We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Albatros

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Albatros
1 Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #758 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Club Albatros (previously know as the Royal Mirage) was a great location and base for our 5 night break in Marrakech. Our room was clean, spacious and over looked the pool with a brilliant view of the Atlas Mountains. The food was OK but you pay for what you get. We could not fault the pool area although it was very quite at this time of year and sun beds were plentiful (the pool was freezing)!
The point is the hotel was great for visiting and enjoying Marrakech, you can walk or pay less than £5 for a taxi into the Medina.
Take the red bus tour to really get your bearings and decide which areas you really want to explore. You can hop on and hop off over 2 days for £12 per person.
The Kosi Bar in Place des Ferblantiers was a brilliant find, we watched the sunset and the storks come in to roost on the Median walls whilst enjoying a lovely glass of wine. We ate at the Yacout which was out of this world if you are willing to pay over £100 for two (including wine) but it was worth it but make sure you get there before sunset and you will need to go by taxi and get picked up as you will never find it yourself . It is a 5 course meal plus wine - no menu and your bill is just the bottom line. As a contrast eating in the square for £10 for two was brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The room was very nice - very spacious and clean. The staff - especially the entertainment staff were excellent and the housekeepers also. The food was disappointing and there was only one restaurant which is not 5 star at all. We went to Reception every day to complain about something which we have never done before. Reception Service was useless. So on a points basis it would be 5 out of 10.There were 6 people in Reception with most of them being trainees so they didnt actually know what to do. English in Reception was poor even though they claimed 90% of the country spoke English.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool,The block called Al Riad is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My man & I stayed for a 4 night all inclusive break booked with Broadway travel in August of this year. The hotel had some lovely architectural features, and rooms were large and clean. Sadly our balcony opened onto the back of the hotel with no view. Certainly not a balcony to sit out on, as no sun at back of hotel. However, being all -inclusive gave you access to one restaurant only, where the food was nothing more than OK-main problem being temperature of food was not hot enough. As part of the all inclusive deal this gave you access to one evening in the Morrocan restaurant. This was the biggest disappointment of all- we had hoped that this would be th highlight of our break, instead of which we both suffered chronic food poisoning which lasted 4 weeks on our return. The displayed menu looked lovely, however, all-inclusive guests were handed a very basic menu-choice of fish or chicken. The food was certainly not cooked in a tagine-very scrawny chicken legs were barely oven cooked, then placed in a tagine for service smothered in a gruel like"Minestrone soup". I ate only 1 spoonful - it was putrid! No side vegetables-starter was equally gross-choice of Morroccan salad (very basic) or a broth-like soup, which was also putrid, and was used to serve the chicken tagine with for main course. Dessert were local cakes/biscuits, which were pretty gross. In spite of having eaten only one mouthful of the chicken, both of us were ill with food poisoning for nearly a month on return to England, and both of us had to go the our GP. Overall service was sadly lacking - I know that it was Ramadan, but it was blatantly obvious that generally they resented the western tourists. Also as all inclusive this gave you access to one bar only. There was a lovely pool swim up bar, but this was never opened while we were there. Also unless you got up before 6.00am, it was virtually impossible to get a sunbed around the pool, and there were nowhere near enough.
I had already paid for my 30 year old son & his new wife to visit same hotel in October, and am pleased to say that they had a totally different experience - probably as it was out of season there were far fewer guests. They took our advice & didn't eat in the Morrroccan restaurant, and generally had a lovely stay. As for myself and man- we would have no desire to go back to this hotel, however good value it may represent.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Just got back from Morocco, Was staying at Albatros Club Super in Marrakech, Staff were really nice, always seem to be wanting to help, and helpful for information.
The all inclusive is a bit limited as it only gives you one restraunt, and the food was not brilliant, edible, but not considered five star standard.
The rooms were big and had all the essentials, but could be a little more cleaner, same for the upkeep of the hotel, as there were broken tiles, and dirt around the hotel.
there isn't a great deal to do around the hotel in the day, so is not a great lace for children, but good for a chilled out holiday with sun, in peak season.
When going out just be aware of pick pockets and people trying to con you, just be stern and say 'NO'.
Overall I would say the hotel is a 3 star hotel.
My girlfriend and i would go back, but not for a luxury holiday, but more for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I read all the reviews on this hotel before going and was worried sick. However when I got there it was great. We were on the all inclusive package and our original room was in the block facing the Le Charlot bar. The first night was noisy because the entertainment was all outside as it was so hot but a call to reception got our room moved to another block which was really quiet. The rooms were comfortable and well furnished. The beds were wonderfully comfortable. The shower was powerful and the air conditioning very efficient. The food was good - I was worried as a vegetarian that I would go hungry but no problems at all. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. There was one miserable looking guy but I think the main problem was he did'nt speak English. The two pools were great and there were loads of beds available every day. The entertainment was basic but enjoyable and we had a wonderful week. Would recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation on going back there again.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room facing the Le Charlot bar as the evening entertainment can be quite loud and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and stayed here on our first holiday away from the kids. we stayed for four nights on an all inclusive basis. The hotel is nice and clean and the rooms were a good size, beds comfortable and nice clean sheets. the bathroom was nice and clean although a little out dated. When we arrived our balcony patio door had a crack in it, we told the management and they changed our room immediately. Thre was a good selection of food on offer for all mealtimes and also a snack bar making individual homemade pizza every afternoon.
The pools were very cold but clean and as it was very hot 34C one day so this was quite nice!
most of the staff were very friendly with the exception of of one misery in the bar near the main pool, who took it upon herself to be as rude as possible.
the hotel looks like it was two hotels at one point and is now one big one, it is also called albatros gardens. There are two fitness centres you can use and they are very modern. we paid £15 for a taxi from the airport, .
There were some families at the hotel with small children, and although there was a play area and pools for kids i didnt see it as very child friendly. there are massive windows fully opened even on the 6th floor! the pools are very deep with not much warning, youd have to been on guard 24/7.
My overall opinion of the hotel is that it is quiet, clean and well managed. The rooms could do with some improvement cosmetically i would give it a four star rating in a brochure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

Hi guys, stayed at the albatros club, Marrakech.
The reception staff were excellent and very informative and well spoken English (Lumia & Aisha). Don't get worried if the staff take your luggage away on arrival at the entrance to the hotel, the bell boys will be taking them to your room and you will be escorted there also by the staff.
The hotel is located a short drive from the airport roughly a 10-15 min drive. The service was excellent, very clean environment and well maintained grounds.
The rooms are not 5* standard may be more of a 3*/4*.
We stayed all inclusive which was my first experience. The food was ample but adequate and prepared to a high standard.
We were allowed to use 1 restaurant and 2 bars. The soft drinks are of quality brand i.e coca cola, sprite etc. Alcoholic drinks are of a non popular brand but other brands are available at an extra cost.
The pools are well maintained and cleaned every night, plenty of sun loungers.
There is a gym with mainly cardio machine and a few weights machines. Other facilities are available i.e Spa treatment, facials, hot tubs etc.
Just wanted to mention the staff were great and very helpful, they work a lot of hours for little money so dont be shy to tip. They also have karaoke nights, disco's and outings to the near by night club Pacha.
I hope this is of great help to all and hope you enjoy your stay.

Shah&shadz.dot

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Albatros

Address: 1 Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #758 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Also Known As:
Club Albatros Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Albatros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Club Albatros to your Saves list