We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzy French” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Studio

Restaurant Le Studio
Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
05 24 43 37 00
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 554 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $21 - $43
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cambridge UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Buzzy French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Found this by recommendation from our riad.

It's very French, mostly expats, if you don't like the French way then don't bother.

If you do it's great, menu chalked up with all the usual suspects - mind you Tournedos at 125DH a bargain. Wine list was interesting red? Moroccan or French - that was the choice had the Moroccan - it was very good.

Service was fine, owner came over to say hi and most folks seemed to know each other - just like a provincial French restaurant.

Lots of smoking - like it or hate it.

So if you are a francophile and need a fix while you are in Morocco go - it's great. Lots of style chatter and quality food at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    66
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Smokey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are French, love to smoke and enjoy poor service then this is the restaurant for you. Sorry, this is the first bad review I have written for Trip Advisor but I had such a bad experience. The one thing in its favour is that the food is reasonable good. Besides that, as non-smokers, we were gasping for fresh air when we got out and our clothes and hair stank. As I say, if you are French you would probably enjoy it but for those of us used to dining in smoke free environments give it a miss.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very, very French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

On the night we dined at Le Studio we were the only non-French there. The clientele consisted of French ex-pats but despite being tourists the atmosphere towards us was cordial enough.

The food was good and the prices reasonable, the service was, well very French really. Efficient enough and the waitress did her best to explain the dishes to us in English despite limited language.

If air thick with cigarette smoke deters you from having a good time you may wish to give this a miss.

As a break from tagine and couscous this restaurant served us well and we would recommend but brush up on your French first.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Forget it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I would recommend to choose an other place if you look for a restaurant in Marrakech. The place is expensive, the food is just ok, the service is bad. On top of that the boss is not friendly and must learn what clients mean in any business. The Studio wants to be in and fashion but they have a lot to improve if they want people feel being in a good restaurant...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“avoid it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

posh wannabe & pricey. dishes may be served cold (er than should be). cigarette smoke may get irritating due to poor air conditioning. mediocre service & indifferent, in fact somewhat rude management. don't accept credit cards - appearently they've written this on some wall with chalk, in french, and expect you to spot it, read it, and be prepared with your cash.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Studio also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Le Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.