We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Save Saved
You added Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“El gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We're a family of 4: two mid-late 40s with girls 14 and 11.Previous travel to Tunisia but first time to Maroc.

First and foremost,only read the 2012 reviews.The hotel was being built before then.Its now complete.

Before you arrive: airport is modern.Boarding cards need signing.
Take pounds,and exchange in the two 24hour official cash exchange places on the right as you enter the main foyer.
Dirhams are about 13.4 to the pound at the moment ( compared to 10 in the hotel foyer).they buy back at 14 so take more for the trips/ gifts than you think you may need ( we spent 450 in a week)

Taxi...will cost 400 dirhams to the hotel.Don't haggle as they are all the same.
The return trip will cost you 300,booked by the hotel staff.

Safety: this is a very safe hotel.The place is run by the pickalbatros group,owned by Boutros Boutros Ghalli,with chains in the US and Egypt.Security is important and there are security staff on the gates,and front door.
The waterpark is well staffed with staff on all rides.

Hygiene: v high standards.Staff clean regularly.Tips are appreciated.

Reception..efficient.Tip the porter.Will ask for passport details on arrival.Remember room tax to be paid at the end.Adds about 100 pounds for a family of 4.

Rooms...modern,with up to date toilet furniture. Hairdriers in rooms.We had 3 double beds! Maids folded our night clothing and left real petals on the bed each day!!
Flat screen tv but we didn't use it.
Separate toilet and shower rooms.Lighting a bit confusing!

Choice...lots to do...if you want a Poolparty hol,then the Ents team will sort an excellent one for you .Issy,Sala were great fun,cared about the guests but were discrete too.
If you want the park,then 16 rides await you all.Our two girls loved it,but Dad did too.Most rides are in dinghies but some are mat based.
If you want peace and quiet though,there are pools without music too.

there are kids areas too,but we didn't use them.

Sports are catered for too.There is a clay court,and a parallel court for volleyball and basketball.A small grass 5 a side area is present with 2 lots of goals.
Pool tables are scattered about,although they can be short on balls.

There's crazy golf, giant chess,swings ,climbing frames for the kids too.

Meals: fantastic smorgasbord dining.Cooked breakfasts,pastries,cereals,fruit ,omelettes for breakfast.
Late lunch..pastas etc
Evening meals from 7pm...quality dining.At least 16 meals to choose from.Drinks from bar or from staff.A chance to try some new things from the tangines.
Usual rules..avoid ice, salads..

Bar snacks..various pizzas,burgers and grilled sandwiches.Every drink you can think of.

Evening entertainment.Kids disco and then shows.We saw a Moroccan show and a Moroccan band.Half an hour was enough.The Chaplin bar is open in the evening but needs some music really. The foyer has 2 TV ,free Internet and a bar too.Take some cards or board games.
Most kids have IT gear,but ours didn't take phones so we had better interaction.

Tours..we went to the village of L' olrika based on the river of the same name.900 dn for the 4 of us,sharing with 2 others.Stopped for a camel ride..yuk,pottery shopping,argen oil cooperative and then a 500 metre climb (trainers fine...NO heels) to a waterfall.Shops up there about 2/3 of price of Marrakech as they pay no tax ( but then don't have an nhs 24/7 or a welfare state)
Don't drink the freshly squeezed orange.My wife did and has the big D for 4 days!,
Take cameras.Opens your eyes to Morocco.

Night tour to Marrakech worthwhile.Two hours so really just a trip to the medina with the knowledgable aforementioned Issy,to see some of the famous mosques,visit a local shop and wander through the souks.Prob best with older children,as chaotic roads.Would prepare you for a day trip if you fancy one.Tour cost 550dh.

Gym...excellent new kit.6 weights machines+ skipping ropes.The Ents team do a session at 12.30 5 days a week.

