We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel x” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club to your Saves list
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family hotel x”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We took our little boy here after reading all the bad reviews thought would c it for ourselves. Hotel was very clean,staff very friendly and love children. Family room was nice and very big had dividing doors between the 2 rooms which is good. Food was good but not much choice for children so my little boy daint eat very much. Would definently go back to hotel just not keen on where it is. Would recommend it to any family !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    564
    223
    121
    128
See reviews for
832
342
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Having read some really bad reviews I was apprehensive about this hotel, but I needn't have worried. The complex is lovely, with the High Atlas Mountains in the distance and a constant breeze which made the 40 degree temperatures manageable. There were a number of pools which never felt overcrowded plus the water park which although small, was enjoyed equally by my 11 and 16 yr olds. The hotel grounds were kept clean and tidy with gardeners working daily. The rooms were serviced daily and we were never short of towels. This was my first stay at an all inclusive so I have nothing to compare it with, but there was a good choice of food, all cooked to a reasonable standard and well presented. There was always plenty to eat and a good choice of (branded) soft drinks and (non-branded) alcoholic drinks. I personally found the staff polite and helpful, if a little reserved at times, although I had no issue with this. The animation team were endlessly enthusiastic and organised pool activities every day and provided the evening entertainment. A slight criticism would be the evening entertainment which would have benefited from bringing in acts rather than relying solely on the animation team, however, plenty of people enjoyed it and it was suitable for the family audience. The entertainment was quite noisy (we had a poolside room) but always quiet by midnight.
The hotel provides a free shuttle bus which enables you to spend 2 or 3 hours at a time in Marrakech itself. It does get booked up so you need to plan ahead, but the journey is only about 30 mins and it drops you off right in the centre. To be honest, in the July heat, 3 hours is probably a reasonable amount of time anyway. The latest return bus is 7pm but you can easily get a grand taxi back - we agreed the price first - just 200 MAD (about £14) for a Saturday evening which wasn't bad for the 18km trip - it's even cheaper during the day. A special mention for the First Choice rep, Amine, from whom we received a really friendly greeting at the airport. He was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and when my son became very ill (not hotel related) he was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are noisier in the evenings, but only until midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Food great, complex is very well laid out, good quality sun beds curtained gazebo beds, 17 pools, slides and lazy river great. The animation team friendly and got all involved.
Rooms clean tidy very nice bathrooms. Nothing outside complex. Marrekesh is 20 mins away worth a trip..
Only complaint was we arranged to have some photos taken , dress up nicely he failed to come.
Recommend to families

Rachel Richie and chris . 1 week from 23rd July. Arranging to go back as soon as possible

Room Tip: Block c in the centre of complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORA-Guest-Relation, Responsable relations clients at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear MINNIE 148,
SURREY
First of all we thank you for your continuous support & loyalty towards the Aqua Fun.
We are very delighted to know that we were able to meet all your expectaions and you were satisfied by all the prestations provided by our resort .
Our senior management is so happy that your experience was a big success and you enjoyed the level of the customer service provided by our team with whom i shared your feed back and were so pleased with .
Once again we owe you over lasting gratitude for the big trust you placed us in and thank you for recommending our product .
We look forward to welcome you in the near future once you are in Marrakech.


Warm Regards.

Nora Errahili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Based on previous trips to 5* hotels I agree that this shouldn't be listed as a 5* hotel, having said that 4* is not pushing it at all. The grounds and rooms were extremely clean, the huge number of pools and kids pools meant no pool was overly busy, plenty of sun beds for all, larger range of food all cooked well, lots of activities throughout the day and free wifi in rooms and poolside. It was great to be staying in a water park and kept us rather busy during the day but was a shame that the slides shut as early as they did given you could stay out in the heat and sunshine until well past 7pm.
The only thing that was at all disappointing were that the staff weren't particularly friendly and helpful, having said this I must clarify, the entertainment staff were exactly what you find of entertainment staff in all hotels trying to rally people for the activities. It was the reception and catering staff we found to be unhelpful and a in some instances rather rude.
Getting in and out of town is a fairly expensive cab ride, however if you're looking for a family hotel with lots to entertain kids and like to stay in the resort then this would be a great holiday for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is anything but 5 star.

Not sure how it gets 5 stars...agree with a previous review about the service being the main let down. The gardens are well taken care of here but the food and cleanliness standards as well as the service could be drastically improved.

We just returned from our week in Aqua Fun - it is not even a 4 star establishment unfortunately....I have visited 3 or four all inclusives in the last two years so can compare it's competitors.

We received appalling customer service on arrival - we arrived late at night with children. No welcome to the hotel, no smiles, no warmth. When I mentioned to the reception staff that they had not smiled or greeted us with any warmth they told me “we dont need to smile if our smile is in our hearts”. Family late at night with small tired children in a foreign country. 5 star hotel. No smiles or warmth or understanding of our needs.

