We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Thai !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Thai

Bistro Thai
8, rue Oued El Makhazine | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0524 45 73 11
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab Thai !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amazing food and a good wine list. We had our 10th wedding anniversary meal here and Monsif the waiter was very professional, our evening was perfect. Everything made completely fresh, served with style in a beautiful clean atmospheric restaurant. Try the mixed starter its delicious. I'd go back again without a doubt.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    35
    12
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The restaurant has great promise and could be much better than it is. The quality of the food and the range of dishes is great, though when we went on a Sunday to get the buffet lunch there was very little on offer, the service was dreadful and the prices in the menu were not up to date. Biggest disappointment for me is that lovely spicey oriental food, tasteful interior design in Balinese style is destroyed by French rock/pop on the sound-system and then plasma TV screens totally lower the tone! Bistro Thai needs to decide if it is aiming at quality dining clients, or sports-bar/youth market.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than Thailland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Welcoming, professional waiters. Food is the best I have ever had in years. Only one that I can think of that can match it in London. Try it and you will not be dissapointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“NOT a touris trap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was the best meal we had in Marrakech... the rest all semed over rated and over priced... here you get some of the best Thai food anywhere, service with a smile and lovely athmospheric surroundings. Every plate was tasty and extremely well prepared! Staff very attentive and overall the place is very well run... this is the only thing i will miss when i leave Marrakech

One of my best value for money choice locations!

They also serve a lunch buffet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bland and disappointing: there really are far better choices in Marrakech”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If your friend gave you food like this you would be pleased that they took the time to Thai-cut the vegetables but you would still have to be polite about the overall impression. This is an okay restaurant. It's attractive but the food is disappointing and the service is polite and friendly but vaguely incompetent and on the whole there are definitely far better ways to spend your money in Marrakech. We didn't want to eat chicken, beef or duck (obviously there's no pork on the menu in Marrakech and we would have been avoiding that as well) but we were willing to eat fish, calamari and prawns. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't as good as average either. Don't bother.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Thai also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bistro Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.