We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't impressed in 2012 - miles better in 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai-thai

Mai-thai
Villa Saumuroise, angle rue de Paris/ Avenue Echouhada, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00 212 (0)5 24 45 73 01
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Maï Thaï has opened its doors just a stone’s throw from the Comptoir Darna, at the heart of the Hivernage region of Marrakech. Nestled within a magnificent villa, the exotic Asian atmosphere is immediately apparent as soon as you cross the threshold; you are instantly transported to far-off lands. Refined decor and an unusual garden provide this location with a truly authentic feel. The varied menu features the best of Asia and specially Thaï cuisine and is all made with the freshest of ingredients crafted by their talented chef. Service is discreet and attentive.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed in 2012 - miles better in 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I found the food merely adequate and service surly in 2012 but a miracle has taken place; far better in 2013, really delicious food (so much so I asked whether the chef had changed - he hasn't; just improved) and very nice and helpful staff. Great Tom Kha Gai (chicken in coconut cream soup - my favourite Thai dish). Well done on the leap from three stars to five stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    32
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“feel good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

excellent ambience.. food was superb, excellent flavours like never tasted before, visited this resturant thrice during our stay in marrakech.. a must when visiting marrakech

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not My idea of Thai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

For starters, I'm very familiar with Thai food. Here, we first had to expend considerable energy explaining to the waiters that we simply wanted to drink Moroccan style mint tea. Our party then ordered Thai dishes none of which turned out to be in any way authentic - the Thai chicken curry for example ended up being pieces of chicken in batter in a sauce vaguely reminiscent of uninspired Chinese cuisine. In short, the culinary lowlight of our Marrakesh holiday. Our verdict - a rather generous 2 stars.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“High end Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant, which was walking distance from where we were staying. This is a "hip" place, modern decor, waiters in black, guests dressed in leather. Seemed to be a local favorite, not a tourist place. DJ and rock music in the bar/lounge. Portions were not as large as in the U.S. Lovely food presentation. Phad Thai was good and a fish dish was very good. We were lucky to get a table, as the restaurant was quite full on a Thursday night. You might want to call ahead for reservations. Building is on a corner, with the entrance on a diagonal to the intersection, not well lit, so it is difficult to see unless you know the address and where it ought to be. During the day you can hardly see the sign.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Delicious flavours that leave you wanting more you can’t possible have space for. The restaurant has great décor and transports you to a tranquil oasis away from the bustling city of Marrakech. Order the Prawn Panang and Calamari, it won’t disappoint. The service is a little slow but we didn’t mind as we enjoyed a nice relaxing meal with friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai-thai also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mai-thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai-thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.