself was stunning, overlooking hotel La Mamounia.

We did the cooking class at the hotel and thorough enjoyed it! We also had in-room massages and enjoyed those as well. Although we had chosen the "couple massage" and ended up having massages one after the other instead of at the same time because there was only one masseuse.

Room Tip: Check out their website for thorough pictures of each room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

werner p - a delightful oasis, centrally located and tastefully decorated with all the aminities you wish for a trip to this colorful and pittoresque city. very helpful and friendly staff offering excellent cuisine and even massage.
the top floor open-air lounge with pool and breathtaking view offers all the relaxation before and after a busy day of sight-seeing

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Viva

Address: 107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 1,128 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Viva 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Riad Viva, you can feel the atmosphere of a small royal palace, where tradition and modern style meet together. Build in a typical Moroccan style and decorated with fine handcraft, you will enjoy the luxurious comfort of spacious and bright rooms as well as the nice terracce with pool and lounge.The access to the Riad is directly near the private palace of king Mohammed VI and from the big terrace you experience the direct view into the large park of the world-famous five stars hotel Mamounia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.