We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel hidden in the middle of nowhere. Children will love it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club to your Saves list
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A good hotel hidden in the middle of nowhere. Children will love it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Upon arrival, it seemed leaving the hotel would be an effort and a half, as it was protected by two gatekeepers and metal gates and was also at least 22 kilometres from Marrakech city centre. Reception staff were ok, but most of the other staff were polite and helpful. A few were grumpy, for example the person who walked around making me feel uncomfortable, scowled at me and gave me the final dirty plastic beaker over all the glass glasses double the size. The restaurant was very canteeny, outdoor seats were better. Wide variety of ok food, quite nice. Food eventaully gets very boring though. The room service were very forgetful, we had to go to reception for bath towels and pillows, but they were good at tidying. Outdated decor in rooms but luckily they were spacious and clean. The hotel itself never felt crowded. Noisy, when it comes to sound it was not private, and nor were the ground floor rooms. In the water park, however, the kids will all love the water slides, even the little ones. It was very loud and lively, but that's part of the fun! The hotel lives up to its name, and there's a little fun for everyone, on the water slides, the kids club, the pools, the mini disco, the bars or the mini golf. Worth the money, however, staying for anything more than three nights is too long and puts you off.

Room Tip: A first floor room is more private. Rooms 4101-4105 and 4201-4205 have the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    464
    186
    96
    114
See reviews for
640
284
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We booked early and got a good price for an all inclusive basis with the waterpark included. After reading the reviews on here our expectations weren't high, but we spent a very happy three nights here, although I probably wouldn't have wanted to stay too much longer. Staff were generally friendly and the hotel let us check in slightly early without charging extra which was a lovely touch. Its very much a holiday camp atmosphere here, which is great if you are traveling as a family. It doesn't have any of the finesse of a good four star hotel but have given it four stars for the good facilities instead.

Positives
-great waterpark-all rides included and all were open at some point during our stay.
-quiet pools available for those that didn't want loud music-I spent most of my time by the relaxation pool.
-plentiful supply of satisfactory and good food and drink
-pleasant staff-especially the animation team-but we found all staff to be helpful and had no problems getting served (woman serving lunchtime wine was a bit surly)
-all day animation programme
-shuttle available into city centre
-well tended outdoor area with very clean pools, patios and sun loungers. Staff could be seen to be cleaning all hours of the day and the pools seemed very clean.
-All staff made a big effort to speak English-far more so than in other Morocco hotels than I have stayed. Entertainment team used several languages and the kids club had a range of songs from several nationalities which we appreciated.
-there were always sun loungers available so no need to reserve at the crack of dawn (although people still did!)

negatives
-food presented like school dinners and badly arranged-
-restaurant didn't always feel clean with tables and placemats not wiped and crumbs or food over chair cushions-this was even at the beginning of a meal session
-drinks served in plastic beakers-even in the evening
-room very shabby - but well equipped with fridge,hairdryer, tv etc
-entertainment programme would become dull after a few days but good for a short stay

there are definitely better hotels available in Marrakech however when you consider the price paid, this definitely offered good value for money.

Room Tip: We were in the block near the relaxation pool at the front of the hotel which we liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Don't get the bad reviews! after experience a very good holiday this complex ticked all the boxes and will probably return in years to come. The day time entertainment was slightly better than the evening but wow the entertainment team have a wide range of talents. The fire show was the best I have ever seen! All the positives reviews are absolutely spot on so I am not going to repeat them. I would say that it is more for family's than couples but with the complex being spacious you can have some quite time. All the staff from the lifeguards to waiters etc.. were friendly and greeted you with a smile if not able to speak much English and it was coming to the end of there Ramadan! They are all very hard workers which makes the running of the hotel very smooth. A special mention to the First Choice holiday rep Amine whom attended the hotel on a daily basis and was very helpful and knowledgeable. Good mix of guests not to many of one country in one place even I don't want to be around to many Brit's. No cockroaches and no sign of mosquitoes a lot of wasps but you get them in your local park! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in C block pool view noise level stopped at midnight but you can sleep through it if you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Myself, partner and 11 yr old son stayed here for 9 nights this summer holiday. The hotel is very clean, well staffed and so big it never feels crowded.. In fact we often had the 'relaxation' pool to ourselves. The aqua park is pretty awesome with loads and loads of slides that range from toddler size to adult thrill slides!! Some mornings we also had this to ourselves and you were never queuing for long if at all for any. Our room was good, fresh towels daily and bedding if requested but the maids usually popped in and tidied up for us which was a lovely touch. Reception was efficient and friendly. I made several requests for a wake up call and for a kettle for the room and this was felt with promptly. The hotel is a way from the city so make use of the shuttle or pm me as we found a great driver and a lovely air conditioned mini bus to hire privately and quite cheaply and I can share details. Food here was good, a little repetitive after a week but good. There was always some bar or place open so you never went hungry. All in all we all had a great time here and I don't understand the bad reviews, great value for money and fun!!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our Family spent ten nights at the Aqua Fun Club - returning last week.
Despite a mess up by the hotel on our booking (we had booked and PAID for 2 rooms but ended up in one Family room with a put-you-up for my Son - not ideal having 5 of us sharing one bathroom - felt I had been ripped off despite the staff stating that it was an upgrade - more like a compromised down-grade!!!!)
The Hotel and guest rooms were very clean - grounds were clean and tidy - the staff work ridiculously long hours in unbearable heat and were always around gardening or cleaning up. My Youngest and I had an traumatic ride on one of the fun park slides on the first day (DONT go on the slides where there is only a mat!!) which left my Son with a bruised and grazed elbow and leg, and me with a deep cut to my knee and a very dodgy and painful shoulder and hip which sadly led to sleepless nights because of the pain.
The resort is in the middle of nowhere so nowhere to go off for a walk and felt that the excursions were a bit dull sounding and also very expensive compared to other places where we have been on holiday, although Camel rides are available for 150dhm for 45 mins - just over the road from the resort - no need to pay for the excursion to get a camel ride.
The food at the resort was very good - different restaurants to choose from and even my fussy kids always found something to eat (usually in the Italian).
Pools were clean and never over-crowded - one negative is that they are only open until 6 - which we tended to drag on until 7 when we would be ordered out - they should address that as it was far too early considering that the evening 'entertainment' didn't really kick off until almost 10pm so there was a lot of sitting around in the evening - thankfully we took cards with us to play.
The Entertainment staff were very friendly - always happy to have a chat, although our main gripe was that the films for the kids on all but one night were in French and that most of the entertainment for the children was in French which excluded most of the English families staying at the time.

