We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to the Old Thai Bistro?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Thai

Bistro Thai
8, rue Oued El Makhazine | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524 45 73 11
Improve this listing
Ranked #304 of 603 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What happened to the Old Thai Bistro?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Bistro Thai used to be my favorite restaurant in Marrakech. It is still good and has good quality food, but it isn't as good as it used to be. The plates range from 100-160 dirham. The quality used to be worth the price. Now I only eat there when I'm craving Thai food. The curry dishes seem to be missing coconut milk. If you want Thai food, I would still recommend it. I just wouldn't expect to have the best Thai food ever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    11
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inconsistent and money focused”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have eaten at Bistro Thai a number of times and have always loved it. Its some of the best asian food on offer in Marrakech.

This week however we had a set menu for a large group and were ripped off. The mains were substandard and the service slow and confused. I had a fried rice with shrimps which was bland and had 2 small shrimps. Given we paid 250 MAD per person this dish was disappointing and clearly we were taken advantage of. On top of that they tried to overcharge for 2 bottles of wine. Only after a 15 minute discussion did we receive a bill for the right amount.

Stick to the menu and don't come here with groups. The food is usually amazing but they obviously can't handle anything other than al a carte tourist clients.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Times change, Bistro Thai, too...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Sadly, that is true. Thai chef is no longer there, portions are becoming smaller, setting - more and more inappropriate (TV screen, live music, ...). Disregard my previous comment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Thai food at its very best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fabulous choices at excellent pricing options make the Thai Bistro a top choice in Marrakech. The atmosphere lends itself to an attentive staff who are ready and wiling to accommodate your every dining wish. Top it all with an extensive wine list and you'll not soon forget the fabulous Thai Bistro.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful thai restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just back from a week in Marrakech. we ended up eating here twice as the food and service was so fabulous. We struggled to find decent restaurants in Marrakech despite recommendations from this site and our Riad. We are a family of 4 one vegetarian and one fish eater vege. The service was superb. The food excellent and we have all been to Thailand and eat it regularly. Very reasonably priced. They even gave us a choice of free drinks at the end of our meal. The place was spotless. Would not hesitate to recommend. Thanks for 2 great meals we were nearly giving up hope of finding somewhere good to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Thai also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bistro Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.