We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Viva

Save Saved
You added Riad Viva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Viva
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #246 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
“Best Staff Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Riad Viva for 4 nights. The riad is very cozy. The patio is beautiful and clear. The terrace has a nice view over the mamounia gardens and the kotoubia mosque. It is the perfect place to start the day with a complete and tasty breakfast (that changes everyday).
The room (in our case the lavender suite) was very charming with a typical decoration.
But what make the riad a very special place to stay is the staff. They were all very kind and helpful. They helped us with the arrangement of the tours, the reservations for the restaurants, etc.
I spent my birthday there and they made a great effort to make it really special.
It is worth mentioning that the riad is located in a narrow alley that may seem unfriendly at a first glance. But after all the neighborhood is safe and nearby the royal palace. In fact, the same happens with all of the riads located in the medina.
We highly recommend Riad Viva and definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    45
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
139
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I booked this Riad as part of my 60th birthday celebrations as a stay in a Riad in Marrakech was on my "to do" list in retirement. We were attracted to the Viva because of its beautiful traditional interior and were not disappointed. We were met at the train station and efficiently taken to the Riad. On arrival we were given the customary cup of mint tea whilst our bags were taken to our room and we were able to discuss plans for our stay. We had chosen the Suite Orchidee which was spacious and comfortable. The room was on the first floor and overlooked the interior patio. We had a TV in the room (with limited English channels) and air conditioning which we needed even in November. We had pre ordered an evening meal which was taken on the lovely terrace. It was very good and the wine a reasonable price. Breakfast was also good and we had the best coffee we drank in Marrakech! The Riad is in a good location not far from all the main sights and fairly easy to find on your own! We booked a 3 hour guide to show us the sights and she was very helpful and informative. Inevitably we ended up in the souk and had the hard sell to buy a carpet! We would certainly recommend this lovely Riad but with one note of caution.

We had booked the Viva a couple of months prior to our visit but on arrival were told that we would have to move to their sister Riad Diana for our third and final night as it had been booked by a group. No mention of this was made during our few communications by e-mail. We are flexible and could have changed our dates to suit. We were however offered the final night free of charge in a similar room and all transfers were made smoothly. I have no criticism of the Diana as the staff were very nice and friendly. However it is not as nice a building as the Viva and I was still disappointed at having to change. I expect to get what I book and not to feel that I am not as important as a big group and the obvious financial rewards they bring.

Room Tip: Rooms are better on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This riad was gorgeous! Tucked away behind the tall walls in Marrakech. We stayed in the Freesia room which was amazing, although it was on the ground floor so sometimes we could hear people and we had no outside windows. However, the hotel was very quiet at night.

They offer pick ups from the airport, which I highly recommend because we NEVER would have found this place! In fact cars can't even go all the way to the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The riad is walking distance to the souks/ Djemma el Fna

Breakfast on the rooftop every morning was very good! The rooftop itself was stunning, overlooking hotel La Mamounia.

We did the cooking class at the hotel and thorough enjoyed it! We also had in-room massages and enjoyed those as well. Although we had chosen the "couple massage" and ended up having massages one after the other instead of at the same time because there was only one masseuse.

Room Tip: Check out their website for thorough pictures of each room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

werner p - a delightful oasis, centrally located and tastefully decorated with all the aminities you wish for a trip to this colorful and pittoresque city. very helpful and friendly staff offering excellent cuisine and even massage.
the top floor open-air lounge with pool and breathtaking view offers all the relaxation before and after a busy day of sight-seeing

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We cannot recommend the Riad Viva enough for a stay in Marrakech.

We were collected promptly from the airport and taken straight to the Riad, which has a stunning interior with a beautiful fountain. On arrival we were served proper Moroccan mint tea and biscuits, and were made to feel very welcome by Rashid.

Our room and bathroom were both very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. We didn't use the A/C much, but it was very effective when we did.

Breakfasts were delicious. Each day we were served bread and cakes/pastries, plus fruit or yoghurt and freshly squeezed orange juice (plus tea or coffee). It was a little bit different every day which meant it never got boring.

The Riad is located down some winding back streets which means it is very quiet and a welcome respite from the hectic city outside! It is only 10 mins away from the Djemaa-el-Fna and close to the Saadian Tombs, Badi Palace and Bahia Palace/ Dar Si Said. It is also possible to walk to the New Town in about 40 mins, or you can jump in a taxi and get there in 10 mins.

The roof terrace is gorgeous - there is a small pool, a few sun loungers and tables for breakfast/dinner. It was deliciously sunny during the day and wonderfully cool and peaceful at night.

We booked a hammam and massage through the Viva which was great (it was at their sister Riad Diana - but very soon the Viva will have its own). We also did a cookery course with Khamissia, the cook at the Riad. She was absolutely lovely, instructing us how to make four starter salads, a chicken and preserved lemon tagine and an amazing fruit salad for dessert. If you enjoy cooking, we highly recommend this - we have already recreated the dishes at home!

All in all, we had a fabulous stay at the Viva, and really that is down to the incredibly friendly and helpful staff, who were such a pleasure to see every morning and evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After struggling to find the place, we arrived to this riad and even though we had a pre paid reservation, they gave our room to another guest and wanted to send us to another place, without giving any satisfactory explanation.
The staff was not helpful with this situation.
I don´t recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Unfortunately, these guests arrived with an invalid reservation. We demonstrated the fault to the couple but they wouldn’t understand and accept their mistake. Even the reservation was not prepaid as they wrote, as everybody knows there exists no prepayment at HRS.
We couldn’t help them because the Riad was fully booked and there was no room available. Finally we found a nice room at one of our neighbor Riads for them and offered a free breakfast at Riad Viva, so we had the impression that they were happy. I am personally very sad about this review and the 1 point because it was not our mistake and we couldn’t do more for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catworth, null, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very pretty and picturesque hotel. Service was fantastic, especially Hamza who was our waitor and on night duty. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and was very good. Enjoyed our stay, would recommended it to anyone and would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Viva

Address: 107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Viva 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Riad Viva, you can feel the atmosphere of a small royal palace, where tradition and modern style meet together. Build in a typical Moroccan style and decorated with fine handcraft, you will enjoy the luxurious comfort of spacious and bright rooms as well as the nice terracce with pool and lounge.The access to the Riad is directly near the private palace of king Mohammed VI and from the big terrace you experience the direct view into the large park of the world-famous five stars hotel Mamounia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Riad Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.