We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Save Saved
You added Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went with some other friends so didn't pick the hotel but have to say a great choice

Very clean hotel and good selection of food.

Entertainment not great but they did try

Aqua park was really good fun which brought out the kid in me

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    395
    150
    80
    100
See reviews for
528
264
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Me and my partner have just returned (15th Nov) from 8 nights at the Aqua Fun Club and overall our expierence was a good one.

The hotel was very clean and the room we had was very nice overlooking the pools.
The food was good they seemed to changed it most nights.
The staff were helpful when you needed them however some of their knowlege about certain things was not good and waiting for beach towels sometimes took nearly 30 minutes which seemed too long to wait!

The Shuttle bus to the old town was ok (took around 20 minutes) but i dont know how they manage when the hotel is full as you had to pre book it the night or two before, it also only runs till 12.30 when they pick you up and if you wanted to stay for longer they didnt give you any infomration on how to get back. We eventally found a bus that went to the hotel for around 6p each!

The slides were really fun but we had to asked for them to be turned on on one occasion.
The hotel itself is having renervation which none of us were aware of. It didnt effect us too much but some people had to be moved to another hotel.

We also went to the Spa and it was ok but the Jacuzzi wasnt working and then they tried to bump us off saying it was free in the deal that we got, we didnt mind too much as we got other things that were not included. But make sure you haggle on the price!


Overall I would recommed this hotel. The food is good, its clean and the staff are overall very helpful and the location is good, not too far from the old town and the hotel provides a free shuttle bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Reception
Not the best we have encountered, if you have a problem 5 minutes means 2 hours. Not enough information provided about the hotel and its facilities. No baggage service when leaving and watch out for the taxes they seem to charge all sorts of rates they seem to pluck numbers from thin air.

Room
We changed rooms after the first night due to adults who could not control their children, singing Frère Jacques at 1:30 in the morning we were certainly not sleeping. Reception Manager called at the room and things were quiet for a short time but then started again really early. We went to reception and said we needed to change rooms. This was at 8:30am we were told to go back at 13:00hrs to see if they could move us. We arrived back at reception at 13:00hrs to be told we had a room nearer the restaurant; we were a little sceptical about this but thought we would have a look. What a lovely surprise. I have to say the room was far superior than the one we had paid for with an outlook over olive groves and to the Atlas Mountains.

Rain had been falling quite badly when we arrived and caused problems for the hotel. This resulted in a problem with the water supply and the hotel was out of any running water for some considerable time. The shower ran ice cold or hot no in-between but when speaking to other guests this seemed to be happening to everyone so just got on with it and let others do the complaining in this case as I felt within a short space of time I had spent too much time complaining at Reception.

The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis with clean white towels although the pool towels left a lot to be desired.

Animation
Previous reviewers have raved about it but we thought it was not that special comparing it to other family holidays in Marrakech, Tunisia and Turkey, and for their trip to the square in the evening 150dhm each I think you would find more the monkey men and snake charmers in the square more honest. Total rip off and glad that this was not my first trip to Marrakech. The smile soon disappears when you say NO.

Dining
This must be the worst dining experience we have ever encountered during our family holidays. No dress code required, but your children have to be from the feral species they must scream and shout and have no table manners, you as a parent must set an example to your feral children and not use the tongs provided use your fingers and press and touch every croissant in sight, don’t stand in a que and wait your turn just push to the front. No silver service here you will be lucky to get a paper napkin and cutlery and not much of a smile, but on the positive side you will save money as I always tipped for good service but went home with most of my money due to the lack of non-existent service 

BEWARE OF DIRTY PLATES DISHWASHER MUST BE BROKEN…..Residue of food still stuck to what are supposed to be clean plates…disgusting. This happened most days.

Breakfast: No fresh orange juice….my god this is Marrakech…every hotel and riad I had previously stayed in provided it in abundance. Omelettes, Crepes and Croissants no complaints but no pan au chocolat
Lunch: Bland, bland, bland, bland- Tagines no seasoning, no saffron, no Ras al Hanout but plenty of fat I will give the chef a special award for the worst Tagines in Marrakech. Pasta- if you like Pasta…you won’t like this, bland, unseasoned and no sauce….
Dinner: THE SAME AS LUNCH probably reheated from lunch time.

