We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Asrari

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Asrari to your Saves list
Riad Asrari
42 Derb Derdouba, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 477 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Riad is a lovely and quiet haven in the manic atmosphere of Marrakech.

It is located outside of the tourist area which we found to be a big plus, but is only a short walk from the main square. Taxis from any of the main sites cost us no more than about £2 or £3 if required.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. They, and the Riad Asrari itself, were a very large part of the reason we enjoyed our stay in Marrakech so much.

Room Tip: The suites are much bigger than the standard rooms. We stayed in the Africa Suite which was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horningsham, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Situated in the North of the Medina of Marrakech, this beautiful Riad is a real gem. The rooms are tastefully decorated and stay lovely and cool even in the heat of the day and the roof terrace is a stunning place for breakfast. The staff, however, are the key ingredient in making Riad Asrari amazing, they are friendly, welcoming and will go more than the extra mile to make your stay extra special.

All the suggestions offered to us by the team turned out to be complete successes especially our home cooked meal on the roof terrace as well as our meal at Dar Zillij.

Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
68 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Beatuful Riad that really lets itself down. Firstly we arranged for a pick up because we knew it was difficult to find. We were charged €25 for a journey that took 10 minutes from the airport. We discovered later that a taxi would be a maximum €10. Our room was the suite which we were upgraded to and it was beautiful. However our towels were not changed the entire 5 days nor was our bed linen changed. We spoke to other guests and they had the same, so it is clearly policy and not an oversight.You only get a free bottle of water the day you arrive, after that it's €2.5 unless you buy from a local shop where it's €0.50. Breakfast was very nice except that it's all bread and cake and the same every day with no choice offered and no fruit.
On the positive side the staff are all extremely nice and helpful and the Riad is absolutely beautiful. It's just a shame they let themselves down in such simple ways.

Room Tip: Because its a Riad rooms are small but all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Perhaps what makes Riad Asrari such a delight is the friendly and helpful staff, always ready with a smile. It is a traditional old Riad in the heart of the Medina, yet luxuriously designed with unique, colourful rooms (and very welcome air-conditioning!), each with a special theme. Gorgeous toiletries!!! The courtyard is a cool calm haven, and the roof terrace provides not only the shaded space for breakfast, but a chance to recline peacefully with a book, maybe with a peppermint tea and some little biscuits, and think about all that you have seen and done that day… and where you are going for dinner! And if you are not sure, you can always ask. I really enjoyed my stay. An absolute treasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and i have just return from this lovely 6 bedroomed Riad(March 2012) Away on a 3 night 4 day break.We booked via "Voyage prive" Who only select top qulity accomadation,so we knew it would be good.I would also agree with all previous reports on the Riad.on TA.
In my report i will try not to repeat what has been said pior .All that has been said is true .
Before you travel you may have done you homework about Marrakech ?
The Riad is in a very safe part of the old town walls " Madina" .we were given a great map of the area/souks /square and soon found our feet.However is the town is too much for you ,Adele (guest manager will arange a guided tour for you , small cost )Alcohol not served due to licencing issues ,but we where welcomed to bring a bottle back to drink in the Riad.
After a day out we just sat on the roof terrace ,reading in quite ,drinking fresh mint tea.or in the cool POLO room (,where i ended up havind a afternoon nap on ,but that holidays for you !)
A fresh shower and we were ready for our meal out,however,The Riad can provide a good evening meal or snacks.But we wanted to explore the Colourful Town.and resturants and souks /square.(some advised by the Frank,we mostly used ,CAFE ARABE,as it was about 5 mins walkfrom the Riad and en route to or back from the crazy square,also the smaller SOUK CAFE,)
We where lucky to meet the owners during our stay as they are very much involved in the running of the Riad,ensuring the quality of staffing ,food ,decor,hygiene and your total needs during your stay.A real pride in there operation,they call your "home" during the vist,something you would not get from a large hotel chain.
Frank (French owners) spoke good English as did all the main staff.The welcome we had was fantastic ,a welcome mint tea and biscuits was relaxing.Any trips ,tours and spa booking can all be made the the Riad( all quality checked by them prior !)
There is not direct car/taxi acces to the Riad ,this is the norm in Marrakech old town . I strongly advise to get Riad to collect you from the Airport and return you to the Airport !!!
Do ,nt gamble with unkown taxi driver and there ad hock fees !
Towels in room,hairdrier,free bottled water,free safe,shower gels.no tv ,air con. Clean, good size room , ensuite large .We stayed in the Mexican styled room.we where able to leave suitcases in the Riad and return to Riad to change clothes, after checking out due to late flight time.
We would definitely return,and recommend this Riad.
..........The sun was hot ,the staff warm and friendly, the whole trip was a" cool" time ..