Spa...amazing massage for one hour after a jacuzzi,steam,scrub.Both adults went for this and loved it.Pay 500 dn. Two and a half hours.
Massage alone 400dh

Health tips...take dioralyte,Imodium and buscopan + own plasters.Hotel kit was very limited.
Both adults ended up with D.Nothing major though.

Remember this is Morocco.Don't expect a uk 5 star all in for under 40 pounds a person a night.This is Moroccan 5 star though,and very very good.
The staff are friendly,most speak some English and a good chance to practice that O level French again as for most it's the second language.

Relax,enjoy.

To the staff..Beslemma,shokran.

Room Tip: 1000 block is above the restaurant 2000 block is opposite the aqua park 3000 block is where the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    441
    171
    91
    105
See reviews for
605
271
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Modern Hotel with most amenites. Mostly closed during our stay but the staff offered to open some slides for us. We want to return with the children later on. Food better than average with brilliant breakfasts. Dinner a bit bland but the choice would cater for all. We returned for the day with the kids in July and all was open. Mainly catering for families but as a city break it was better than most. Plenty to do if you have kids but adult entertainment plentyful. We spent most nights in one of their bars because the live band were so good. Had an episode of no hot water but they just moved us to another room. In the pain near the Atlas mountains so sitting in the heat watching skiers playing on the slopes. Fantastic scenery. About 18miles outside Marrakech but they offer a shuttle service into town or you can grab a cab cheaply enough. Would recommend as very clean and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you are disabled please ask to stay in the main block ground floor as there is a bit of walking f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at aqua fun club Marrakech. First impression are very good, food was ok, staffs are friendly and efficient. Never seen an hotel that gets cleaned so often.

My only gripe about the hotel is its location, middle of nowhere with nothing nearby, you have to travel about 20 km to get to the square/ market. The hotel provided a free shuttle but once a day which was a good alternative to paying taxi fares. Would be great if they ran the shuttle twice a day - I'm sure people will be happy to pay.

All in all was a good hotel about 3-4 stars European standard.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were in this hotel from 21st to 25th October. It was the perfect holiday. I went there with my husband and 13 year old daughter. My daugghter had the best time ever and we had the nicest time . There is so much to do in the hotel you wouldnt want to go out.
the rides are good for anyone from small age to teenagers to adults. The hotel staff was very friendly and ever willing to help.
The hotel rooms are a bit run down, the showers were acting stange with only a tricklle of water and unable to control the temperature, as it would be very very hot or very very cold. When we told the reception they came and had a look and said it was some fault with themain hotel suppy, So struggled a bit to have a shower during the last few days.
The food was very good, lack variety but very tasty.
All drinks and cocktails were free and barmen was ever willing to make you a cocktail however many times you would ask him. For the children there were non alchoholic cocktails which the barmen was ever willing to make. (with a smile)
The holel was very clean and there are c;leaners cleaning all the time. The staff taking care of the rides are extremely friendly.
ONE WARNING - there are tour guides, specially if you have booked through Hoteld4U, who would come and try to sell you tours at a massively inflated rate,. One such guid called HAMMID who came to meet us the day after we checked into the hotel lied to us and sold us a tour to the mountains telling us that it was going to the waterfalls. We paid him a lot of money and the next day when we were going for this tour it was acctually a tour to the foot hills of the mountains. We then refused to go on the tour as this is not what we wanted and you could get a tour of the mountais and water falls or similar tour for half the price from the hotel. When we confronted Hammid he said that if we come with Hotels4u / medhotels that we should go with them and only with them. I called up Hotels4u and they denied such thing obviously!! Hammid then refused to pay the money back and said he was going to pay the hotel directly to take us to the mountains. We found out that was lie the day before we were to leave and missed the oppertunity to go on the tour. After many arguments and fights, which you don't need when one is on holiday we got the money back and went on the tour with hotel in the last minute.
He is still going ariound the hotel every morning trying to get gests to go on his tours so BE AWARE !!!! check out the hotel rates and the rates with the animation team if you are planning on any tours.

