We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost rep at hotel is excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Low cost rep at hotel is excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a great time our low cost rep at the hotel was absolutely brilliant he really made the holiday. The food was good but we ate out a few times and from that moment nothing compared to the food we ate out. It was cold so we couldn't use the pools however they looked lovely. The aqua park was amazing but too cold to use. Hotel entertainment is good fun everyone takes part and we made a lot of friends as the holiday went on due to the entertainment staff. But I had the most amazing excursions well prepared, planned and timely Abdul was amazing and helpful with everything. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    348
    134
    73
    97
See reviews for
456
246
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We read the reviews before our holiday and they appeared mixed ranging from the terrible experience to the excellent so we went off with an open mind. The hotel is about 18km from Marrekesh, and there are no surrounding shops or villages to visit so be prepared to take the free shuttle bus to Marrakesh, go on organised trips, or hire a car if you don't want to stay on the complex for the whole of your holiday. The purpose of our holiday was to chill and get a bit of sunshine before the Winter sets in back home, and we achieved this.

We were allocated a lovely room in block B (room 2224) and were pleased as reviews on here recommend that block A be avoided due to noise from the generator. However, unfortunately we then noticed that our room was at the end of block B, adjacent to block A, and the noise of the generator, although not too bad during the day, could still be heard humming away all night. After three nights of putting up with the noise we asked to move rooms, and explained we wanted a quiet room. We waited a day and a half to be moved, and initially were offered a room in block A! After explaining again that we wanted a quiet room we given a much smaller (although lovely) room at the far side of the complex which overlooked one of the smaller swimming pools, peace at last.

There were four restaurants, they were all buffet style. Three of the restaurants were in the same building and so you could walk through from one to the other looking at what was on offer. There are mixed reviews on here about the food, but we enjoyed it. There was always a good selection of vegetables and if you chose something from the tagines they were usually nice and hot. Breakfasts consisted of omelettes made as you waited, pancakes (although they were not made from batter as we would make them), various croissants and pastries, toast etc. The coffee was from machines in the dining rooms and if you happened to use it after someone had just made a hot chocolate, your coffee took on a chocolately taste! The coffee was much nicer in the bars were it was made using a barista.
We never went in any of the many swimming pools as the water was far too cold. The slides looked amazing but again the thought of sliding down a shoot and then landing in icy water put us off! As previous reviewers have stated on here, the hotel should heat a couple of the pools in the Winter months.
We used the shuttle bus once into Marrakesh, the driver did not give any advice on finding our way back to the pick up point, and consequently once we went into the souks we spent the three hours allocated trying to locate where we were to be picked up! The souks were like rabbit warrens, we never went up the same alley way twice and completely lost our bearings. We probably would have enjoyed it if we hadn't been so worried about finding our way back. In the end we missed the bus anyway! The only taxi we could find was a Petite Taxi, which we later found out is only licensed for journeys in the city centre. The taxi driver made out that he knew where our hotel was, but once we started off it was obvious he didn't and as he realised it was so far out of town he began to panic, and eventually transferred us to another taxi, who took us on to the hotel - not a pleasant experience!
We were offered a very good deal in the spa within the hotel - four treatments in total, and the use of the spa pool and jacuzzi every day for 500 dirhams, which is about £40. However, we did not like the setting, it came across as a bit 'sleezy' it was very dark, there were two broken sunloungers in the pool area which although only a small thing made the place look tacky and neglected. It was a pity because had the surroundings been a bit more inviting I'm sure we would have taken up the offer.
As we were at the hotel at New Year we attended the New Year's Eve Gala Dinner. The staff worked extremely hard all day putting table and chairs in the reception area and getting the dining area ready for the buffet, but all in all the night turned out to be a bit of a shambles as everyone (about 250 people) were all told to go for the buffet at once which resulted in long queues for the food, we ended up with cheese and a roll, and soggy pasta and sauce for our meal. The entertainment started off well with traditional singers and then belly dancers, but then went down hill as the remaining entertainment consisted of the animation team miming along to a backing track, at 10.20pm we gave up and went back to our room. The next morning the reception area had been already been cleaned and was back to normal which is another accolade to the hard working staff. We spoke to one who had only had one hours sleep due to the New Year's Eve preparations.
There are a lot of comments on here that appear time and again, and we would recommend that the hotel Management not only read the reviews (which they appear to do) but act upon them. We would advise them to heat some of the pools, move the hotel generators to an area away from the bedrooms, and make the spa area more inviting including removing broken furniture and installing subtle lighting.
Although reading back through this review the comments appear negative, we did have a lovely time due to the type of holiday we were looking for, i.e., to relax and have some sunshine before the cold British Winter.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the main blocks A and B if you don't want to hear the generators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the staff went out of their way to ensure we had good service and a good holiday. Nora at Guest Relations was very friendly and helpful. We booked a family room which consisted of a king size bed and a double bed through sliding wooden doors for our son. Our room was very clean and spacious, and the bathroom had a walk in shower room with a good shower. We also had a small balcony and chairs facing the back of the hotel.

