We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for Renovation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club to your Saves list
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Closed for Renovation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Not sure how long it is closed for renovation but we had a reservation through Kayak from December 26th through January 1st.

What a horrible experience to show up with a reservation only to find bulldozers and constructions workers everywhere. Not sure who is to blame: Kayak (who we booked through) or the hotel.

FYI - It is quite a distance from the Marrekesh/Medina.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    469
    191
    100
    116
See reviews for
646
291
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I got so excited when I saw this hotel thinking it would be like the one in Egypt! Far from it.. Don't get me the wrong the hotel itself is lovely, friendly staff, the food was actually nice, rooms cleaned everyday if there was a problem staff ensure it was quickly resolved.. However the male workers really put me off.. I wouldn't come alone with just the girls here again if I was to return would most defo be with family! The waterpark itself just does not compare to the Sharm el Sheikh one.. Overall worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went with some other friends so didn't pick the hotel but have to say a great choice

Very clean hotel and good selection of food.

Entertainment not great but they did try

Aqua park was really good fun which brought out the kid in me

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Me and my partner have just returned (15th Nov) from 8 nights at the Aqua Fun Club and overall our expierence was a good one.

The hotel was very clean and the room we had was very nice overlooking the pools.
The food was good they seemed to changed it most nights.
The staff were helpful when you needed them however some of their knowlege about certain things was not good and waiting for beach towels sometimes took nearly 30 minutes which seemed too long to wait!

The Shuttle bus to the old town was ok (took around 20 minutes) but i dont know how they manage when the hotel is full as you had to pre book it the night or two before, it also only runs till 12.30 when they pick you up and if you wanted to stay for longer they didnt give you any infomration on how to get back. We eventally found a bus that went to the hotel for around 6p each!

The slides were really fun but we had to asked for them to be turned on on one occasion.
The hotel itself is having renervation which none of us were aware of. It didnt effect us too much but some people had to be moved to another hotel.

We also went to the Spa and it was ok but the Jacuzzi wasnt working and then they tried to bump us off saying it was free in the deal that we got, we didnt mind too much as we got other things that were not included. But make sure you haggle on the price!


Overall I would recommed this hotel. The food is good, its clean and the staff are overall very helpful and the location is good, not too far from the old town and the hotel provides a free shuttle bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Reception
Not the best we have encountered, if you have a problem 5 minutes means 2 hours. Not enough information provided about the hotel and its facilities. No baggage service when leaving and watch out for the taxes they seem to charge all sorts of rates they seem to pluck numbers from thin air.

Room
We changed rooms after the first night due to adults who could not control their children, singing Frère Jacques at 1:30 in the morning we were certainly not sleeping. Reception Manager called at the room and things were quiet for a short time but then started again really early. We went to reception and said we needed to change rooms. This was at 8:30am we were told to go back at 13:00hrs to see if they could move us. We arrived back at reception at 13:00hrs to be told we had a room nearer the restaurant; we were a little sceptical about this but thought we would have a look. What a lovely surprise. I have to say the room was far superior than the one we had paid for with an outlook over olive groves and to the Atlas Mountains.

Rain had been falling quite badly when we arrived and caused problems for the hotel. This resulted in a problem with the water supply and the hotel was out of any running water for some considerable time. The shower ran ice cold or hot no in-between but when speaking to other guests this seemed to be happening to everyone so just got on with it and let others do the complaining in this case as I felt within a short space of time I had spent too much time complaining at Reception.

The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis with clean white towels although the pool towels left a lot to be desired.

Animation
Previous reviewers have raved about it but we thought it was not that special comparing it to other family holidays in Marrakech, Tunisia and Turkey, and for their trip to the square in the evening 150dhm each I think you would find more the monkey men and snake charmers in the square more honest. Total rip off and glad that this was not my first trip to Marrakech. The smile soon disappears when you say NO.

Dining
This must be the worst dining experience we have ever encountered during our family holidays. No dress code required, but your children have to be from the feral species they must scream and shout and have no table manners, you as a parent must set an example to your feral children and not use the tongs provided use your fingers and press and touch every croissant in sight, don’t stand in a que and wait your turn just push to the front. No silver service here you will be lucky to get a paper napkin and cutlery and not much of a smile, but on the positive side you will save money as I always tipped for good service but went home with most of my money due to the lack of non-existent service 

BEWARE OF DIRTY PLATES DISHWASHER MUST BE BROKEN…..Residue of food still stuck to what are supposed to be clean plates…disgusting. This happened most days.

Breakfast: No fresh orange juice….my god this is Marrakech…every hotel and riad I had previously stayed in provided it in abundance. Omelettes, Crepes and Croissants no complaints but no pan au chocolat
Lunch: Bland, bland, bland, bland- Tagines no seasoning, no saffron, no Ras al Hanout but plenty of fat I will give the chef a special award for the worst Tagines in Marrakech. Pasta- if you like Pasta…you won’t like this, bland, unseasoned and no sauce….
Dinner: THE SAME AS LUNCH probably reheated from lunch time.

Fast Food Diner: Not enough food they ran out 45min before the end of service. On the day we did go they did not have enough plates and had to have 3 meals on one plate. We ordered 3 burgers when we got to our table we found that we had a 1/4 of a burger in each roll not a quarter pounder as you would expect…looks like they were running out of food again. In defense of the hotel if some of the guests did not insist on piling their plates so high there might be enough to go around…

This hotel has some great reviews and I am sure some people have had good holidays. Reviewers previous photographs of food served in the hotel in August resembled nothing to what we were served between the 30th of October and 6th November, we can only comment on our experience of the hotel during our weeks stay.

Would we return NO…………Would we recommend NO………you have been warned…..