Room Tip: We took a room in 2000 block upstairs, but I think a room on the ground floor more convenient and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My friend and I booked a three night stay in this hotel and we weren't disappointed. we were there fro three nights and loved it! the hotel is very comfortable and extremely clean, the food is wonderful and plentiful, and the staff cannot do enough to help you and make you feel at home Twenty kilometres from the city centre, but a shuttle service daily and very cheap taxis means that you get the luxury of the hotel with the traditional stuff on the doorstep. The trips organised by the hotel were very inexpensive and really good, also the animation Team were hilarious and helpful. for our visit, the hotel was not busy at all so we had the facilities at our disposal with no screaming kids....what a bonus! of course I suppose that would vary from season to season, but the complex is large and would take some filling. Rated as a 5 star but I would say nearer a 4, simply because of a lack of bathroom toiletries and those little details that we come to expect. however, it was as I said a very comfortable place with everything that you could wish for in respect of facilities , food and entertainment. would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We asked for a pool view and a high floor and got what we wanted, but all the rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englanf
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The animation team was the best izzy was better the hotel was lovely and the staff were very kind a lot to do here and would advise families to come here. Marrakech is a really nice country and would love to come back anytime. The food is lovely. You can go to the old and new marrakech with the animation team which was fun and diffrent. Kamar salah maha fikri from the Micky mouse are fun as well there is plenty of things to do during the night e.g piano piano they do kids discos and other Moroccan entertainment.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Firstly let's start with the positives...
# Animation team were fantastic, very friendly and helpful at all times.
# Water park was large in size, many different slides and pools.
# Resort was very quiet when we went in October.
# There are three main pools to give you a little variety; one by the restaurants, one by animation.
# Always staff member around the place cleaning.
# Room was decent size and maid service daily if you wish.
# Problems were dealt with in a timely manner (shower pressure, lighting, safety security box)
# Most staff members were friendly and readily willing to help.
# Weather was super, highs of 36 degrees Celsius in October!
# Private transfers to and fro hotel were great, on time and friendly.

Bad bits...
# Entertainment could be improved, don't get me wrong, the animation team are great and try extremely hard. But, there could be more on offer for adult entertainment.
# If you visit the local town, be prepared to be hassled by store workers and the likes. Me and my partner didn't like this one bit.
# Food could have been quite a bit better to be honest, most of the time we had to settle for a pasta dish. Desserts..oh boy where do I start. Melon was pretty good though!
# When you arrive in the Marrakesh airport make sure to grab a form and queue up immediately, filling out as you wait, otherwise you could be there ages!! As we know all to well.
# Didn't venture out much, there were excursions on offer pretty reasonably prices as well. However some of the locals put us off going by ourselves.


I would recommend for families, or for anyone who wants an out of season sunshine holiday.
We did enjoy our holiday and were just a little picky with the 'bad' bits. Don't be put off, it will give you lots of fun!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Address: 18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#107 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 18 km from Marrakech, the Aqua Fun Club covers an area of 8 hectares with the largest water park in Morocco, with no less than 57 slides, ideal for your holidays with family or friends. Aqua Fun Club has 262 comfortable and well equipped rooms, including 107 family rooms, 149 standard rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 royal suite. They are all air conditioned and include a seating area with a private balcony overlooking the pool or garden, and feature a mini-bar, safe-box, phone, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are equipped with shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. The Aqua Fun Club offers varied dining options served in different restaurants: the Asiatique, the Mediterranean, the Pizza Pino and the Tajine. You can also have a drink in the hotel bars or enjoy the private nightclub. The hotel also features several amenities, including a spa, a tennis court, mini football, mini golf, a children's club, free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service. The Aqua Park offers several varieties: Slides, water tracks, wave pool, water tree, children's wading pool, whirlpools and many other surprises .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.