We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club to your Saves list
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
maidenhead
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

just returned from a 2 weeks holiday 29/07/02023 until 12/08/2013. Anyone who complains about this resort should stay at home and stop putting people off going
1 food was very good
2 Air con worked perfecty
3 rooms in a good state clean and tidy
4 great fun park for the kids
5 beer in can so not watered down lager. Wine for the women if they do not like lager
6 plenty of sun loungers for everyone
7 they never seem to stop cleaning
8 there are some pools for the little ones to just play in with no slides
for people who say it is not a 4star should remember you are in a different country they are trying to do the best they know how to
We hope to go back at christmas for a weeks break because i could not find any REAL problems
with this hotel
to anyone thinking of going go and find out for yourself

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    464
    187
    96
    114
See reviews for
640
284
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned after 11 nights at Aqua Fun Club, Me(Dad) and 2 daughters 16, and 14, booked hotel through Hotels.com and flights with Easyjet cost approx. £1800.
Make sure you have a pen for the landing cards at the airport will save time and headache although Easyjet did give us landing cards on plane they were wrong ones(for Egypt) so had to fill them in at airport but even then only took us about 30 mins to fill in cards and clear passport control.
Arrived 8pm ish 2 banks open in arrivals and more outside in main airport building and plenty of cash machines.
There was only 5 taxis outside when we arrived with all the drivers chatting you knew that whatever price you were given they were all gonna agree on so had to pay 500 dirham when expected to pay between 3 or 400 journey took approx. 30 mins to hotel but driver could have given Lewis Hamilton a run for his money so is probably normally about a 45 min journey.
Check in was very quick and easy and only got charged a total of 300 Dirham local tax was expecting to pay that each so pleasant surprise there.
Porter showed us to our room which was lovely and cool with the air conditioning already on another plus point can be left on all day as does not require room card to operate, we were in block 2 on ground floor at back so no view apart from a service road and some flower beds then a wall but was lovely and quiet only saw 3 vehicles on service road the whole time we were there but there was a gardener with a wheelbarrow which had a squeaky wheel for those that like something to moan about, room was good size with one large double and one large single bed plenty of storage space good size bathroom, free safe and tv.
There are 2 large restaurants which both serve completely different food always found both had a good selection with plenty of choice they are both buffet style and never found any queues at all also a good selection of drinks again never having to queue at any of the bars.
The evening entertainment is pretty limited but they try to keep you entertained with a band and some shows even the odd game of bingo and karaoke with the entertainment team working tirelessly to keep you entertained throughout the day and night.
There are plenty of pools and plenty of sunbeds it was quite busy while we were there and could always find empty beds at one of the pools. The waterpark was great fun the only complaint we had with that was that a couple of the slides were broken and not open for our entire stay but saying that there are still plenty open with separate sections with good slides for smaller kids.
Plenty of lifeguards on all the slides and a lifeguard at each of the pools, and no need to pack pool towels as plenty of good sized clean towels available.
The Hotel and grounds are very clean with cleaners, gardeners, waiters and maids working constantly to keep it tidy, all the staff were friendly and polite.
The Hotel is remote so if you do want to venture out you need to book the free bus into town about 30 mins away which runs twice a day or book a taxi approx. 200-250 dirham. Marrakech centre is very busy but as in most places once you've seen one shop or stall you've seen them all the owners will try to talk you in to look around but a polite no and they leave you alone.
Taxi back to the airport only cost 250 dirhams and remember before you go through to departures you have to fill in a leaving card similar to the one on arrival but these are all around the terminal building. Although all the smaller shops and restaurants at the airport accept dirhams both of the duty free shops don't and once you've gone through to departures there is nowhere to change money so do it in the main terminal building check both dutyfree shops as prices do vary quite a bit with one giving a further 10% discount to Easyjet and Ryanair customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is about 30-40 mins from the souks and airport. Taxi is the only way to get anywhere and they over charge! Also air condition does not work properly in rooms, it is more of a warm cool box. Family rooms terrible, they tried to give me a room with a double bed for a family of 4!
Terrible evening entertainment in evenings.
I would not recommend August as 40 degrees in shade and the breeze is hot.
They spa is not included in price you have to pay to use also wifi is only available in lobby.