The grounds of the hotel were very well maintained, and as it was so spacious, it felt very relaxing as the sunbeds were spaced out around the numerous pools. They also had the luxurious raised double sunbeds with cushions and sun canapés which were fabulous. All of the sunbeds were wooden and had thick mattresses so were very comfortable. There were a lot of activities for children, apart from the aqua park, with a kids club, crazy golf and play park. We stayed in December, and as none of the pools were heated, there were very few people in them as the water was so cold. The same for the waterpark. My son did venture on some of the slides, and really enjoyed them. What was great to see was a lifeguard at every pool and slide. I think there were 2 or 3 guys manning each slide as they opened different ones throughout the day. There are also indoor warmer pools which we used everyday to swim.

There was a great variety of food at every mealtime. At breakfast, there were freshly made pancakes and omelettes of choice. At lunch and dinner, there were a few restaurants to choose from and there was always a variety of meat and fish and lovely vegetables and salad and a wide selection of deserts and cakes. There was a pizza and pasta restaurant which cooked made to order pizzas and pasta in front of you. We stayed 5 days, but I can imagine it being a little repetitive if you stayed for longer.

The hotel complex is around half and hour from Marrakech, but the hotel offers a free shuttle bus twice a day to the main square which you book at guest relations. Taxis were 150/200 dirhams each way. They will try to charge more, but we asked at the hotel what the fare should be. The main square and souk is an experience not to be missed. Be prepared to haggle to a third of the price and say no.

The entertainments team worked hard throughout the day and evening offering various activities. The kids enjoyed the mini-disco every evening.

We had a lovely break, and will definitely return, but in the warmer months to make the most of the wonderful pools and waterpark. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to other families seeking a relaxing and fun break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORA-Guest-Relation, Responsable relations clients at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest ,

First of ll we thank you for sharing your nice experience with us at the Aqua Fun .
We are very pleased to know that you did enjoy your holidays during your stay with us .
We value your feedback regarding all the issues of the hotel as well as our staff .
we thank you for your kind review about the hotel we are very delighted that we meet your expectations and you appreciated our quality of service .
We look forwared to welcome you in the near future for another amazing experience
Many Thanks & Best Regards .

Mrs Nora Errahili
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We liked the hotel (except block A as there is something that makes noise non stop- we found out next morning that there is a restaurant on the ground floor so maybe hobs or ventilation system is on 24/7?). We asked to change our room next morning because of this and the view through the window to the construction and the receptionist did it quickly (we found other people with the same problem and they have been offered another room in block B as well). The rooms nice and tidy,- the cleaners do not take tips!!! we could not believe! At first we thought maybe we are leaving too little tips but after leaving about 5 pounds we realized that they do not take tips:)))

I would offer this hotel only during a warm season because it's an aqua park- loooooots of slides but not all working though (by the way-we've been in the middle of December 2013). The water in the swimming pool super cold!!! We've seen kids screaming while getting into the pool (kids are never cold, right? But not this time:)))) so I've tried myself- awful! It hurts feet! Water in ocean (near Agadir) much better then in the swimming pool (it always said water temperature in swimming pool was 24 degrees but I saw one woman who asked to see the thermometer:)))! It's impossible to be 24!I don't understand- there is plenty of sun during the day so they could use solar power or something similar to heat at least 1 pool for the kids!If you go a bit later (I was told by locals that the best time to go from end of April- October), there is no value for the hotel- kids would be busy all day as long as you!

Swimming pool

Car rental- hotel offers only local dealers in the hotel. 2 days the most simple car- 500 Durham a day. We managed to get a car from Economy cars (they deliver to the hotel)- the best number to call them- 00212667849799 as there is no number online to ask to deliver car into the hotel. We paid for 2 days 700 Durham but our friends paid 25 pounds a day (booked 2 days earlier). If you call from reception- you will be charged.

We went to the mountains and next day to Agadir (it took us 3,5 hours one way and we had to pay for the road). It's easy and safe to travel on your own but you have to be tough when you stop as crowds of local people run to you to offer whatever moves, exists or does not even exist yet:)) just keep shouting 'la, shukran' (no, thank you:)))

Food- good. Not of a huge variety as you would get for example in Egypt in 3-4 star hotel but quite good. If you are first to come- you will be guaranteed to get salad leaves if not- blame yourself:))) Long queues to get pancakes and scrambled eggs- because the guys chat to each other and don't rush... That's holidays, right? We are not supposed to be rushing as well but kids have no sense of time when it comes to waiting... In general food- good.. BUT the last morning all 3 of us eat scrambled eggs and when we came come we found out that all of us have Salmonella:((( That's only one food which we had together as a family (the rest of a day salads and chips) and it seems eggs did their job:(( So for a week my baby was in a real pain, vomiting, had diarrhea along with us. We have seen GP and were prescribed medicine for Salmonella. So- be careful with eggs:)

Spa- working from 9am till 8pm- 15 pounds a person for 30min:))) They should be working longer hours (at least till 10 so after supper which starts at 7pm I could take my kids to the spa and then straight to bed but unfortunately, they close too early)...

