We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, tranquil Riad with great service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Asrari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Asrari to your Saves list
Riad Asrari
42 Derb Derdouba, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing, tranquil Riad with great service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at Riad Asrari in January and we would definitely recommend staying here!! We got an upgrade to the African suite which was beautiful. Upon arrival Agil, the receptionist, greeted us and sat us in the serene courtyard. He brought us some Moroccan tea an the most amazing biscuits we've ever had.

The service at the riad was faultless. The rooms were immaculate and clean. Breakfast was great - though there was so much food!! Agil was always more than happy to book us spa days, tables at restaurants and airport transfers.

The location is great, not too long of a walk to the main square and souks but also near to the new city as well. It isn't in a tourist area so it's lovely to see the traditional Moroccan way of life. As a group of girls on holiday, the first day was daunting walking from the riad, but the locals are friendly but the men do have different cultural attitudes than we are used to in the UK.

We would definitely recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for a few days. It was lovely , clean and well decorated but the area was not so good. To reach it you have to walk down alleys and it is unnerving for women travellers. We were accosted by locals wanting money for showing us the way, un unpleasnt experience so be warned.

Room Tip: There are only four or five rooms all looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had already used accommodation in France owned by the same people who own this Riad so were full of expectation before we arrived.

Our expectations were blown away by the comfort and hospitality we received at Riad Asrari!

We were greeted and looked after throughout most of our stay by Adil (said as Agil - sorry if this is wrong!). A hive of information and always on hand when we needed anything.

The Riad itself was spotless - constantly being cleaned. The room was attended to twice a day.

Each room is individually furnished - we count our selves as being very lucky....we received a phone call from the owners before we left the UK asking us if we would like the Japanese Suite instead of the Indian Room we had booked - giving us more space during our 7 night stay - we cannot thank them enough for this generous upgrade.!

We also received a phone call from the owners during breakfast on our first day making sure that we were settle in and everything was okay. In addition they arrived at the Riad just before our last day so we were able to meet them in person.

Our only regret? Not spending more time in the Riad as opposed to the busy streets of the Medina!!

Don't hesitate to book if you are thinking of going to Marrakech.

Room Tip: All the rooms and suites in the Riad are beautifully appointed and are to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York. England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Four of us stayed at this lovely Riad for 4 nights in mid October and I endorse most of the positive comments made by other reviewers. The Riad is spotlessly clean and very stylishly furnished and when you pass through the unpretentious and pretty anonymous entrance door you are in a world of cool and calm after the heat noise and hustle of the Marrakech streets and souks.
The Staff were lovely, helpful and charming, happy to book taxis or restaurant tables or give advice on where to go. We got the Riad to book taxis to and from the airport and although it may have cost more (25 euros each way) having seen some of the local taxis we were happy to pay for a modern airconditioned vehicle!
I must agree that breakfast did become a little repetative and a bit more variety would have been appreciated but the fresh orange juice and yoghurt were very enjoyable.
The owner was away when we stayed but took the trouble to telephone us to make sure we were happy and that there were no problems. A good indication of the obvoius desire to have happy guests.
We would recommend asking the staff to book a table at the Dar Yacout restaurant which is very near to the Riad. Most of us thought that the food was just better than average but the building is stunning and the whole experience well worth the fixed price.
We would be very happy to stay at Riad Asrari again and intend to do so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Riad is a lovely and quiet haven in the manic atmosphere of Marrakech.

It is located outside of the tourist area which we found to be a big plus, but is only a short walk from the main square. Taxis from any of the main sites cost us no more than about £2 or £3 if required.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. They, and the Riad Asrari itself, were a very large part of the reason we enjoyed our stay in Marrakech so much.

Room Tip: The suites are much bigger than the standard rooms. We stayed in the Africa Suite which was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horningsham, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Situated in the North of the Medina of Marrakech, this beautiful Riad is a real gem. The rooms are tastefully decorated and stay lovely and cool even in the heat of the day and the roof terrace is a stunning place for breakfast. The staff, however, are the key ingredient in making Riad Asrari amazing, they are friendly, welcoming and will go more than the extra mile to make your stay extra special.

All the suggestions offered to us by the team turned out to be complete successes especially our home cooked meal on the roof terrace as well as our meal at Dar Zillij.

Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Beatuful Riad that really lets itself down. Firstly we arranged for a pick up because we knew it was difficult to find. We were charged €25 for a journey that took 10 minutes from the airport. We discovered later that a taxi would be a maximum €10. Our room was the suite which we were upgraded to and it was beautiful. However our towels were not changed the entire 5 days nor was our bed linen changed. We spoke to other guests and they had the same, so it is clearly policy and not an oversight.You only get a free bottle of water the day you arrive, after that it's €2.5 unless you buy from a local shop where it's €0.50. Breakfast was very nice except that it's all bread and cake and the same every day with no choice offered and no fruit.
On the positive side the staff are all extremely nice and helpful and the Riad is absolutely beautiful. It's just a shame they let themselves down in such simple ways.

Room Tip: Because its a Riad rooms are small but all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Asrari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Asrari

Address: 42 Derb Derdouba, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina, in the area of Bab Doukkala, easy to reach by car or a ten minute walk from the JEMAA el FNA Square and beautifull Majorelle Gardens, this 17th century Riad has been restored with full respect to the Moroccan tradition, keeping its original characteristics: a patio shaded by trees, the coolness of its very old marble fountain, peaceful living-rooms and a beautifully planted terrace where you can enjoy the Sunset and the view of the Medina... The RIAD ASRARI is a traditional riad with wonderful moroccan craftsmanship such as sculpted plaster ceilings, exquisitely carved Cedar doors, colorful tadelakts and zelliges skilfully composed of delicate oriental patterns. You will be welcomed with traditional pastries and Mint tea by our thoughtful and discreet staff. You will discover peaceful places to rest: the terrace and sun-beds, comfortable sofas and the kaidale tent under which you can have your breakfast. You can also relax, read and dream in our beautiful living rooms... On the patio, you will be enchanted by the magestic pace of our two tortoises as they follow their daily sunbathing ritual If you are patient enough you might also see our chameleon who plays hide and seek in the trees ! The furniture and decorative objects were procured during the owner's numerous travels, or were designed and made on site by Moroccan craftsmen. Many Primitive Art pieces are exhibited throughout the riad... All of these well considered elements have been combined for a perfect getaway. In the RIAD ASRARI, you can forget television and noisy pools...You will discover another Marrakech, in the heart of the Arabic Tradition: authentic and refined ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Asrari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Asrari Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Asrari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.