Room Tip: If you plan to stay for more than a weekend break , 2 rooms are like small apartments , you could ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this beautifully renovated Riad. The accommodation is stylish, clean and comfortable, the breakfast (served on the roof) is just right. But what really sets this little place apart is the service. Not only did they take care of us during the day (guiding us around the souks and the sights) but also arranged tables for us at some of the best restaurants in Marrakech and the best new bars and clubs too. They even arranged a pummeling at a very good hammam! Moreover, they always took great care to make sure we found our way there and back wherever we wanted to go - which is a big plus in a confusing city. This is the sort of attention you normally only get from concierges at the plushest hotels - here it's all part of the service at a little Riad on a tiny side street in the medina. What more could you wish for?  If you're new to Marrakech (as I was) and want to mix the lux with some of the authentic old medina experience, you really can't go wrong with this place.  I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed at the Riad Asrari for 4 nights, end of November to beginning of December. The hotel was a delight, the scent of cinnamon wafted out when the outside door opened into the little reception area. From there, the central covered courtyard was filled with orange trees and a little fountain - there is even a pet tortoise! All the rooms are individually furnished with Morrocan antiques and curios - our room had brightly coloured little masks on the wall and a shower shaped like a little tent. The bed was extremely comfortable, so much so that a late afternoon 'doze' ended up as an early night! This place is extremely clean and welcoming. Breakfasts are served in a romantic Bedouin tent up on the roof by Adil, pronounced 'Adgie', who was so sweet and helpful in recommending where to eat. The breakfasts themselves consist of little pancakes served with honey and jams, home made yogurt, and a selection of morrocan cakes and pastries. This place was a delight to come back to after a day of hustle and bustle in the souks or sightseeing. Perfect for couples!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Asrari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Asrari

Address: 42 Derb Derdouba, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina, in the area of Bab Doukkala, easy to reach by car or a ten minute walk from the JEMAA el FNA Square and beautifull Majorelle Gardens, this 17th century Riad has been restored with full respect to the Moroccan tradition, keeping its original characteristics: a patio shaded by trees, the coolness of its very old marble fountain, peaceful living-rooms and a beautifully planted terrace where you can enjoy the Sunset and the view of the Medina... The RIAD ASRARI is a traditional riad with wonderful moroccan craftsmanship such as sculpted plaster ceilings, exquisitely carved Cedar doors, colorful tadelakts and zelliges skilfully composed of delicate oriental patterns. You will be welcomed with traditional pastries and Mint tea by our thoughtful and discreet staff. You will discover peaceful places to rest: the terrace and sun-beds, comfortable sofas and the kaidale tent under which you can have your breakfast. You can also relax, read and dream in our beautiful living rooms... On the patio, you will be enchanted by the magestic pace of our two tortoises as they follow their daily sunbathing ritual If you are patient enough you might also see our chameleon who plays hide and seek in the trees ! The furniture and decorative objects were procured during the owner's numerous travels, or were designed and made on site by Moroccan craftsmen. Many Primitive Art pieces are exhibited throughout the riad... All of these well considered elements have been combined for a perfect getaway. In the RIAD ASRARI, you can forget television and noisy pools...You will discover another Marrakech, in the heart of the Arabic Tradition: authentic and refined ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Asrari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Asrari Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Asrari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.