We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend the clean, beautiful and friendly Riad Viva” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Viva

Save Saved
You added Riad Viva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Viva
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #243 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly recommend the clean, beautiful and friendly Riad Viva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We cannot recommend the Riad Viva enough for a stay in Marrakech.

We were collected promptly from the airport and taken straight to the Riad, which has a stunning interior with a beautiful fountain. On arrival we were served proper Moroccan mint tea and biscuits, and were made to feel very welcome by Rashid.

Our room and bathroom were both very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. We didn't use the A/C much, but it was very effective when we did.

Breakfasts were delicious. Each day we were served bread and cakes/pastries, plus fruit or yoghurt and freshly squeezed orange juice (plus tea or coffee). It was a little bit different every day which meant it never got boring.

The Riad is located down some winding back streets which means it is very quiet and a welcome respite from the hectic city outside! It is only 10 mins away from the Djemaa-el-Fna and close to the Saadian Tombs, Badi Palace and Bahia Palace/ Dar Si Said. It is also possible to walk to the New Town in about 40 mins, or you can jump in a taxi and get there in 10 mins.

The roof terrace is gorgeous - there is a small pool, a few sun loungers and tables for breakfast/dinner. It was deliciously sunny during the day and wonderfully cool and peaceful at night.

We booked a hammam and massage through the Viva which was great (it was at their sister Riad Diana - but very soon the Viva will have its own). We also did a cookery course with Khamissia, the cook at the Riad. She was absolutely lovely, instructing us how to make four starter salads, a chicken and preserved lemon tagine and an amazing fruit salad for dessert. If you enjoy cooking, we highly recommend this - we have already recreated the dishes at home!

All in all, we had a fabulous stay at the Viva, and really that is down to the incredibly friendly and helpful staff, who were such a pleasure to see every morning and evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    46
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
139
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After struggling to find the place, we arrived to this riad and even though we had a pre paid reservation, they gave our room to another guest and wanted to send us to another place, without giving any satisfactory explanation.
The staff was not helpful with this situation.
I don´t recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Inhaber at Riad Viva, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Unfortunately, these guests arrived with an invalid reservation. We demonstrated the fault to the couple but they wouldn’t understand and accept their mistake. Even the reservation was not prepaid as they wrote, as everybody knows there exists no prepayment at HRS.
We couldn’t help them because the Riad was fully booked and there was no room available. Finally we found a nice room at one of our neighbor Riads for them and offered a free breakfast at Riad Viva, so we had the impression that they were happy. I am personally very sad about this review and the 1 point because it was not our mistake and we couldn’t do more for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catworth, null, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very pretty and picturesque hotel. Service was fantastic, especially Hamza who was our waitor and on night duty. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and was very good. Enjoyed our stay, would recommended it to anyone and would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkpashmina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was my 2nd time in Marrakech and travelling as a group of 4 women for a mix of sun & culture which comes in abundance in Marrakech! Riad viva appealed as it has a rooftop splash pool, the pictures and it's location. We were not disappointed by this beautiful Riad! It's a short walk down 1 of the many narrow streets in Marrakech, we were greeted by Hamza who works there ready to take our bags from the free airport pick up arranged by the Riad.
Upon our arrival we were served traditional Moroccan mint tea while our rooms were prepared and it was just as it appeared in the pictures. All facilities were well looked after and maintained, the staff always greeted you with a smile and always willing to help any way they can. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The whole decor of the riad just beautiful. We also had dinner on the first night which was delicious! Proper home cooked Moroccan food! We had a great time in Marrakech and the fact we were staying at such a fantastic riad made it all that much better! Also special thanks to Hamza and Rachid! You guys did a great job. I definitely would go back to Riad Viva!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nttingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had just spent 3 days trekking in the montains when we arrived here, so it was like a total palace when we arrived! We were greeted by one of the staff who made us feel very welcome, serving us mint tea on the sofas, whilst we were to also complete our passport details etc for the riad. Our arrival was so seamless and welcoming that we didn't even notice when we were to be shown to our room, our bags had already been taken up to our room and so were pleasantly waiting for us. The riad is decorated traditionally and is absolutely beautiful. The rooftop terrace is lovely and peaceful, with a few sunbeds and sofas, tables and chairs, and a lovely plunge pool to cool off in after sightseeing! We aslo asked for some beers, and they were brought up to the terrace to us with no trouble at all. The breakfast was good, pancakes, pastries, cheese, jams, tea/coffee, juice and fruit, although possibly could've done with a little more of it.
We stayed here twice in one trip, by chance, as our plans changed unexpectedly. When we realised we were to pass through Marrakesh a second time, we had no hesitation on where to stay. The first time we stayed here, we stayed in the Jasmine suite, which is on the first floor, and absolutely gorgeous. On our second stay we stayed in Freesia, which was nice, but didn't have an outside window, and is also located on the ground floor so is subject to some noise and light from the communal courtyard, so of the two rooms we stayed in, I would recommend Jasmine. I would also recommend staying at the riad to anyone planning a stay in Marakesh; it was absolutely beautiful, and close to all the main sights by walking.

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the rooms on the first floor, as the ground floor rooms are subject to a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Absolutely loved this Riad. All the staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms were really comfortable (and the bed was massive!) and the terrace was such a peaceful area to spend an afternoon after a morning in the main square! We had an early flight so arrived before the check-in time, but the staff were more than accommodating. We were given mint tea whilst the rooms were being cleaned, and they let us have 1 room early so that we could put our bags and relax for a bit (and get used to the heat!) Throughout our stay nothing seemed like too much trouble.

Would definitely stay here again, and cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

All the staff where so helpful and friendly! We always felt like we were the only one there even if the place was full!!! The food was great(I'm Moroccan, so I dont get easily impressed) just make sure you ask for what you want ahead of time since they don't keep a large inventory( therefore the food is fresh). Breakfast on the terrace is Devine. Forget the big hotels! If you want a Marrakesh experience go to riad viva....only one thing... No parking... You need to park a little ways away

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Viva

Address: 107 Derb Sidi Mbarek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Viva 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Riad Viva, you can feel the atmosphere of a small royal palace, where tradition and modern style meet together. Build in a typical Moroccan style and decorated with fine handcraft, you will enjoy the luxurious comfort of spacious and bright rooms as well as the nice terracce with pool and lounge.The access to the Riad is directly near the private palace of king Mohammed VI and from the big terrace you experience the direct view into the large park of the world-famous five stars hotel Mamounia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.