We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Asrari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Asrari to your Saves list
Riad Asrari
42 Derb Derdouba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Asrari in March, the riad was beautifully decorated and clean, we stayed in the Japanese suite which was a lovely and spacious, and opened onto the court yard. On our first night we booked dinner at the riad which was excellent, and it was lovely to sit up on the roof terrace for dinner, the roof terrace was also a nice place to sit and relax during the day. The staff at the riad were all very accommodating and more than happy to help. On our last night they booked a table for us at a nearby restaurant Dar Yacout which is well worth a visit.
The Riad is well located and is a only a 15 minute walk from the main square through the souks, which are a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Don't let where this Riad is situated put you off it, it is a hidden gem, a stunning oasis in the hubbub of Marrakech. Just a short walk, about 10-15 minutes from the souks, and about 20 minutes from the main square, it is ideally situated to be away from the hurly-burly. We travelled as two couples, although I am not sure I would have wanted to be in this area if I was on my own, as a woman, or with just female friend(s), as to reach the Riad, you have to walk down alleys/back streets. (Hence only 'average' for the location.)
Our suite was lovely and light, with an en-suite bathroom that included a bath and a separate shower, the room was up a flight of tiled stairs, from the courtyard, where the two tortoises were to be found, following the sunlight on the tiled floor.
We were greeted by Agil, who never stops smiling, with mint tea and biscuits and then shown to our room.
Up another flight of stairs to the outdoor terrace, a lovely sunny spot, with plenty of sun loungers and comfy furniture, where we spent many happy hours, soaking up the sun, and relaxing with our Kindles. The terrace also held the beautifully decorated tent, where we had breakfast, a lovely extra room.
The girls/ladies who work in the Riad are so kind, and welcoming, as are all the staff.
Breakfast was plentiful, although the same each day - yogurt; bread; pancakes and cake, with jams and honey, fresh orange juice and tea or coffee. All beautifully presented.
We did not eat an evening meal at the Riad, but on reading the Guest Book at the end of our stay, several comments would indicate the the set meal was very good, so perhaps we missed a trick. The cost of the meal is 30 euros, which is about average for a restaurant meal.
All in all, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Riad Asrari in January and we would definitely recommend staying here!! We got an upgrade to the African suite which was beautiful. Upon arrival Agil, the receptionist, greeted us and sat us in the serene courtyard. He brought us some Moroccan tea an the most amazing biscuits we've ever had.

The service at the riad was faultless. The rooms were immaculate and clean. Breakfast was great - though there was so much food!! Agil was always more than happy to book us spa days, tables at restaurants and airport transfers.

The location is great, not too long of a walk to the main square and souks but also near to the new city as well. It isn't in a tourist area so it's lovely to see the traditional Moroccan way of life. As a group of girls on holiday, the first day was daunting walking from the riad, but the locals are friendly but the men do have different cultural attitudes than we are used to in the UK.

We would definitely recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for a few days. It was lovely , clean and well decorated but the area was not so good. To reach it you have to walk down alleys and it is unnerving for women travellers. We were accosted by locals wanting money for showing us the way, un unpleasnt experience so be warned.

Room Tip: There are only four or five rooms all looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had already used accommodation in France owned by the same people who own this Riad so were full of expectation before we arrived.

Our expectations were blown away by the comfort and hospitality we received at Riad Asrari!

We were greeted and looked after throughout most of our stay by Adil (said as Agil - sorry if this is wrong!). A hive of information and always on hand when we needed anything.

The Riad itself was spotless - constantly being cleaned. The room was attended to twice a day.

Each room is individually furnished - we count our selves as being very lucky....we received a phone call from the owners before we left the UK asking us if we would like the Japanese Suite instead of the Indian Room we had booked - giving us more space during our 7 night stay - we cannot thank them enough for this generous upgrade.!

We also received a phone call from the owners during breakfast on our first day making sure that we were settle in and everything was okay. In addition they arrived at the Riad just before our last day so we were able to meet them in person.

Our only regret? Not spending more time in the Riad as opposed to the busy streets of the Medina!!

Don't hesitate to book if you are thinking of going to Marrakech.

Room Tip: All the rooms and suites in the Riad are beautifully appointed and are to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York. England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Four of us stayed at this lovely Riad for 4 nights in mid October and I endorse most of the positive comments made by other reviewers. The Riad is spotlessly clean and very stylishly furnished and when you pass through the unpretentious and pretty anonymous entrance door you are in a world of cool and calm after the heat noise and hustle of the Marrakech streets and souks.
The Staff were lovely, helpful and charming, happy to book taxis or restaurant tables or give advice on where to go. We got the Riad to book taxis to and from the airport and although it may have cost more (25 euros each way) having seen some of the local taxis we were happy to pay for a modern airconditioned vehicle!
I must agree that breakfast did become a little repetative and a bit more variety would have been appreciated but the fresh orange juice and yoghurt were very enjoyable.
The owner was away when we stayed but took the trouble to telephone us to make sure we were happy and that there were no problems. A good indication of the obvoius desire to have happy guests.
We would recommend asking the staff to book a table at the Dar Yacout restaurant which is very near to the Riad. Most of us thought that the food was just better than average but the building is stunning and the whole experience well worth the fixed price.
We would be very happy to stay at Riad Asrari again and intend to do so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Riad is a lovely and quiet haven in the manic atmosphere of Marrakech.

It is located outside of the tourist area which we found to be a big plus, but is only a short walk from the main square. Taxis from any of the main sites cost us no more than about £2 or £3 if required.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. They, and the Riad Asrari itself, were a very large part of the reason we enjoyed our stay in Marrakech so much.

Room Tip: The suites are much bigger than the standard rooms. We stayed in the Africa Suite which was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Asrari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Asrari

Address: 42 Derb Derdouba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Asrari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Asrari Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Asrari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.