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Let me sum it all up, after we panicked reading the reviews on here.
Okay, so it isn't the best location if you want to fall out of the hotel lobby into the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh, that is the only down side for us.
We are here now on night 7 of a 14 night stay, and we are thouroughly enjoying ourselves.from the moment we got here the staff have been amazing. A lot of the staff don't speeak English, but if you want English speaking staff and English breakfasts/bacon then go to Blackpool.
Thee pools are spotlessly clean, and this is the first hotel that I have been to that you can get 4 sun loungers together any time of day, with 4 pools to choose from it isn't hard !
There are four restaurants, and Italian(loosely) serving burgers and fries, pizza, pasta etc, Asiatique, Tagine, and Mediteranean. Along with guys cooking barbeque outside and fresh pitta breads, fresh stirfry and carvery inside. The Tagine and Asiatique only open for evening meals, but so much choice elsewhere that it doesn't matter. The Italian has the same food every evening, but there again so does McDonalds !!! Each restaurant also has a sweet counter, salad bar and fruit bar. Fresh ommellette, fried eggs and pronta(crepes) are cooked as you wait at breakfast, with all the cereals, breads and hot breakfast, more choice than you would have at home !!
The aqua park is amazing and very quiet(no queuing at all), in fact the whole hotel feels like that, almost too much at the hotel for the number of visitors, four/five pools and a full size water park !!
The gym is a little dated but I still used it.
Entertainment most nights, watched acrobats, belly dancers and snake charmers last night, morrocan band the night before.
There is music all day, and if you are looking for total silence then it may be annoying for you, but you are looking at a hotel with onsite waterpark so what do you expect. The good thing is there are a couple of quieter pools to escape everyting if you so wish.
One or two ignorant [--] in restaurant in just swim shorts, but all in all no probs.
Went on organised trip to the market yesterday, cheap trip, given a guided tour of the Souks(markets)but the guide then left us in his friends/relatives shop and ran off to pray ? Felt forced to buy something in there so bought nothing !!! My advice would be to get the free bus to the square from the hotel and just venture into the edge of the souks, you will be met of the bus by people saying that they are the hotels official guides, there is no such thing, they just want a tip !!! And again will take you to the shops owned by freinds/fanily !
If going with Thomson/First Choice they do a package of three half day trips for £50 a head, Souks one day, Gardens another, and History/Museums another. I will update when we have done the other two, but as I said just use the souks trip to get your bearings then go back on the free bus to buy things cheaper than in the tour guides chosen shops !!
Thuis hotel is ideal if you have youg-teenage children, music and free wifi all day !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hotel staff very helpful, wave pool was not working, food was terrible. First rooms offered were not even 3*, there was a cracked mirror on a wardrobe running the full length of the door and once we complained - we were offered better rooms. If you are happy with bland, taste less food than you should be fine. We had two kids with, 5 and 11 and there was a lot for them to do and were very happy with the kids club and the pools and other activities that was there. Again, have to mention the staff, all very helfull. Will never forget Ishmile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived in the morning, staff immediately helped with bagage and we got our wristbands. Reception told us that we were too early to get in our room, but we could leave our bagage there and were advised to enjoy the aquapark. That was no problem, our teenage daughter jumped in, tried out some of the 36 slides and 19 pools, and actually wouldn't get out of those for the next two weeks.

Shortly after dinner we could enter the room, and found nothing that was not ok. Clean, quite spacious.

Overall, this was a great holiday. Food was very tasty, allthough some variation would have been appreciated, certainly at lunch. Hamburgers with fries and pizza were the only possibilities for lunch, completed with a salad bar and fruit for dessert.

The thing that really made the holiday a dream for us, was the animation team. They came to introduce themselves within a few hours of our arrival, and Always came to get us for cool activities. Darts or ping pong with our daughter, soft gym, step dance or aquagym for adults, and at night there were great shows, every day. In the end, when we had to leave, there were tears involved when we had to leave Idrissi and co behind.

Daughter already plans to go back in the autumn holidays...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Myself, partner and my two children aged 10 & 14 stayed here for 7 nights in may. We arrived at around 10pm and were checked in quickly , although the room were given was not suitable! My daughter has mobility problems and we requested a ground floor room with access for her wheelchair if she needs to use it!

We were given a ground floor room which was lovely but far too small it only had 3 beds and no room for wheelchair! Receptionist was not the most helpful when I went to complain she did agree to move room however the other rooms were same size just with extra bed!

When I refused these rooms she was not at all helpful!!!
However at this point the very lovely and helpful Manager approached me and after I explained the situation to him was extremely helpful. He immediately checked which rooms were available and tool me to another room to see if this was suitable for us.

The room was lovely with own front door and 2 adjoining rooms which was much more suitable for our needs.

I later found out that he had upgraded us to a junior suite.

The pools are clean and my kids were constantly at waterpark. Lifeguards are hard working and never leave their posts, always keeping an eye on children around pools especially little ones.

Staff are friendly and always try to help where possible.


Food is always fresh and always something to eat even my son (whos fussiest eater in world) ate every meal. He especially enjoyed the freshly made to order pizza. My daughter preferred the Tangine always fresh fish available and the freshly made flat breads were delicious!!!

It's very rare for us to find a hotel that suits all our needs but this hotel Definately Did!!!!

So much so that we are hoping to return In October as the children enjoyed it so much!!!!

Although this time I would like to try and get the room we were changed to rather than the smaller ones.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Address: 18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#116 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 18 km from Marrakech, the Aqua Fun Club covers an area of 8 hectares with the largest water park in Morocco, with no less than 57 slides, ideal for your holidays with family or friends. Aqua Fun Club has 262 comfortable and well equipped rooms, including 107 family rooms, 149 standard rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 royal suite. They are all air conditioned and include a seating area with a private balcony overlooking the pool or garden, and feature a mini-bar, safe-box, phone, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are equipped with shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. The Aqua Fun Club offers varied dining options served in different restaurants: the Asiatique, the Mediterranean, the Pizza Pino and the Tajine. You can also have a drink in the hotel bars or enjoy the private nightclub. The hotel also features several amenities, including a spa, a tennis court, mini football, mini golf, a children's club, free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service. The Aqua Park offers several varieties: Slides, water tracks, wave pool, water tree, children's wading pool, whirlpools and many other surprises .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.