Fast Food Diner: Not enough food they ran out 45min before the end of service. On the day we did go they did not have enough plates and had to have 3 meals on one plate. We ordered 3 burgers when we got to our table we found that we had a 1/4 of a burger in each roll not a quarter pounder as you would expect…looks like they were running out of food again. In defense of the hotel if some of the guests did not insist on piling their plates so high there might be enough to go around…

This hotel has some great reviews and I am sure some people have had good holidays. Reviewers previous photographs of food served in the hotel in August resembled nothing to what we were served between the 30th of October and 6th November, we can only comment on our experience of the hotel during our weeks stay.

Would we return NO…………Would we recommend NO………you have been warned…..

Room Tip: Avoid the family block. Interconnecting doors with other family's and the noise is really loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent half term at this hotel and it was probably the worst holiday of our lives. Below is an extract from the letter we have written to the CEO of Pickalbatros. Before diving into that, there were a couple of positives: the spa staff are very good as is the animation team led by Ismail.

Stay at this hotel and you take your life in your hands. A week later I am still in agony and on strong pain killers after a serious fall on an uneven smooth slippery flagstone beside one of the flume pools. Who lays smooth flagstones beside pools? People were sliding everywhere; my partner's son also fell but was lucky not to sustain an injury. I thought I was being careful but still didn't avoid a fall.

Here are the complaints we had during our week at Aqua "Fun" Club:


There were ants in the bathroom throughout our stay; despite bringing the situation to the attention of the reception staff on the first morning nothing was done about it.

One of our rooms had no hot water for two days.

On one day there was no running water in the entire complex for around five hours.

The shower curtain and rail in one room fell down and nothing was done to repair or replace it.

There was no information folder in the room to advise guests about spa facilities, animation / activities, restaurant availability, shuttle buses, TV, phones, etc. We were only able to find out information by repeatedly asking at reception.

We were unable to access the room safe on arrival. It took three attempts with unhelpful reception staff to get the safe opened so that we could use it. This wasted valuable vacation time.

There was only one shuttle bus to the city centre each day. On the day we arranged to take the bus it was overbooked and there were a number of very dissatisfied guests who could not get on the bus.

On one occasion we asked reception to arrange a taxi into the city centre. We were told it would cost 100 Dirham, which we accepted. Two minutes later we were told it would cost 300 Dirham, which we refused. We made alternative arrangements and made the journey for 100 Dirham. We suspect there may be some financial irregularities occurring at the reception desk.

Our bed sheet was too small and could not be tucked in at the edges, resulting in a very uncomfortable night’s sleep.

The public areas are very unsafe. There were people slipping and falling around the pool and slide areas. Two of our party had nasty falls, one of who had to attend an accident and emergency centre on return to the UK and is still recovering from severe soft tissue injuries to his back.

The towels in the rooms were grey, torn, and ragged, and smelled of bleach.

The rooms were not cleaned properly and as mentioned above, ants pervaded the bathroom on a daily basis.

The pool tables in Chaplins Bar are in a state of disrepair. The baize is rucked and the cushions have no rebound. The pool cues are warped and have no tips. There is only one triangle between two tables.

The wi-fi has poor signal, even in the reception area, and is unreliable.

The snack bar is inaccessible and there was no choice of food. We had four meals served on one plate as there were no more plates available.

The water in the shower is a health and safety risk as it fluctuates wildly from freezing cold to scalding hot. This is very dangerous.

The booking information indicated availability of satellite TV, but there were no specific English entertainment or news channels.

It was not possible to call reception from the phone in the room…. There was never a reply. We were also unable to use the phone for room to room calls.

There was a constantly barking dog close to the block where we were staying.

The toaster in the dining area is a health and safety issue as it is very easy to sustain a burn when using it.

There are no locks on the toilet doors in communal areas.

On leaving the hotel on our last day we were asked to pay 200 Dirham to obtain a receipt that had to be shown to the gatekeeper on leaving the site. We absolutely refused to pay this charge as it was not explained to us on arrival that this charge would apply, and the receptionist was unable to provide an adequate explanation as to why the charge was being made. The young lady who presented herself as “Manager of front of house” became very rude and laughed when we refused to pay.