Free shuttle into Marrakech, but despite being warned we got lost in the back streets of Marrakech and got 'mis-guided' by a local who basically dumped us in the middle of nowhere after we refused to give him ten euros!!!!

Overall it was a good relaxing holiday, although the location is not ideal as you cannot go anywhere outside of the resort without paying for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We took our little boy here after reading all the bad reviews thought would c it for ourselves. Hotel was very clean,staff very friendly and love children. Family room was nice and very big had dividing doors between the 2 rooms which is good. Food was good but not much choice for children so my little boy daint eat very much. Would definently go back to hotel just not keen on where it is. Would recommend it to any family !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Having read some really bad reviews I was apprehensive about this hotel, but I needn't have worried. The complex is lovely, with the High Atlas Mountains in the distance and a constant breeze which made the 40 degree temperatures manageable. There were a number of pools which never felt overcrowded plus the water park which although small, was enjoyed equally by my 11 and 16 yr olds. The hotel grounds were kept clean and tidy with gardeners working daily. The rooms were serviced daily and we were never short of towels. This was my first stay at an all inclusive so I have nothing to compare it with, but there was a good choice of food, all cooked to a reasonable standard and well presented. There was always plenty to eat and a good choice of (branded) soft drinks and (non-branded) alcoholic drinks. I personally found the staff polite and helpful, if a little reserved at times, although I had no issue with this. The animation team were endlessly enthusiastic and organised pool activities every day and provided the evening entertainment. A slight criticism would be the evening entertainment which would have benefited from bringing in acts rather than relying solely on the animation team, however, plenty of people enjoyed it and it was suitable for the family audience. The entertainment was quite noisy (we had a poolside room) but always quiet by midnight.
The hotel provides a free shuttle bus which enables you to spend 2 or 3 hours at a time in Marrakech itself. It does get booked up so you need to plan ahead, but the journey is only about 30 mins and it drops you off right in the centre. To be honest, in the July heat, 3 hours is probably a reasonable amount of time anyway. The latest return bus is 7pm but you can easily get a grand taxi back - we agreed the price first - just 200 MAD (about £14) for a Saturday evening which wasn't bad for the 18km trip - it's even cheaper during the day. A special mention for the First Choice rep, Amine, from whom we received a really friendly greeting at the airport. He was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and when my son became very ill (not hotel related) he was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are noisier in the evenings, but only until midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Address: 18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#115 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 18 km from Marrakech, the Aqua Fun Club covers an area of 8 hectares with the largest water park in Morocco, with no less than 57 slides, ideal for your holidays with family or friends. Aqua Fun Club has 262 comfortable and well equipped rooms, including 107 family rooms, 149 standard rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 royal suite. They are all air conditioned and include a seating area with a private balcony overlooking the pool or garden, and feature a mini-bar, safe-box, phone, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are equipped with shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. The Aqua Fun Club offers varied dining options served in different restaurants: the Asiatique, the Mediterranean, the Pizza Pino and the Tajine. You can also have a drink in the hotel bars or enjoy the private nightclub. The hotel also features several amenities, including a spa, a tennis court, mini football, mini golf, a children's club, free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service. The Aqua Park offers several varieties: Slides, water tracks, wave pool, water tree, children's wading pool, whirlpools and many other surprises .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.