We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Layla Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Layla Rouge to your Saves list
Riad Layla Rouge
Rue el Ksour | Derb Rokni, 23, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently stayed here and it was excellent. We booked a private double in the annex, and for a little bit of luxury in Marrakech at a reasonable price this is the place for you. The rooms in the annex were amazing, so peaceful with a wonderful and relaxing roof top terrace with views over the city.

For us the location was perfect, right in the medina only 3 mins walk from the main square, so close to everything to walk to, but just a little set back to provide some space from the Marrakech madness. The staff were very friendly and helpful, a super breaksfast every morning. The annex is across the street from the main hostel, so a little bit seperate, which for us was perfect as we were looking for some peace and quiet, but if you want to be in the hub-bub of the hostel it had a great vibe. I would be happy to get the oppertunity to go back again and recommned it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    17
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
34
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a really good youth hostel. There are small safes available in the dorms which is great for leaving stuff you don't want to carry around. The showers are nice and hot, the one in the dorm has the wrong coloured taps so turn the cold one on for hot (lol). Sheets/towels are clean and the riad is very clean, (although the kitchen could do with a bit of renovation). The staff are fantastic, Abdul is extremely dedicated to the point of exhaustion. The turtles need regular feeding - this needs delegating to a member of staff, I volunteer Hind :) .

Women travelling in Morocco generally need to make their boundaries clear, ie personal space. So if boundaries are uncomfortable, make it clear girls!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Three of the most important things you look in a hostel in this crazy-exotic-fun city.stuff is pretty friendly.the rooms are pretty clean and fairly cheap.it really feels like home at some point.breakfast which is included is pretty satisfaying.the hostel is 5 minutes away from the main square by foot.i really enjoy my time here.i think if i ever come to marrakesh again layla rouge will be my place to stay..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This riad has a very chilled out and relaxed atmosphere. It has shared mixed sex dorms as well as private double rooms. We booked three nights in the eight berth (four bunk beds) dorm which was clean and had one bathroom to share between eight people. The bathroom was also clean but the bath seemed to be clogged as water took a bit of time to drain after a shower.

There is a communal area which has music playing throughout the day at a low volume (turned off by 10pm) and it has an overall nice hostel feel about it. The roof terrace is an excellent place to relax in with some shisha and mint tea after a hard days trekking around Marrakesh and you can even have breakfast on the terrace on request. They have four or five resident tortoise that lurch around the terrace area so watch out for them as you're walking around up there. It's also a great area to get some night sky photography shots if you're so inclined.

The souks and djemaa el fna square are about five minutes walk away at most and the Riad itself is relatively easy to locate again once you've familiarised yourself with the surrounding landmarks. You can always try your luck with the locals if you're really lost, most are friendly and helpful, non were really aggressive/abusive that we found.

Staff are friendly and helpful without being obtrusive, speak decent English and they cook a great breakfast consisting of various breads and dough balls with preserves as well as fried egg, crepes, mint tea, coffee and fresh orange juice. Our only possible gripe was that we asked for a double room for our last night and due to some misunderstanding, they booked us into a different riad about 10 metres around the corner which was a nice place as well so no worries really.

Overall, the dorm room is cheap, the location is great for exploring the medina and souks, the breakfast is substantial and better than most that we had in Morocco and they even provide fresh clean towels if you've forgotten yours.

Room Tip: To get here, you can either follow the excellent directions and videos on their site or look for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blois, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago with 4 other girls and it was our first time in Marrakech. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, prepared to make you tea at any moment, help you organise excursions and even walk you to the main square to help you flag down a taxi. The hostel is very clean and well-kept. We stayed in the 8 bed dorm room which was very comfortable, the only slight problem being that there was one shower/toilet to be shared between upto 12 people.
Another great thing about this hostel is the breakfast which is included in the price. Every morning we were provided with more food than we could possibly eat and it was all delicious.
The Riad also offers a cooking class which we took. Be prepared - this involves a trip to the market to pick out your vegetables and live chickens...On the plus side, you get to eat delicious tajine at the end of it.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel for groups, couples or individuals, however, maybe not for families. It's a great place to stay, the staff will help you with anything you need and the best thing of all - there are tortoises on the Terrace.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I failed to check the directions for here so had a little difficulty finding it and could not believe how easy it was once I knew where to go, one tip was that it was down a side alley that was a little dark and no signs pointing to it so was easy to miss if you walk down the 'road' and don't check fully

no complaints at all about the room or cleanliness :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have travelled a fair bit, and this hostel could well be the best I've ever found. Very friendly and helpful staff. They really are. We felt utterly welcome there, and I'm missing my Marrakesh home already. The room we stayed in was simply fantastic. I imagine anyone else would say exactl tthe same. Sleep was perfect, a very peaceful place just off the bedlam of the souks. Breakfast is a glorious experiince, complete with meandering tortoises. Very good breakfast, but we didn't try the dinner there as we went on their recommendations of where to eat in the medina! Next time we go to Marrakesh, we will absolutely go to Layla Rouge without even trying other places. However, I would appreciate it if you could ignore this review at those times as we don't want to find out it's full. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Layla Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layla Rouge

Address: Rue el Ksour | Derb Rokni, 23, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Minute from Place D'Jeema el Fna in the centre of the souqs and possibly the first ever edible hostel riad. The free tea and cake – may stop you from trying to bite into the walls – or maybe not... Have a taste…Riad Layla Rouge breathes in the Mad Hatter’s tea party of colour that Marrakech conjures, and breathes out the nearby chaos – a gentler but still eccentric heartbeat. If Riad Layla Rouge could, it would cascade chocolate from the fountain in the courtyard, but the impact is truly mouth-watering nonetheless. Tea and cake, free all day – may stop you from biting into the walls – or maybe not…they may actually be edible. Only one minute from the main square, the 3 suites provide absolute privacy, the gorgeous mixed dorm encourages adventure sharing. All can enjoy the warm, communal atmosphere of the courtyard, Moroccan salon-dining room, and 2 flower and fruit tree draped roof terraces. All this enhanced by your own personal soundtrack with ipod speakers in each room. A small and perfectly formed family run riad in the centre of the souqs – Riad Layla Rouge breathes in the Mad Hatter’s tea party of colour and spices that Marrakech conjures, and breathes out the noise and craziness nearby – a gentler but still eccentric heartbeat. You cannot help but find your favourite colour here – by day Layla Rouge is a vase of flowers or a box of hand decorated chocolates, or an techni-flavour ice-cream stand; by night a treasure chest of glittering jewels, or a sparkling solar system. Use your imagination. Riad Layla Rouge wants you to get comfy in Marrakech; to feel safe and happy; imaginative and inspired – we combine a hostel spirit and atmosphere with that little bit of indulgence that you find in a luxury riad. Share your stories of travel and life. Laugh over tea and cake with other guests in our (almost) edible house. As the Mad Hatter said to Alice: ‘You could stay…What a mad, crazy, wonderful idea…’Whether you are travelling for the first time, or have done so for years – enjoy the rhythm of a city that transforms with the cycle of the sun. When you stay at Layla Rouge you can’t be anywhere else but the Wonderland of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Layla Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Layla Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.