We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend if you are familiar with Marrakech and just need a bed for the night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Spa du Chameau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Spa du Chameau to your Saves list
Riad Spa du Chameau
57 derb Zemran Hart Soura, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #711 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“Recommend if you are familiar with Marrakech and just need a bed for the night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The beautiful riad is a tranquil hideaway from the bustle of the streets outside. Situated down some narrow alleys approx twenty mins from the square ( though aim
for two hours on first few attempts!). Unfortunately the ally's are filled day and night by quite aggressive children playing
football that spit and brandish sticks at you if you don't give them anything. Walk fast and just say hello was best way to avoid confrontation. Put any bags inside backpacks to avoid persistent demands if they know you have food. Navigation becomes easier the longer you stay and within a couple of days it became quicker getting home. Be warned that some signs to the square lead you the wrong way as do many not so helpful people that like to guide you the wrong way, usually past their tannery!!

Unfortunately when we arrived in the mosf square by the transfer taxi we were handed over to a man he hailed in the street. Without introduction we had no idea who he was until he unlocked the riad door!!! We were given lovely tea when arrived then left for a while. It became clear that there was a problem with the room we choose as toilet blocked so were offered another. Smaller but just as lovely and clean and beautifully furnished.

We barely saw the man again during our six day stay and as the riad was empty we had problems with basic questions such as booking trips, where we go for breakfast etc. There was little English but we got by in french. The main reason for the lower rating is this communication as the riad was a delight to stay in. The guy who led us to the Riad just seem to pop in a few times during the week and wouldn't talk unless prompted. It was surprising when we paid the bill to find he was the owner/manager as we presumed he was a staff member/friend looking after the place whilst owners away.

The lady cleaner/cook was lovely and served delicious breakfast on roof but she couldn't help with any questions. It became apparent that no one stayed there at night when a guest arrived at four in the morning and banged continually until the man came back in the morning to let him in.

The plunge pool was great to jump into after being in the hamam. Freezing but very refreshing!! Definitely worth it!

Unfortunately the jacuzzi needed a days notice to turn on as is an additional charge and then we were told, when we finally managed to book it, that it was broken so if you're looking for a spa riad this probably isn't the place to go to.

The man said unfortunately wifi wasn't working however I could get full wifi signal on my phone but he wouldn't give the password to use it. The computer in communal area didn't work. Wifi seems to mean a plug to connect to a computer rather than using a phone but the cyber park a few minutes walk from the main square was useful. A lot of cafe's displaying wifi signs don't have it. Tv in rooms don't work either not that you'd use them with so much to see and do in Marrakech. If you're planning a trip to the waterfall be prepared for 3-4 hour drive each way and say no to the tour so you can browse at leisure or you get rushed around and can only stop at places that the guide wants you too. It's a magnificent sight.

Overall the riad was an amazing place inside and would recommend the place if the hosts could be there to help you as this lack of communication let it down. The terrace is lovely, peaceful and quiet. It has the potential to be so much more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I were placed here after a double booking mixup with our other hotel. This Riad was about 15 min walk from the square and not terribly hard to find compared to some others in the Medina. Our room was clean and the bathroom fixtures looked very new. Our room also had heating and TV, which others did not. As is common, we were greeted with tea and cookies upon arrival, and the usual breakfast of crepes and bread was served on the terrace in the morning. I got the impression this place was more expensive than our original booking, considering the amenities, but I'm not sure how much of a premium the are charging for it.

A big downside for us was that nobody here spoke a lick of English, and we only knew a few words in French. Communication was very difficult, and as a result could not arrange for an airport taxi. Also, we were quoted our room tax in Euros, which seemed odd because it came out to be more than the other Riad we stayed at in Marrakech (It came out to 55DH/night as opposed to the 34DH/night for the other riad). It may just vary depending on Riad.

Still, this was a very nice accommodation in terms of decor and beauty.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our recent stay at the Spa du Chameau didn't get off to the best start with a taxi pre arranged by them failing to collect us upon arrival at the airport. Not a problem we thought and took one ourselves, only to be hassled by the driver on arrival at Moukef Place for more money than we had agreed on and then we were led to the riad by teenage boys who became threatening when the money we offered them apparently wasn't enough!

Once we were in the door Cham, the assistant manager dealt with the teenagers, then offered us a choice of room (as we were the only guests staying there at that time). He then made us some mint tea, served with some delicious Moroccan sweet treats. It was much appreciated.

As we were still quite shaken by our earlier experience, he then most kindly took us into the Square so we could get some dinner. As other reviewers have said, the riad is about a ten minute walk from the main square and the closer to the riad you get, the more confusing and quiet the lanes and alleyways become. However, by the end of our 3 night stay we were navigating them with ease and enjoyed passing a little group of young children, not far from the riad, out playing football at all hours of the day and night.

