We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Albatros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Albatros to your Saves list
Club Albatros
1 Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #819 of 1,101 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“Pleasant experiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and helpful except for a few receptionists

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

the hotel was nice and clean..the food was same everyday but there was plenty of choice. the staff poliet and helpful except reception. the only thing that we were let down with was the spa facilities which were not included. the jacuzzi was freezing water and the price was £15 for half an hour. the facials were rushed and not worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Before I start I would just like to say that I am a travel agent working for a well-known brand and I have booked a lot of people into this hotel and others in Marrakech.
My best friend and I booked a 3 night stay at the Club Albatros from 11-14th November. The flight departed on time, our taxi was waiting for us as soon as we came through to the arrivals hall and check in at the hotel was quick and easy. We were allocated a room on the 4th floor in the Al Riad building, overlooking the pool and Atlas Mountains. The rooms are huge with 2 double beds, large bathroom and spacious terrace. Also our room (4085) had another door, so it could be an interconnecting room if needs be.

Food: We found the food fine. Any all-inclusive that you go on gets repetitive after a while and it did seem like there really was no waste as far as the food went. The most bizarre was scrambled eggs for breakfast and then jazzed up at lunch as a cold salad with anchovies! But to be fair, it was actually quite nice (minus the anchovies-yuk!) On the outside station at breakfast time you can have onion, tomato and cheese omelette cooked fresh or pancake-like flat breads that you then drizzle loads of honey over. We both said they could serve the pancakes for breakfast lunch and dinner and we would devour them! There were also yummy croissants and pain au chocolat, cereals, yoghurts etc. Lunch and dinner were also buffet style with beef, chicken and fish- pasta, couscous or rice- potatoes, veg and a massive salad buffet, bread and loads of calorie laden desserts! Unfortunately I had to avoid most of the desserts as I have a nut allergy and just didn't want to risk it, but my friend tucked in quite happily and said they were lovely.

Having read quite a lot of reviews before we went, I took it upon myself to clarify a few things with the hotel.

Albatros Gardens (AG) and Albatros Club (AC) are on the same site. AC is the main all inclusive section. You can book AI at the AG also, but it mainly tends to be BB. The AI includes the following:

Breakfast, lunch snacks and dinner at The Brasserie
Drinks from the AI menu at La Caseta, Le Charlot and Le Columbus bars.

The Casablanca bar, Mediterranean, Asian and Tagine restaurants are not included in the AI. I can't comment on the pool bar as it was closed when we were there.

There are 2 pools, one in the AG and 1 in the AC. We tended to stay at the one at the AC as it was quieter.

The cleanliness around the hotel was fantastic. There were staff cleaning constantly, whether it be mopping the floors or cleaning the sunbeds. The toilets were spotless and the staff always said a friendly hello to us.

We weren't due to fly out until late on the 14th and the hotel allowed us to keep our room on until just before we left for a small charge.

All in all, I have no issue with booking more of our clients into this hotel. Ok, so it may not be what us Brits class as a full 5*, but it is a lovely hotel and I really don't have any complaints. In fact, we are planning to go back for another shopping trip in March next year and we will be booking to stay here again.

Location: Just outside the Medina (the old part of the city - Gueliz is the new part- we never made it there as the old city is perfect for what we wanted!)

Shopping: Well, what can I say? Apparently there are 4000 souks in Marrakech and my feet feel like they have been to all of them! We had booked into Les Bains de Marrakech on our first morning- we had a hammam and hot stone massage for the princely sum of £41 each. The whole experience was amazing, although I probably wouldn't bother with the hot stone massage again, as it wasn't hard enough of a massage for me. We got a taxi on our first jaunt and Mustafa our taxi driver was an absolute godsend. (TIP: once you find a good cab driver, get his number and he will be your guide for the rest of your trip!) He took us to a fixed price shop (they are the government run shops) and we used the prices they were charging in there as a guide to what we should pay in the souks. He then took us to his friends spice shop where we proceeded to spend quite a few Dirhams on lovely spices, mint tea and loads of argan oil goodies! He then dropped us back at the hotel. Time taken 3.5 hours. Price charged for the whole time 80 Dirhams. Price in Sterling £6.22.

We called him the next day as we wanted to go to Jemaa Al Fna Square and try the souks for some serious shopping. He dropped us there, we called him 4.5 hours later, and he came and picked us up. He was only going to charge us 50 Dirhams, but we gave him 70.

The souks really are out of this world! We absolutely loved them. We never felt hassled or unsafe at any time and although they try and coax you in to their shops they are never pushy. The only problem we came across was the henna women on the square but, just keep walking and ignore them and they soon get the message. Also, don't allow any of the men with the click clack maraca things ( not sure what else to call them) try and get a picture with you, as they will then demand money and then get quite aggressive when you won't part with your Dirhams or Sterling. The same goes for the men with the monkey and snakes. But we found that just ignoring them made them leave you alone.