I had emailed the hotel a week before our trip ensuring they knew we had a baby and would require a cot and a quiet room. I received a reply confirming they had many quiet rooms available for us and "if" we had a baby they would provide a cot.

The first room we were taken to was facing the entertainment. When my husband informed the reception staff that baby sleeps early so we needed quiet surroundings he was assured all the entertainment finished at 130am so it would be fine for the baby.

It didn’t seem like anyone was listening to our requests. This I remind you again is a 5 star rated hotel. We are still waiting for a room to put our bags in and our baby and small child to bed in - it is approaching midnight.

We are then given the room opposite the first room we were offered. It smells a bit strange but because we are tired and want to put the kids to bed we remain for ten minutes, expecting someone to bring a cot as they had seen we had a baby as she was with us when we were checking in at reception. Baby is now awake and getting cranky. Meanwhile no cot. Baby getting crankier. We phone down to reception and the say someone is bringing it. Half an hour later we are still waiting. The cot was left by the lift on the ground floor by staff. Nobody had bothered to bring it up. This is a 5 star hotel?

My husband ended up seeing the cot on the way to reception at the ground floor by the lift at our block and dragged it up to the room himself as we just wanted to put our kids to bed. In addition to this the cot was old, wooden and if our baby stood up in it would have fallen out. It also could have given splinters. After we put the baby to bed and sorted our other child to bed we discovered the air conditioning was not working. It really smelt bad too.

I had to complain to reception face to face at this point as it was beyond a joke that this was supposed to be a 5 star hotel and no one had any decent manners or intelligence or communication skills to sort out getting a family a decent smelling room with air conditioning that worked - a room that they had paid for - a room they had been sold. I was assured by members of staff that it would get sorted as soon as possible. They could not offer us anything else apart from the same type of room on the ground floor facing a wall at that point in time. We were assured it would get sorted in the morning when more customers checked out.

Needless to say in the baking hot smelly room no one slept well.

We were eventually moved rooms by midday the next day (after three hours of sleep) to a better room in a quieter area. We were also given a better cot (one our baby would not fall out of) but the new one had a matress that as too small so we had to roll up our clothes and towels and wedge them in the gap so baby would not fall into the gap during sleep.

We were so shocked by the treatment on our arrival it soured the whole rest of the trip.

These were the other things that stood out for us.

The majority of staff were unfriendly (until we started complaining).

The variety and standard of food was below average.

If you wanted more than one portion of food the staff would be grumpy about you having it.
This is not the standard of service of a 5 star hotel.

Equipment supplied to us for the crazy golf was broken and dangerous.

The crazy golf was really old and cracked and broken.

The room cleaning service used old smelly mops that left the room smelling bad and they didnt have any type of hoover for the rugs - so crumbs would be left for days. When you have a baby crawling round thats the last thing you want! This is in a 5 star rated hotel.

The three restaurants is like one long big dining room not like three different restaurants. The same choices were presented every day in each one. It was all very predictable. Not very creative or enterprising. Best things were the tagines. Worst thing, over cooked bbq meat, no porridge/muesli choice at breakfast. Crepes cold at snack time.

For families whose children love ice cream. In this 5 star hotel you could only get ice cream at lunch time. And you had a choice of three flavours at the most and only in cups (no cones/sprinkles/sauces) you would be lucky to find a napkin. You would think at an all inclusive 5 star hotel they would have ice cream available for kids more than just at lunchtime.

Lunchtime was supposed to start at 1230. It was for three consecutive days that we were waiting in the restaurant with a hungry kid still at 1235 waiting for the staff infront of us (and a queue forming of other hungry customers) to actually put the pizza in the oven. This is not 5 star service.

On a few occasions I saw bugs in the pool, a plaster floating about, and an anonymous clump of hair.

The aqua park is ok but it is worn out and is in desperate need of refurbishment. The kids got stuck on some of the waterslides as they were dry and broken so the could not slide.

All in all the management of the hotel really need to sort this place out as it is not a 5 star hotel. The fault does not lie with the workers - more the management. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORA-Guest-Relation, Responsable relations clients at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear TM ,

First we would like to thank you for sharing with us your impressions regarding your last stay at the Aqua Fun .
We are deeply sorry to notice your dissatisfaction regarding some issues in the hotel .
All our sincerest apologises for any inconvenience your experienced and really not happy that the service was not as per your expectations .
All your valuable remarks are on the heart of our proccupations they are an added value to improve our quality of service in order to offer you the service you deserve.

Dear guest , your feed back is highly considerated regarding all the aspects mentioned and all the measures has been taken for the corrective actions .
We hope you will be giving us another opportunity to proove you how we care about our guests dissatisfactions and we promise once you will be visiting us you will receive the best treatment from the senior management.

Once again we look forward welcoming you and your familly and since the warmest greeting to you from Marrakesh.

Sincerely yours.