All in all a very very bad experience. If you book a holiday package there is no "room tax" or "escape money" to pay when you leave. We suspect this money may not find its way into the hotel's books, but clearly can't prove it....

I guess its all about personal standards and expectations, and what you are prepared to put up with. Even those who didn't sustain injuries were glad to get home from what felt more like a trial than a vacation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caister On Sea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife & I along with our 15 year old daughter took a half term break to Aqua Fun Club Marrakech. Firstly you will need the patience of a saint at passport control on your arrival to Morocco & pay no more than 400 dirham for a taxi to the hotel 300dhm is better. On arriving at the Hotel (about 10pm for us) the staff was very helpful getting us through the check in process & showing us to our room (very good standard & size rooms). The buffet was still open (until 11pm) so after getting suitably refreshed we had a look round. We were greeted by a member of the animation team (izzy) who in the days to come became a very valuable source of help and a constant smiling face at the AFC. His knowledge of not only the hotel and its timetable was fantastic but also outside the hotel the Moroccan culture, trips to town and the mountains and even helped me get to and from golf (not organized through the hotel). The hotel is cleaned constantly it's a wonder there is a pathway left the female staff work tirelessly to keep the place spotless. All the staff are friendly and very hard working, the water park was very clean with a very good selection of slides etc 33 at last count...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I always look for the good in places I visit, and was much heartened by the largely positive reviews the hotel had. However I left feeling distinctly confused that we had stayed in a different hotel than the one the other reviews were based on. We were certainly not alone in thinking this.
On the plus sides the hotels is very clean, the beds were comfortable, and when we did need to complain things were rectified. Also the kids loved the water park.
We paid about £550 each for 2 adults and 3 teenagers, during half term so I wasn't expecting a 4 star establishment.
When we arrived we were allocated room 4109 and the kids were in 4106. Their's was fine although a little cramped for three of them. Ours was small but seemed okay until we had a shower. From talking to others it was not just us that took their lives into their own hands when doing this as the water fluctuated from warm to scalding hot and was not controllable. This situation was never rectified.
Our room had just a shower which was so badly constructed that every time you has a shower it completely flooded and was like a swimming pool on the floor.
After a night and a couple of showers each we asked to be moved to another room. This they did, although initially they said we would have to wait till the next day but then gave us the key to an empty room next door. In the bathroom was a bath with a shower which was okay but we did have to grapple with the shower rail falling off on several occasions!
Ishmael who headed up the entertainment team (3 people) was lovely and very warm individual.
The front desk staff tried their best but were a little battle weary I think, having to deal with so many complaints.
There were nowhere near enough bar staff, and you had to wait some time to get a drink.
The food was bland, with little choice other than unappetising pasta and tasteless tagines.
I have been to quite a few all inclusives before, and expect that after the first week you would have menus repeated, but this was on a daily basis.
We took a few trips out, the best being the one to the Atlas Mountains. Lovely day but beware of being taken to a restaurant not of your choosing. There were many others along the place where you have lunch that are about half the price of the one they would like to take you to.
The night visist to the souk was not worth it. It cost £15 each and you get a much better experience during the day on the free shuttle bus, which you need to book. Be warned though we booked for one of the trips and when the bus turned up the guy had a completely different list and there were quite a lot of rather angry people.
If you do take a trip through the hotel either pay in Euro's or DHM which you can change in town. If you pay in sterling it will be a third more expensive than paying in DHM!
The souks are great fun, but rememeber Haggle, haggle, haggle. You shouldn't really pay more than a third of what they are asking MAX! Walk away, if they do not come after you they won't go lower.
I hope this is of some help, I geneuinely do not mean to bad mouth an establishment but many of the other guests I spoke to described it as a Moroccan Fawlty Towers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We're a family of 4: two mid-late 40s with girls 14 and 11.Previous travel to Tunisia but first time to Maroc.

First and foremost,only read the 2012 reviews.The hotel was being built before then.Its now complete.

