We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noos Noos

Save Saved
You added Riad Noos Noos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Noos Noos
Pension de Famille, 8 Derb Jemaa Lakbir | Quartier Hay Essalam, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHT OFFERED
Ranked #22 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was the first riad we stayed at while in Marrakech. First off, the owner (Laurent) and the rest of the staff (Jacque and his wife Myriam) were fantastic! They were very attentive and went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great time in Marrakech (even to the extent that they walked us to the main square so we knew our way and negotiated with taxi drivers to ensure we weren't paying too much!)

Be sure to order dinner while you're there... it's fantastic! Just make sure to let them know ahead of time so they can shop for fresh ingredients during the day!

As for the rooms, they are all awesome and the decor around the entire riad is beautiful!
Thanks to the staff for a great time!

Room Tip: The rooms all looked nice! Ours was upstairs on the rooftop terrace (#9 i believe) and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riad n, Propriétaire at Riad Noos Noos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your sympathy, it is true that the market is close to the Riad and its fruits, vegetables, fish and meat are fresh. When we give our cooking lesson with our chief cook Fatima, we'll do the shopping together to visit the market, and it is the opportunity to make good pictures, then the proper marketing and then the best time : we eat what we have to buy and prepare. It is a very warm moment of conviviality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    31
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
199
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I had planned to come to Marrakech for four days and then head to Barcelona for a wedding. Unfortunately, his passport was held back in the UK due to a visa renewal and I had to make the trip out to Marrakech on my own. I was a little worried at first because I was a woman travelling by herself in an old fashioned place but Laurent quickly allayed my fears.

The riad itself is beautiful and is situated a ten minute walk from Djemaa Al Fna, which is the beating heart of Marrakech. You have to walk through the spice souk to get to the riad and it's a scenic and interesting little jaunt.

Laurent is the host and was incredibly warm, thoughtful, hospitable and helpful. He was always helpful when I had questions about where to go and what to do. I had a wonderful trip and the riad and Laurent's graciousness helped a great deal. The room was beautiful and felt like an oasis after a long day of sight seeing. I would highly recommend staying at this Riad and I will definitely stay here again when I come back.

Tip: If you like photography you should definitely check out the Maison de la Photographie. You will be able to find out the history of some of the photographs hanging in the riad. Thoroughly fascinating!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not the closest to the mosque as the early morning prayer calls might wake you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riad n, Propriétaire at Riad Noos Noos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion, I just tried to make things easier for you and if I succeeded, I am well pleased. The Riad is fully available to our guests and if they need to be accompanied, we are here also to it. We had a very good time in your company and you'll always be welcome as soon as you decide to redo a round in Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived by train, then taxi; since owner Laurant emailed that they had been having problems sending their driver to the train station. Just be aware that taxis do not use a meter, you have to bargain for a fair price. Used my GPS to navigate to the hotel along narrow alleys, about 5 minute walk from where the taxi let us off at Palais Bahia.
It is a beautiful restored and well cared-for building with only 9 rooms. Our room was on the top floor, and opened onto the roof-top terrace. Breakfast was on the terrace each morning, with fresh breads, yogurt, juice, coffee/tea, eggs cooked to order.
There is a large common area on the ground floor with library (mostly French), computer, fireplace, bar, eating area. There is a small mosque next door, but the calls to prayer are not too loud. A large bird (crane?) has set up a big nest at the top of the mineret, but we only saw it twice.
Laurent, Jacques, and the other staff are friendly and very helpful. They helped with dinner reservations and directions; even took us to the spice market next door to find a small purchase we needed.

Room Tip: Two rooms on the roof-top terrace, if you don't mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riad n, Propriétaire at Riad Noos Noos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Here is a beautiful description of the Riad, which can be used for other guests who decide to come to see us here in Marrakech. Thank you for your positive opinion on our service. Often our guests need to go shopping in the souks to report gifts to their families or friends, and Myriam who love well knows shopping stores, prices and qualities, it may serve to those who hesitate and dare not choose their gifts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have just returned from 4 fantastic days in Marrakech, made perfect by staying in this beautiful Riad which surpassed our every expectation. About 5 minutes after we made the booking, we received an email from Laurant the owners asking us for our flight details (as they'd be picking us up from the airport), and would we like to order some dinner as we were arriving late. Every email after that was answered very promptly, and everything was "not a problem".
This is a well placed riad from which we did almost everything on our huge to do list without coming home exhausted.
We took our breakfast and sunbathed on the roof terrace which was luxurious with sunbeds, towels, straw hats written "Riad Noos Noos"and magazines. The view was amazing with rooftops and satelite dishes, minarets and in the distance the Atlas mountains.
Coming back after the heat, traffic and souks to this Riad was truly welcoming – a tranquil and serene place in the middle of the medina, which made it very hard for you to leave at times as you had everything you needed there.
I would wholeheartedly recommend this Riad, don't be put off by the relatively low pricing... this place is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riad n, Propriétaire at Riad Noos Noos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We prefer to prevent our guests that the taxis from the airport slightly exaggerate their price for tourists and are not exactly accompanying you to the Riad, they stop outside the Spice souk because then the streets are pedestrian. It is best to book a transfer and that someone from our team come to your meeting to accompany you. In regard to trips organise us excursions from the Riad with back to the Riad for a day. If you want to go to Essaouira for example by private car, it is a trip with a taxi and of course it is a bit expensive. I hope that despite the small concern for health of your wife you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Riad Noos Noos, Laurent and staff really made our stay in Morrocco unforgettable. They couldn't do enough for us from the minute we arrived to well after checking out. If you are wondering whether to have a meal with them on arrival, do it. The food was fantastic with a log fire burning away in the corner (yes, it was a tad chilly at night). However, breakfast was taken each morning on the terrace in glorious sunshine. The accommodation is relaxed and traditional - so much nicer than a rambling soulless hotel. They gave great advice on what was available, what was worth seeing and places to avoid. Our tips, try the seafood restaurant in the new town,eat at Noos Noos at least once and don't give up if you think you are lost in the souk! As for the mosque next door, its Africa not Cheltenham so you may hear the call to prayer but don't let it put you off. Great, great place!

