We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Trip to Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Asrari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Asrari to your Saves list
Riad Asrari
42 Derb Derdouba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our Trip to Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a marvellous time in this enchanting place. The Riad is very clean the rooms cosy and extremely quiet. We would like to praise the staff which were always helpful and kind for all sorts of questions, recommendations, advice. This riad is also perfectly located if one wants to live the Medina.
Andree

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a lovely weekend at the Riad Asrari. The staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. The place itself is beautiful and an oasis of calm in a busy city. We loved the mint tea and delicious biscuits on the terrace each afternoon. We stayed in the Japanese room, which was really lovely, and bed was very comfortable. The tortoises in the courtyard were surprisingly bold. we never saw the chameleon though!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent five nights at this charming riad. Within the Medina, it is about half way between Jemma el Fna and Jardin Majorelle (each about 20 minutes walk). Away from the noise, smell and bustle of the busy streets and souks, it was a relief each evening to come back to such tranquility.

The riad has five bedrooms/suits – each delightfully decorated and appointed in a particular national style. We had the Indian Suit on the first floor. Like the two others on this floor, it overlooks the tiled courtyard with its small fountain and trees.

The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom had an elegant shower – but poor water pressure (although the manager said this was caused by nearby excavation work).

The roof terrace had loungers and sofas and a colourful bedouin tent where meals were served. The breakfast was lovely – particularly the fresh orange juice and home made yoghurt. The tagine dinner (booked in the morning) was delicious and reasonable value at 30€/head.

The staff were helpful and attentive – and particularly Adil, who greeted us on arrival with glasses of mint tea and was both waiter and receptionist. He was courteous, great fun and always ready to help. At the end of our stay, we felt we were saying goodbye to a real friend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Riad Asrari is a great place to stay for a short visit to Marrakesh. We stayed in the African suite and especially loved the enormous bath! It was very easy to walk around the city and the staff were welcoming and helpful.
Definately recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Back last night from 4 days at the Riad. It was fantastic and we cannot praise the staff enough. They were thoughtful and kind and went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. We asked their advice on where to go. We walked everywhere and the excitement and bustle of this city was tremendous. We had never been to Marrakesh before and this was a delight, made more so by returning each day to this delightfully calm Riad after the bustle of the streets and Souks. The ladies were excellent and cleaned the rooms every day. We have no hesitation in recommending this Riad and will be rebooking next year if possible. It is so close to the centre that (as I have said) we walked to all the places of interest. Weather was very good. Everyone on the street was very helpful and most spoke French (the second language there. For a night out can recommend the Café Arabe. Well done to everybody there and especially the two tortoises who were so lovely and could be hand fed. I have added photos of the places you can see as the photographs of the Riad itself are already there.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent; we stayed in the Mexican room. Very comfortable and we slept well; the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Just returned from a stay at this riad booked through Voyage Prive. Although the weather was not very good, the riad was warm and comfortable, even in the tent on the terrace where we had a magnificent dinner on our first evening.

The staff in this riad are delightful, especially Adil who served breakfast and dinner to us. The ladies who cleaned the rooms were very friendly and changed the towels in the room every day.

The riad is tucked away in a lane in the Medina and looks very unassuming from the outside but stepping through the doorway takes you into a different world. We stayed in the Mexican room - all the rooms have a theme and are filled with furniture and decorations which have been gathered from all over the world by the owner.

Although the weather was not too good, we were able to use the loungers on the terrace one afternoon and enjoy the sunshine.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this riad, especially the friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Booked taxi and first meal through the Riad which was fine. The room was clean (African suite), but they DO NOT have the bath robes/toiletries as promised on their website. We booked an INCLUSIVE trip to the Atlas Mountains through our waiter who told us to pay the 'director.' The trip was expensive but we thought it would be worthwhile.But on the Thursday morning having paid, the vehicle failed to arrive. The receptionist spoke little English and after frantic phone calls a car turned up an hour late with a driver who spoke no English! We were taken to the mountains and then the driver stopped and a second man got into the vehicle and told us he was our guide. He said the car could go no further as it was not a 4 wheel drive. We then had a strenuous hike (ROCK CLIMB) for which we were not prepared, especially as our shoes slipped on the dangerous wet rocks. We are grandparents and although we consider ourselves fit this was not what we had in mind or the trip we had been promised. We were shown a SMALL waterfall and on clambering back down to the town, the second man demanded money for his services. We were forced to pay as we didn't want to be stranded, and assumed we would be reimbursed by the riad. This was not the case and it became apparent they had no intention of doing so. The 'director' suddenly seemed to struggle with his English. To add insult to injury we had paid for a taxi to the airport (25 euros) but the riad then demanded a further payment, which we reluctantly made under protest as we didn't want to miss our flight. We were ripped off big time by this riad which left us with a bitter sweet taste! BE WARNED! But Marrakech is well worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Asrari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Asrari

Address: 42 Derb Derdouba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#118 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Asrari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Asrari Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Asrari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.