Before you arrive: airport is modern.Boarding cards need signing.
Take pounds,and exchange in the two 24hour official cash exchange places on the right as you enter the main foyer.
Dirhams are about 13.4 to the pound at the moment ( compared to 10 in the hotel foyer).they buy back at 14 so take more for the trips/ gifts than you think you may need ( we spent 450 in a week)

Taxi...will cost 400 dirhams to the hotel.Don't haggle as they are all the same.
The return trip will cost you 300,booked by the hotel staff.

Safety: this is a very safe hotel.The place is run by the pickalbatros group,owned by Boutros Boutros Ghalli,with chains in the US and Egypt.Security is important and there are security staff on the gates,and front door.
The waterpark is well staffed with staff on all rides.

Hygiene: v high standards.Staff clean regularly.Tips are appreciated.

Reception..efficient.Tip the porter.Will ask for passport details on arrival.Remember room tax to be paid at the end.Adds about 100 pounds for a family of 4.

Rooms...modern,with up to date toilet furniture. Hairdriers in rooms.We had 3 double beds! Maids folded our night clothing and left real petals on the bed each day!!
Flat screen tv but we didn't use it.
Separate toilet and shower rooms.Lighting a bit confusing!

Choice...lots to do...if you want a Poolparty hol,then the Ents team will sort an excellent one for you .Issy,Sala were great fun,cared about the guests but were discrete too.
If you want the park,then 16 rides await you all.Our two girls loved it,but Dad did too.Most rides are in dinghies but some are mat based.
If you want peace and quiet though,there are pools without music too.

there are kids areas too,but we didn't use them.

Sports are catered for too.There is a clay court,and a parallel court for volleyball and basketball.A small grass 5 a side area is present with 2 lots of goals.
Pool tables are scattered about,although they can be short on balls.

There's crazy golf, giant chess,swings ,climbing frames for the kids too.

Meals: fantastic smorgasbord dining.Cooked breakfasts,pastries,cereals,fruit ,omelettes for breakfast.
Late lunch..pastas etc
Evening meals from 7pm...quality dining.At least 16 meals to choose from.Drinks from bar or from staff.A chance to try some new things from the tangines.
Usual rules..avoid ice, salads..

Bar snacks..various pizzas,burgers and grilled sandwiches.Every drink you can think of.

Evening entertainment.Kids disco and then shows.We saw a Moroccan show and a Moroccan band.Half an hour was enough.The Chaplin bar is open in the evening but needs some music really. The foyer has 2 TV ,free Internet and a bar too.Take some cards or board games.
Most kids have IT gear,but ours didn't take phones so we had better interaction.

Tours..we went to the village of L' olrika based on the river of the same name.900 dn for the 4 of us,sharing with 2 others.Stopped for a camel ride..yuk,pottery shopping,argen oil cooperative and then a 500 metre climb (trainers fine...NO heels) to a waterfall.Shops up there about 2/3 of price of Marrakech as they pay no tax ( but then don't have an nhs 24/7 or a welfare state)
Don't drink the freshly squeezed orange.My wife did and has the big D for 4 days!,
Take cameras.Opens your eyes to Morocco.

Night tour to Marrakech worthwhile.Two hours so really just a trip to the medina with the knowledgable aforementioned Issy,to see some of the famous mosques,visit a local shop and wander through the souks.Prob best with older children,as chaotic roads.Would prepare you for a day trip if you fancy one.Tour cost 550dh.

Gym...excellent new kit.6 weights machines+ skipping ropes.The Ents team do a session at 12.30 5 days a week.

Spa...amazing massage for one hour after a jacuzzi,steam,scrub.Both adults went for this and loved it.Pay 500 dn. Two and a half hours.
Massage alone 400dh

Health tips...take dioralyte,Imodium and buscopan + own plasters.Hotel kit was very limited.
Both adults ended up with D.Nothing major though.

Remember this is Morocco.Don't expect a uk 5 star all in for under 40 pounds a person a night.This is Moroccan 5 star though,and very very good.
The staff are friendly,most speak some English and a good chance to practice that O level French again as for most it's the second language.

Relax,enjoy.

To the staff..Beslemma,shokran.

Room Tip: 1000 block is above the restaurant 2000 block is opposite the aqua park 3000 block is where the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Address: 15 Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.