We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly expectations werent met” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Premices

Les Premices
place Jamaa fnaa | marrakech menara, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
05 24 39 19 70
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #334 of 507 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: African, Albanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sadly expectations werent met”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

After reading the reviews on here we had high hopes of a break from the normal Morroccan fair and in one respect it did meet those expectations - the food was pretty bland.

Ok we only had pizzas but they lacked any real flavour at all and no amount of added pepper (the salt had managed to become a solid mass, which was an achievement given the 41 degree dry heat) helped the situation.

The view of the square is pretty good and the staff attentive but to be honest for a meal with a bit of taste we would have been better off over the square at KFC.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

41% Recommend
    14
    41
    32
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eddieCambridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good view, very reasonable, big selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I can't understand the bad reviews of this place. We had breakfast and lunch here - great views over the square and very reasonable prices with a big selection of food. Breakfast was excellent and the pizzas at lunchtime were also good. I would recommend it to any visitor - much better than most of the tourist traps on the main square.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value with views of the square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

This is an inexpensive restaurant in a good location, with views over the square. The food is better than in many more expensive places, we have tried a variety of tagines, couscous, pizzas and omelettes and have enjoyed them all. One of the better restaurants on Djemaa al Fna.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great price, great location, this place has it all!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

This place has something for everyone! We've been here 5 times in ten days now and plan one last visit before we leave on Wednesday! The food is great and the prices are minimal! Our favourite is the lamb tagine with which we've tended to order a side of veg to go with it! We've also tried the chicken tagine (flavoured with lemon), stone baked pizza (we had margarita) beef and chicken kebabs (served with chips), and the cous cous with mixed meat. Everything we've had here so far has been very tasty and we would highly reccomend it to anyone looking for a nice meal out on a budget! All the above meals are priced at roughly £5 and our highest bill has been £23 which was for 4 mains and drinks (large water and 2 cokes) hope this is helpful to anyone looking for a good restaurant which won't disturb the stomach!

Jonny and rach

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unsung hero in Jemaa el Fna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Looking for a review of this place in Trip Advisor I was surprised that nobody had yet written one! It's a great restaurant for the money, set in a quiet corner of Jemaa el Fna with a relaxed atmosphere and perfect for watching the madness going on beyond. The tagines are great value and very tasty - usually we would have a beef or chicken tagine each with a side of cous cous and vegetables to share, with a drink each for less than fifteen pounds in total! Late at night or during particularly busy periods the service wasn't perfect but generally good and the food was consistent

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Premices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Premices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Premices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.