Room Tip: Any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riad n, Propriétaire at Riad Noos Noos, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Google Translation
Les vacances doivent se passer sans accrocs ou recherches inutiles, on essaie de vous éviter de perdre du temps. Si vous voulez manger du poisson au pied de l'atlas à Marrakech, il y a, si vous voulez manger des crêpes, il y a, si vous voulez manger typiquement marocain, il y a, il suffit de demander, nous sommes là pour partager nos connaissances.
Nous organisons aussi les hammams, massages et excursions.
Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un bon moment et de le faire savoir c'est vraiment très sympa de votre part. La porte est ouverte pour un prochain séjour parmi nous et merci encore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights, and as others have said it was an oasis in the middle of what is a crazy mad city!
We arranged a taxi collection from the airport through Laurent and were met at the Palais Bada by his manager Jacques and thank goodness he did. The place is impossible to find if you try alone. It was a 10 minute walk through some very narrow streets although Jacques ensured each turn was highlighted with some indication for us to note when we were out by ourselves. We were served mint tea and pasties and given a tour of the Riad and after we unpacked, Jacques wife accompanied up to a local cafe they recommend for us to get some lunch.
Jacques, his wife & all the staff could not do enough for you. Ate here the first night & had a fabulous meal - moroccon soup, tagine of meatballs & vegetables and dessert for 15 euros was very good value.
Ate out at a recommended restaurant the 2nd night & Jacques walked us to the taxi rank (even though we knew the way) to ensure we were not ripped off with the price!
The room we stayed in (No.6) was beautifully decorated & laid out but you need to be prepared for the lack of privacy - only a curtain seperates the bedroom from the toilet.
Breakfast was on the roof terrace & was a lovely spot to enjoy a very well presented & served breakfast - omelettes, crepes, yoghurts, cheese, bread etc.
My wife was ill our last evening & although we had booked & paid for the bus to travel to Essaouria, we decided to take a taxi which Laurent arranged. It was expensive but necessary.
I would definately recommend this place & would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riad n, Propriétaire at Riad Noos Noos, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
That we are pleased that you enjoyed our home, which for us is natural.

We understand that when you come to a European country, the Morocco can seem confusing. Habits and the culture are very different. Need a little guide our guests at the beginning of the stay. I think that you are well accustomed after a few days. Unfortunately your wife has been ill the past few days and you could join Essaouira taxi to still enjoy the Morocco and its charms. Thank you for your opinion on our home and our establishment it is warm in the heart of having you fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Wow….honestly wow. I cannot say enough about Riad Noos Noos. It was stunning and I can see how much effort, love, money and time went into creating such a sunctuary. The owner Laurent was really welcoming and his manager Jacque was the most attentive and helpful person I have ever come across. Although I couldn’t communicate with the rest of the staff they tried their best to accommodate our needs. They were all really nice decent people and we felt truly blessed to have stayed in such a beautiful riad. It was surprisingly quiet inside as it was set away from the hustle and bustle of the medina. It had an air or mystique to the place that I can’t quite put my finger on it. I believe it probably comes from the exquisite taste in furnishing and decorations.

We were given the twin room which was very spacious and fully equipped with fan and AC but sSince it was a quiet week we were given a full tour of the riad room by room. If you can afford it and it is available I highly recommend one of the suites. They are beautifully presented. A lot of work went into creating those rooms. If you prefer your privacy then perhaps a double room on the terrace would be good too.

After knowing how much effort they put into every details we decided to come back for dinner one evening and it was by far the best meal we had in Marrakesh. It tasted completely fresh, homemade and very authentic. We fell in love with Noos Noos and there is nothing bad I can say about this riad. Impeccable service and surroundings.

Room Tip: Stretch your budget for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent G, Propriétaire at Riad Noos Noos, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
thank you very much for your lovely review, and we are so glad you've enjoyed your staying at Riad Noos Noos.
on behalf of all our staff (Fatima, Khadija, Jamila and Si Mo), and the newcomers Jacques and Myriam, I thank you very much at look forward to seeing you again at Marrakesh if you ever come by.
wish you all the best
sincerely yours
laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Noos Noos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noos Noos

Address: Pension de Famille, 8 Derb Jemaa Lakbir | Quartier Hay Essalam, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Jewish quarter, the riad has 9 beautiful air-conditioned rooms with 2 patios and a large garden terrace overlooking Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains. Spacious and refurbished in traditional Islamic architecture spirit, the riad also offers many activities (hammam, jacuzzi, sauna, massage, billiard room, library, games, Moroccan cooking classes). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Noos Noos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noos Noos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.