Room Tip: Avoid the family block. Interconnecting doors with other family's and the noise is really loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent half term at this hotel and it was probably the worst holiday of our lives. Below is an extract from the letter we have written to the CEO of Pickalbatros. Before diving into that, there were a couple of positives: the spa staff are very good as is the animation team led by Ismail.

Stay at this hotel and you take your life in your hands. A week later I am still in agony and on strong pain killers after a serious fall on an uneven smooth slippery flagstone beside one of the flume pools. Who lays smooth flagstones beside pools? People were sliding everywhere; my partner's son also fell but was lucky not to sustain an injury. I thought I was being careful but still didn't avoid a fall.

Here are the complaints we had during our week at Aqua "Fun" Club:


There were ants in the bathroom throughout our stay; despite bringing the situation to the attention of the reception staff on the first morning nothing was done about it.

One of our rooms had no hot water for two days.

On one day there was no running water in the entire complex for around five hours.

The shower curtain and rail in one room fell down and nothing was done to repair or replace it.

There was no information folder in the room to advise guests about spa facilities, animation / activities, restaurant availability, shuttle buses, TV, phones, etc. We were only able to find out information by repeatedly asking at reception.

We were unable to access the room safe on arrival. It took three attempts with unhelpful reception staff to get the safe opened so that we could use it. This wasted valuable vacation time.

There was only one shuttle bus to the city centre each day. On the day we arranged to take the bus it was overbooked and there were a number of very dissatisfied guests who could not get on the bus.

On one occasion we asked reception to arrange a taxi into the city centre. We were told it would cost 100 Dirham, which we accepted. Two minutes later we were told it would cost 300 Dirham, which we refused. We made alternative arrangements and made the journey for 100 Dirham. We suspect there may be some financial irregularities occurring at the reception desk.

Our bed sheet was too small and could not be tucked in at the edges, resulting in a very uncomfortable night’s sleep.

The public areas are very unsafe. There were people slipping and falling around the pool and slide areas. Two of our party had nasty falls, one of who had to attend an accident and emergency centre on return to the UK and is still recovering from severe soft tissue injuries to his back.

The towels in the rooms were grey, torn, and ragged, and smelled of bleach.

The rooms were not cleaned properly and as mentioned above, ants pervaded the bathroom on a daily basis.

The pool tables in Chaplins Bar are in a state of disrepair. The baize is rucked and the cushions have no rebound. The pool cues are warped and have no tips. There is only one triangle between two tables.

The wi-fi has poor signal, even in the reception area, and is unreliable.

The snack bar is inaccessible and there was no choice of food. We had four meals served on one plate as there were no more plates available.

The water in the shower is a health and safety risk as it fluctuates wildly from freezing cold to scalding hot. This is very dangerous.

The booking information indicated availability of satellite TV, but there were no specific English entertainment or news channels.

It was not possible to call reception from the phone in the room…. There was never a reply. We were also unable to use the phone for room to room calls.

There was a constantly barking dog close to the block where we were staying.

The toaster in the dining area is a health and safety issue as it is very easy to sustain a burn when using it.

There are no locks on the toilet doors in communal areas.

On leaving the hotel on our last day we were asked to pay 200 Dirham to obtain a receipt that had to be shown to the gatekeeper on leaving the site. We absolutely refused to pay this charge as it was not explained to us on arrival that this charge would apply, and the receptionist was unable to provide an adequate explanation as to why the charge was being made. The young lady who presented herself as “Manager of front of house” became very rude and laughed when we refused to pay.

All in all a very very bad experience. If you book a holiday package there is no "room tax" or "escape money" to pay when you leave. We suspect this money may not find its way into the hotel's books, but clearly can't prove it....

I guess its all about personal standards and expectations, and what you are prepared to put up with. Even those who didn't sustain injuries were glad to get home from what felt more like a trial than a vacation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caister On Sea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife & I along with our 15 year old daughter took a half term break to Aqua Fun Club Marrakech. Firstly you will need the patience of a saint at passport control on your arrival to Morocco & pay no more than 400 dirham for a taxi to the hotel 300dhm is better. On arriving at the Hotel (about 10pm for us) the staff was very helpful getting us through the check in process & showing us to our room (very good standard & size rooms). The buffet was still open (until 11pm) so after getting suitably refreshed we had a look round. We were greeted by a member of the animation team (izzy) who in the days to come became a very valuable source of help and a constant smiling face at the AFC. His knowledge of not only the hotel and its timetable was fantastic but also outside the hotel the Moroccan culture, trips to town and the mountains and even helped me get to and from golf (not organized through the hotel). The hotel is cleaned constantly it's a wonder there is a pathway left the female staff work tirelessly to keep the place spotless. All the staff are friendly and very hard working, the water park was very clean with a very good selection of slides etc 33 at last count...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Address: 18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 18 km from Marrakech, the Aqua Fun Club covers an area of 8 hectares with the largest water park in Morocco, with no less than 57 slides, ideal for your holidays with family or friends. Aqua Fun Club has 262 comfortable and well equipped rooms, including 107 family rooms, 149 standard rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 royal suite. They are all air conditioned and include a seating area with a private balcony overlooking the pool or garden, and feature a mini-bar, safe-box, phone, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are equipped with shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. The Aqua Fun Club offers varied dining options served in different restaurants: the Asiatique, the Mediterranean, the Pizza Pino and the Tajine. You can also have a drink in the hotel bars or enjoy the private nightclub. The hotel also features several amenities, including a spa, a tennis court, mini football, mini golf, a children's club, free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service. The Aqua Park offers several varieties: Slides, water tracks, wave pool, water tree, children's wading pool, whirlpools and many other surprises .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.