Moroccan Dirhams are a closed currency- I never knew that, until we tried to change into it over in the UK. Yep, you guessed it; there is another tip on its way! When you get your money changed at the airport make sure you keep the receipt they give you. If you lose this ensure you keep any ATM receipt that you get. They will not change your left over Dirhams back to any other currency unless you have a receipt- government policy apparently. I was a bit confused though, as it's a closed currency and you can't get it anywhere else but in Morocco so why won't they change it back? Anyway, minor gripe! Luckily I had an ATM receipt so they allowed it- however we only had £17 in Dirhams left and the guy behind the counter only had a £20 note, so we had to move onto the next currency change booth and they could only change it into euros (which you can spend airside at Marrakech airport) A bit stressful, but not a deal breaker!

All in all, Morocco is an amazing country, the people are really friendly and the shopping is ace!

Room Tip: Al Riad building 4th floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Club Albatros (previously know as the Royal Mirage) was a great location and base for our 5 night break in Marrakech. Our room was clean, spacious and over looked the pool with a brilliant view of the Atlas Mountains. The food was OK but you pay for what you get. We could not fault the pool area although it was very quite at this time of year and sun beds were plentiful (the pool was freezing)!
The point is the hotel was great for visiting and enjoying Marrakech, you can walk or pay less than £5 for a taxi into the Medina.
Take the red bus tour to really get your bearings and decide which areas you really want to explore. You can hop on and hop off over 2 days for £12 per person.
The Kosi Bar in Place des Ferblantiers was a brilliant find, we watched the sunset and the storks come in to roost on the Median walls whilst enjoying a lovely glass of wine. We ate at the Yacout which was out of this world if you are willing to pay over £100 for two (including wine) but it was worth it but make sure you get there before sunset and you will need to go by taxi and get picked up as you will never find it yourself . It is a 5 course meal plus wine - no menu and your bill is just the bottom line. As a contrast eating in the square for £10 for two was brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The room was very nice - very spacious and clean. The staff - especially the entertainment staff were excellent and the housekeepers also. The food was disappointing and there was only one restaurant which is not 5 star at all. We went to Reception every day to complain about something which we have never done before. Reception Service was useless. So on a points basis it would be 5 out of 10.There were 6 people in Reception with most of them being trainees so they didnt actually know what to do. English in Reception was poor even though they claimed 90% of the country spoke English.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool,The block called Al Riad is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My man & I stayed for a 4 night all inclusive break booked with Broadway travel in August of this year. The hotel had some lovely architectural features, and rooms were large and clean. Sadly our balcony opened onto the back of the hotel with no view. Certainly not a balcony to sit out on, as no sun at back of hotel. However, being all -inclusive gave you access to one restaurant only, where the food was nothing more than OK-main problem being temperature of food was not hot enough. As part of the all inclusive deal this gave you access to one evening in the Morrocan restaurant. This was the biggest disappointment of all- we had hoped that this would be th highlight of our break, instead of which we both suffered chronic food poisoning which lasted 4 weeks on our return. The displayed menu looked lovely, however, all-inclusive guests were handed a very basic menu-choice of fish or chicken. The food was certainly not cooked in a tagine-very scrawny chicken legs were barely oven cooked, then placed in a tagine for service smothered in a gruel like"Minestrone soup". I ate only 1 spoonful - it was putrid! No side vegetables-starter was equally gross-choice of Morroccan salad (very basic) or a broth-like soup, which was also putrid, and was used to serve the chicken tagine with for main course. Dessert were local cakes/biscuits, which were pretty gross. In spite of having eaten only one mouthful of the chicken, both of us were ill with food poisoning for nearly a month on return to England, and both of us had to go the our GP. Overall service was sadly lacking - I know that it was Ramadan, but it was blatantly obvious that generally they resented the western tourists. Also as all inclusive this gave you access to one bar only. There was a lovely pool swim up bar, but this was never opened while we were there. Also unless you got up before 6.00am, it was virtually impossible to get a sunbed around the pool, and there were nowhere near enough.
I had already paid for my 30 year old son & his new wife to visit same hotel in October, and am pleased to say that they had a totally different experience - probably as it was out of season there were far fewer guests. They took our advice & didn't eat in the Morrroccan restaurant, and generally had a lovely stay. As for myself and man- we would have no desire to go back to this hotel, however good value it may represent.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Just got back from Morocco, Was staying at Albatros Club Super in Marrakech, Staff were really nice, always seem to be wanting to help, and helpful for information.
The all inclusive is a bit limited as it only gives you one restraunt, and the food was not brilliant, edible, but not considered five star standard.
The rooms were big and had all the essentials, but could be a little more cleaner, same for the upkeep of the hotel, as there were broken tiles, and dirt around the hotel.
there isn't a great deal to do around the hotel in the day, so is not a great lace for children, but good for a chilled out holiday with sun, in peak season.
When going out just be aware of pick pockets and people trying to con you, just be stern and say 'NO'.
Overall I would say the hotel is a 3 star hotel.
My girlfriend and i would go back, but not for a luxury holiday, but more for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Albatros

Address: 1 Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #819 of 1,101 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Club Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Albatros Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Albatros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.