We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mai-thai

Mai-thai
Villa Saumuroise, angle rue de Paris/ Avenue Echouhada, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00 212 (0)5 24 45 73 01
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Maï Thaï has opened its doors just a stone’s throw from the Comptoir Darna, at the heart of the Hivernage region of Marrakech. Nestled within a magnificent villa, the exotic Asian atmosphere is immediately apparent as soon as you cross the threshold; you are instantly transported to far-off lands. Refined decor and an unusual garden provide this location with a truly authentic feel. The varied menu features the best of Asia and specially Thaï cuisine and is all made with the freshest of ingredients crafted by their talented chef. Service is discreet and attentive.
Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“High end Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant, which was walking distance from where we were staying. This is a "hip" place, modern decor, waiters in black, guests dressed in leather. Seemed to be a local favorite, not a tourist place. DJ and rock music in the bar/lounge. Portions were not as large as in the U.S. Lovely food presentation. Phad Thai was good and a fish dish was very good. We were lucky to get a table, as the restaurant was quite full on a Thursday night. You might want to call ahead for reservations. Building is on a corner, with the entrance on a diagonal to the intersection, not well lit, so it is difficult to see unless you know the address and where it ought to be. During the day you can hardly see the sign.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Delicious flavours that leave you wanting more you can’t possible have space for. The restaurant has great décor and transports you to a tranquil oasis away from the bustling city of Marrakech. Order the Prawn Panang and Calamari, it won’t disappoint. The service is a little slow but we didn’t mind as we enjoyed a nice relaxing meal with friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, great for couples. Highly recommend this place when in Marrakech,which has the nicest food I experienced in the city. We didn't have to book, but I would put this place on my list of places to eat. It was pricey but worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Food is WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant has the most delicious flavoursome food. We found this place by chance and we are glad we did. Book ahead in advance as this restaurant does get booked most nights.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirdford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great end to a great evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We ate first at Comptoir and were tempted in here walking back to our Riad, by the doorman. the environment is modern glass walls with floodlit planting outside,and flaming torches there was a bar producing lovely cocktails, and a DJ playing cheesy eighties music, some people would think un cool, but we found it highly entertaining, and so did the other guests when us Brits leapt to out feet to dance to YMCA!
There were a group in the corner who made great people watching, they resembled Russian Mafia and plastic surgery enhanced call girls in thigh high plastic white boots!
came upon this place by chance but glad we did!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai-thai also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mai-thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai-thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.