The riad was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. The beds were comfortable and we slept well.The roof terrace is just so relaxing and we even managed to see the Atlas Mountains from it on the last morning as the smog that day was not so bad. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a highlight and the breakfast for two was both delicious and enormous! Thankyou Noelle.

Cham proved to be a helpful but unobtrusive host and upon our return after each outing would make us the mint tea, which we really came to enjoy. There is wifi at the riad, however we did have problems accessing it. Not a problem though, as a trip to the roof terrace enabled us to pick up wifi from elsewhere.

We paid a good rate for our stay as the room was booked through Laterooms. Overall, I would recommend the Spa du Chameau to you. It is a quality property at a good price and a quiet retreat from the noise and chaos of the central square.

We hope to visit again one day!

Room Tip: We had the Ruby Room, a twin with airconditioning and a traditional bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This riad has been very nicely designed and furnished, it feels quite fresh. However, it is a confusing 10-15 min walk to the main square, a walk I would not do alone late at night.

They may need to upgrade their hot water infrastructure also. We arrived (cold and filthy) to find that our spectacular looking bathroom only delivered luke warm water. I suspect the fellow who was on duty was not the regular owner, and he did his best to try and rectify the problem (to no avail). The other chap in the morning suggested it might have been because they had 4 other guests staying that night - an excuse that might wash in a riad charging half the price of this one.

The lady who served the breakfast was very nice and the food was good.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I have recently stayed at Riad Spa Du Chameau and enjoyed it very much.

The Riad itself is done to a hight standard and the place was always spotlessly clean.The Riad is fairly new hence the reason for so little reviews but you can rest assure it is excellent accommodation and great value for money.

The staff speak little English but were happy to help anyway they could. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and consisted of pastries, pancake, bread, orange juice and coffee.I think this is standard across Riads.

The location is in the heart of the Medina and down a some small ally ways.It may be a little daunting for single travellers as the closer to the Riad the small and quieter the allys.A map is however provided by the Riad, failing that a local will always offer to guide you through the maze but expect to pay them.

The Riad itself is a 15 minute walk to the main sq or a 3minute walk to moukef place where you can catch a taxi.

All in all if you are looking for a Riad in the centre of the Medina and want to see a little of how the locals really live I can't recommend this Riad enough.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in mid-October 2011. It is a beautifully laid-out, clean and very comfortable Riad. The rooms have air conditioning which is a big plus and the beds/baths are huge which is a good thing because I am huge ! The staff were helpful, the breakfasts good and the place peaceful. It's a circa 15 minute walk through a proper Moroccan souk until you reach the tourist souks and the main square. The Riad provided us with a basic map which we managed to follow to get there and back. Would more-than-likely stay here again if I come back to the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Excellent stay, spotless throughout, beautifully decorated Moroccan theme rooms with a massive bed, maybe even bigger than kingsize! The roof top terrace is just as in the pictures online, really beautiful.

We stayed in 5 different riads on out trip and this one had one of the best breakfasts we had including freshly squeezed orange juice. In fact it was one of the best riads we stayed in overall.

The service was brilliant, we were welcomed with a mint tea and offered regular mint teas throughout our stay. Initially we got ripped off by some people on the street on the way to the hostel who wanted a lot of money for walking us 3 streets to find the riad, but once we got in the manager of the riad (Ejam) went out and sorted it for us. We had room service every day and (much to our embarrassment) all our clothes neatly folded.

The riad was in the old medina about 15 minute walk from the central square. It was really quiet and relaxing which was really needed after the hustle and bustle of the city, i would not want to be too much closer to the main square. We ended up getting very lost the first few times walking to the square as the streets are like a maze, but when we told the manager he gave us his mobile number and said to call him if we were lost (which we did at about midnight one night after wandering for a good hour) and he walked out to come and find us. He even drew us a really detailed hand drawn map to help and after a few walks to and from the square we eventually got to know the way. Tip for directions...dont use shops as landmarks as they totally close at night!

We didn't use the all spa facilities as it was too hot, but they looked really clean the plunge pool was also very clean and very refreshing.

Overall it was a brilliant stay, we were totally looked after throughout our whole stay, really clean, beautiful decor, excellent breakfast and the manager (Ejam) could not have done more to help us! We would defiantly come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms...both of similar very high standard, both had excellent air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Spa du Chameau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Spa du Chameau

Address: 57 derb Zemran Hart Soura, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #711 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This ancient riad has been restored in full respect of tradition. At the swimming pool you can stay listening the song of birds, in the Moroccan sitting-room or enjoying a massage and a jacuzzi. On the terrace you could order and taste delicious moroccan food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Spa du Chameau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Spa du Chameau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.