We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb find in marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai-thai

Mai-thai
Villa Saumuroise, angle rue de Paris/ Avenue Echouhada, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00 212 (0)5 24 45 73 01
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 587 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Maï Thaï has opened its doors just a stone’s throw from the Comptoir Darna, at the heart of the Hivernage region of Marrakech. Nestled within a magnificent villa, the exotic Asian atmosphere is immediately apparent as soon as you cross the threshold; you are instantly transported to far-off lands. Refined decor and an unusual garden provide this location with a truly authentic feel. The varied menu features the best of Asia and specially Thaï cuisine and is all made with the freshest of ingredients crafted by their talented chef. Service is discreet and attentive.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb find in marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you get slightly bored of the same old Moroccan food then look no further for simple but delicious Thai food on a par with the best?service was a bit quick!wine came after the starter!setting great but Thai music would have made it better?overall though we had a terrific time here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    45
    14
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for a Thai craving- but very poor service..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful restaurant and surprisingly sleek looking. I consider myself quite the connoisseur of Thai cuisine and this restaurant hit the nail on the head! Fantastic food and I thoroughly recommend it.
However 2 things are very annoying: it is expensive for quite small portions and on the night we visited the service was a joke. There were only 5 tables seated ( around 21:00 ) and with 3 waiters present you would think they would be very attentive. Not so, we had to wait a good 17 mins before even getting the menus and being able to order a drink. When our wine arrived ( very good by the way ) I had to get up and top it up myself because the waiter was busy moving cutlery around on the next (empty) table. All other guests had the same issue apart from 2 local men who obviously were very good friends with the staff. Not good enough and if the food hadn't been so satisfying we would have left.
On another note the food arrived within minutes of finally ordering so there's hope left!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Expertly cooked food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had no reservation so had an inferior table even though there was plenty of availability in the better part of the restaurant all the time we were there. So, not a good start to the evening. Service was brisk, a little too much so, as we had no time to rest between courses.

The food, however, was good quality and well cooked although there was a very restricted choice for vegetarians, and we found the portions small.

Please don't order a Mojito unless you like a very small one with few ingredients!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not So Spicy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As an Asian traveling in Africa, my expectations were high. Looking at the chili levels from their menu, I thought that those labeled with red chili will be really spicy but it wasn't. I did not feel a thing. I liked what I ate but it wasn't what I was expecting for. The restaurant's ambiance was really nice and they accepted us even without reservations and wearing slippers. People who come here seem to be very fancy. I wish they can play legit Thai music though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We dined here on 15th August at around 8.30pm. Although we didn't have a reservation, we were seated very quickly. If you reserve you get to sit in a more decorated part of the restaurant and I was a little disappointed as there were many tables available but they didn't seat us there.

We ordered starters, fish cakes, spring rolls and chicken satay, all were really delicious and flavoured with mild herbs and spices.

For main course, we had stir fry beef, stir fry chicken and fish - all came with steamed rice and we ordered some sea food pad thai. All the dishes were very tasty, except the beef which was a little bland. The fish was excellent, it was fried but had a lovely tamarind sauce.
We skipped dessert as we wanted to go elsewhere, but the kids (8 and 11) really enjoyed it.

The only negative is that there were smokers all around us and we had to hurry a little to finish our meal as the place was getting quite smoky. However, this is a problem in all the eateries that we went to in Marrakech.

If you like Thai food, this is a lovely little restaurant that has a cosy yet elegant ambience to it. Well worth a visit. The prices of the main courses ranged from around £5 to £20 and more if you went for the finer sea food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai-thai also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mai-thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai-thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.