I would love to go there again but only in August, September or October:) And no eggs for breakfast:)))

Room Tip: Not to choose Block A as the view is to the construction and there is always a sound of ventilator o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORA-Guest-Relation, Responsable relations clients at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest ,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Aqua Fun .
We value your feedback regarding all the issues of the hotel your remarks are very precious and will be taken into serious consideration so as to better manage our buisness and improve the quality of service .
We thank you for trusting us and we look forward to welcome you in the near future so as to meet all your expectations and next time in summer so you can enjoy the Aqua Park.*
Best Regards & Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Well, what can I say. We visited December 2013 for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. I am so sorry to read other reviews for this hotel and hear that anyone could have had a poor holiday here, Our experience was a fabulous one !
The staff were more than helpful and could not help or serve us quick enough.
The food was excellent, always hot with an excellent variety. Fresh made products every meal time. The room was spotless with the maid in everyday for clean towels and bedding. Yes the pools outside were cold but I have yet to come accross a pool what is red hot in outside surroundings. There was however an indoor heated pool with a large pool for adults and a small childs pool. Also an accompanying pool bar to hand.
Reception staff were polite and very helpful along with been smartly dressed as wekk as the porters who were very happy to excort us to our room and carry our suitcases as well.
Overall we would definately return to his hotel.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room in block C,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORA-Guest-Relation, Responsable relations clients at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest ,

We sincerely thank you for having time to share your nice experience with us at the Aqua Fun .
We are very delighted to know that you did spend nice holiday during your recent stay with us.
We value your feedback regarding all the issues of the hotel as well as our staff .
We thank you for trusting us and Many Thanks for reviewing the hotel as nice as you did.
We look forward to welcome you in near future for another amazing experience where we hope we could meet all your expectations.

Best Regards .

Mrs Nora Errahili.
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were 1st time in this African country. We booked a last minute deal with lowcostholidays.com and we had perfect week away!
I took my mum from Czech Republic and my 10 years old daughter and didn't know what to except it because we didn't have time to research hotels in Morocco.
But holiday is what you make of it!
We enjoyed it every minute.
Hotel has plenty Restaurants to eat in, English like menu with chips, panini with chicken or fish and Mediterranean type food( black lentils, Aubergine with spices and plenty side salads ...in one word DELICIOUS!!!
The catering and bar supervisors work so hard to pleases us all. They were excellent but special thank you go to the B.El. Bachir, who look after us all week. He made our meal time so welcoming&special /kind, helpful& caring/.
All staff were brilliant, friendly and very professional. We will never forget this lovely Moroccan experience.
Slides&water park were great too only water icy cold in this time of the year but didn't spoilt our stay in this lovely country.
We would like to travel here again and would recommend Aqua Water Park Fun to any family with children in any ages.
Thank you very much for our lovely Christmas week stay.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORA-Guest-Relation, Responsable relations clients at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest ,

We truly thank you for sharing your nice experience with us at the Aqua Fun .
We are very pleased to know that you did enjoy your stay .
We value your feedback regarding all the sides of the hotel your remarks are very precious as it help us to improve the quality of service & product .
We thank youfor your nice comment how kind of you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We look forward to welcome you for another amazing experience where we hope we could meet all your expectations.
Best Regards .*
Mrs Nora Errahili.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My advice if your a couple without kids is DONT COME! I'm here on my first trip with my boyfriend and it's been shocking.

Firstly they put is in a twin room above the restaurant, which I now wish I stayed in!!! They moved us on the second day after much begging and pretending we were married over to a quiet part! It's cold at night so a little heat helps, but no our heater doesn't work!!! And the main front door gets left open so we get a draft all night! I now have a stinking cold!!!! We now have 3 family's shoved in between us with screaming kids lets just say I lost my patients last night!!!

The hotel staff choose to come to your room at midnight too so you get woken up at night and in the early mornings with screaming kids!!!!!!!!!

It's far from anything so if you've had neigh and want to see the nice parts it's about 20 minutes away in a taxi!

Food is shocking same same and customer service is apalling minus two members of staff that would do anything for you!

Can not wait to go home 1400 down the drain!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel
Address: 15 Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club to your Saves list