Nora Errahili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in June and it was even better than i expected. Very clean, great food, EVERYTHING was perfect.
The Animation team were amazing with great shows everynight and great entertainment throughout the day.
The kids club was perfect and our kids didnt want to leave at all, Nina and Yaya are the two girls in the mickey mouse club and all the kids love them. Nina and Yaya are two amazing girls with great hearts and are so much fun there is no way any child would be bored with them. Missssssiiiinn youuuuu Niiina xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have stayed in a few hotels before that haven't had the best reviews but i have thought they were great. Unfortunately i can't say the same this time- it was alright but for the price i expected (and have previously had much more). I can't really understand the glowing reviews- if you are used to really good AI resorts this place can only be a disappointment.

We stayed in July 2014 for 11 nights as a family of 9 with 3 rooms. On checking in not one of the 3 rooms was set up as we asked for it (with a double bed and an extra single) and it took a while to sort it out. We asked if we could change rooms and were told the hotel was full- which it blatantly was not. The rooms were ok and clean, have stayed in better at similar prices though.

The water park was amazing- best i have ever seen at a hotel with big variety of rides. On the downside parts of it are shut at varying times of the day and despite it being quite easy to put a board up which tells you when each part is open they leave you to work it out for yourself. Or fob you off and tell you that ride is open at 5pm. Then its not and your kids are disappointed. The waterpark is also available to paying day guests which means the bars/ food are not included. Not a huge problem but with kids who loved the slides we had to go back to the main bar every time we wanted a drink.

They advertise 4 restaurants which isn't quite the truth- 3 are joined together and are like a big long buffet and not what you could call 3 seperate restaurants (eg the Asian "restaurant" was a rice disg, a curry, a noodle dish and chapatis). The food became monotonous and although each meal was nice there just wasn't enough variety and i really missed the option of an a la carte restaurant. There were also times of the day when nothing was open (i missed breakfast and wanted an early lunch but it wasn't open til 12.30pm). The staff were a bit surly too- i'm going to put this down to Ramadan and them not eating/ drinking/ smoking but who knows?? In fact it was really the staff/ service who let this place down. Everything seemed like a hassle to them and we didn't feel very "looked after" like we did when we went to a similar hotel in Egypt last year. The only exception was Charaf the manager of the Italian restaurant who went out of his way to help us and remembered things we liked everyday and always had a big smile for everyone.

The adult drinks were good- nice wine/ spirits/ branded mixers but the kids drinks were awful- powdered fruit juice and day glo fanta. The bars were not open enough either at 5pm when lots of people are sitting in the shade with a drink the pool bar is closed and there is only one bar to the far side of the lobby open.

There was also a huge problem with wasps- they were everywhere and as soon as you got a drink they were buzzing around and loads of them. We made some wasps catchers out of sprite bottles but the hotel don't do anything.

The kids club was boring for the kids- to be fair it was run by 2 girls who also did the evening entertainment so they were run ragged but everything advertised didn't happen in favour of sitting in the club and watching tv- my kids hated it and wouldn't go after the second time which is a shame as they normally love a 2 hour kids club a day (and so do we!).

The evening entertainment was ok- the mini disco was boring. The same songs everynight with all the kids in a circle- would be better if the girls were on stage with the kids facing them. Some of the shows were awful and pretty boring with the exception of Street Life (Grease inspired) and the Fire show (amazing!)

We used the free shuttle bus to Marrakech a few times which was well worth it and also booked a few trips with the Fist Choice rep.

Room Tip: C block is all family rooms. We stayed in B block and has room 2214- its a double size room at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORA-Guest-Relation, Responsable relations clients at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Amytallis,

We thank you for taking time to let us a part of your experience at the Aqua Fun .
All our sincerest apologises for any inconvenience you experienced during your saty among us.
Dear Guest our remarks and suggestions are on the heart of our preoccupations .Your feed back regarding all aspects of our resort receive a full attention from the senior management and is taken into high consideration for the corrective actions.
we hope you will be giving us another opportunity to welcome you in the near future so as to proove you how we care about your dissatisfaction and to offer you the best service you deserve.


Kind Regards.

Nora Errahili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
8.5 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#188 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
12.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage
#356 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#209 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,855 reviews
15.9 mi away
Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa by Blue Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Address: 18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#201 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 18 km from Marrakech, the Aqua Fun Club covers an area of 8 hectares with the largest water park in Morocco, with no less than 57 slides, ideal for your holidays with family or friends. Aqua Fun Club has 262 comfortable and well equipped rooms, including 107 family rooms, 149 standard rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 royal suite. They are all air conditioned and include a seating area with a private balcony overlooking the pool or garden, and feature a mini-bar, safe-box, phone, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are equipped with shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. The Aqua Fun Club offers varied dining options served in different restaurants: the Asiatique, the Mediterranean, the Pizza Pino and the Tajine. You can also have a drink in the hotel bars or enjoy the private nightclub. The hotel also features several amenities, including a spa, a tennis court, mini football, mini golf, a children's club, free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service. The Aqua Park offers several varieties: Slides, water tracks, wave pool, water tree, children's wading pool, whirlpools and many other surprises .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.