We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant and would come again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club to your Saves list
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Brilliant and would come again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I am writing this after 5 days at the aqua fun hotel and has been brilliant so far. We arrived on Wednesday breezing through passport control at Marrakesh Airport The Reception Staff welcomed us to the resort and a very nice smiling porter showed us to our room. It was perfect...large an spacious.
We loved the food, there was something for everyone as the restaurant has a different choice of food each day and for for each meal time. European, Pasta Moroccan and Indian and Chinese. If you are a pie and chips man you may be disappointed, but for most people you will find something that suits you everyday.

The local drinks were all great, very nice beer, variety of spirits, wines and cocktails and the The bar staff were brilliant, very friendly and will even make your own custom cocktails if you ask them. Best of all, we never had to queue for drinks


It was not so much a Hotel but a resort with large spacious grounds meaning you where never on top of each other. The hotel aqua park is situated next the hotel so ideal if you have older children with excess energy. If you want it a little quieter use the pools away from the Aqua Park as the music can be a bit loud. We never had issues getting a sunbeds and tended to go to the pool near the aqua park because our rooms were in the 200s

We went into Marrakesh on the 10am bus when we arrived the square was not full. Beware of the many people who ask for money for photo's at they can be very intimidating if take one and refuse to pay. Also beware of friendly henna woman who if you say no or “later” take hold of your hand and wont let go continue to quirt a design you don’t want and badger you for money. Do not drink or eat anything in the market square as I had an orange juice at a café and was very sick within a few hours.

The hotel was cleaned constantly and I have never seen such an extreme cleaning regime and I am sure that it continues with the hygiene in the kitchens and everywhere. It may be claimed a 5 star in Morocco, but it is 4 star on European standards.
The evening entertainment is a duo in the bar by the reception, various animation team shows ,karaoke and occasional snake charmer and belly dancer shows typical of most all inclusive hotels. There was a night club as well but we did not use it, so I don't know what it was like.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waleed E, Manager at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Many thanks for your nice review.
We will be very honoured to welcome you, if you intend to come back again for your holidays.
Our reception staff and porters will be ready for you with a smile as usual.
Also, everyday we are working to make our rooms more comfortable for our guests.
Food is always varied to satisfy every customer, and some special needs.
For guests who would like to visit Marrakech, we provide a free bus twice a day. The others who remain in the hotel could enjoy our animation's day and night entertainment, within the spacious areas of the club.
Please don't hesitate to come again, we are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    520
    208
    112
    121
See reviews for
730
322
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I really do not know what people are moaning about, myself and my boyfriend are pretty well travelled and have been to dozens of hotels all over the world and this hotel is lovely, you can see that they have had some problems but this is a new hotel and is to be expected, but they appear to have overcome them, the staff are very nice and are cleaning and gardening throughout the whole day.

The food was lovely, lots of choice, they state there are 3 restaurants but there is only 1 large 1 which serves 3 different types of food, Asian, Moroccan and Mediterranean, they also cook barbeque meat or fish every night.

The water park is great fun and a nice escape from the usual pool holiday, if you have kids they will love it, the entertainment staff are great with the kids and very friendly, Sarah especially.

My only moan is that the local brand of alcohol is pretty grime but this is to be expected, please go with an open mind and i am sure you will have a great time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waleed E, Manager at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
How nice of you to write a review about your stay in our hotel.
We truly thank you for your kind words.
We hope you will come visit us again, be sure you will find the hotel better than before.
Day by day, we host more satisfied customers, and this is due to the improvement in customer`s service, thanks to your suggestions.
Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a week in the hotel and had a brilliant holiday, we arrived on Saturday night after horrendous queuing at passport control at Marrakech airport (be prepared to queue!) and were greeted by very friendly reception staff and porters. Our room was perfect, large and everything worked. (but perhaps needed a bit of colour, was quite plain as it was all brand new)
We loved the food, there was something for everyone as the restaurant had different food each day for each meal time, the mickey mouse club had a small buffett with ice cream for children and the bar next to the oriental tent served panninis and fries mid afternoon. We especially enjoyed the Irish coffee trolley where the coffees were prepared at your table when requested during the evening meal.
The drinks were all great, very nice beer, variety of spirits, wines and cocktails and the staff will even make you surprise cocktails if you ask them! We never had to queue for drinks!
The staff were brilliant, very friendly, I can only guess that if other guests found the staff rude, these guests must of been rude to the staff to begin with!
The hotel water park was great fun and there was a large free pool room.
We never had issues getting a sunbed and tended to go to the pool near the mickey mouse club.
We had a great trip into town on the free shuttle bus, we went for the 10am bus as others had said that the 3pm bus left you too long in town and it was too hot this time of day. We had no problems with hassle and mananged to do some bartering.
One problem we did have was getting change to tip the staff, we only got big notes at the airport so make sure you get change when you go into town as the hotel wont change big notes for small.
The hotel was very clean and staff were constantly mopping the floor, neither myself or my boyfriend were ill.
The gym was good if you like weights and a treadmill. The nightclub is decorated very well but unfortunately no one went to it? I am not sure if the guests know where it is but it is in reception, down the stairs under the piano piano sign.
As other reviews have said, its not a 5* but is defintately a good 4*.
We would definately go back, we had a wonderful relaxing week and met lots of nice people! We didnt hear any complaints from our fellow guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room above the restaurant which was very good, we didn't hear any other guests sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waleed E, Manager at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
very nice of you to give your point of view about our hotel.
The hotel is called "Aqua Fun Club", so we make sure every guest gets as much fun as possible.
Thus, we do our best to provide a variety of entertainment, day and night, to make everyone happy.
Also, our staff has been given the best customer service training to guarantee a memorable holiday for our guests among their families and friends.
We understand the frustration of some customers regarding some minor issues.So, we ascertain that it is sorted out shortly and assure it Will not disrupt our visitors stay.
Again, thank you and we look forward to meet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Just returned from a week at the hotel. The staff most definitely made our week. If you make an effort with them they are extremely friendly. My husband learnt a few words of arabic from the animation team and the staff were extremely impressed with our simple words of hello and thank you in Arabic every day. The staff are like most people: be polite and friendly and that is what you get back. Be rude (which we unfortunately saw) and they will not respond to you and quite right too. It was my husband's birthday whilst we were away and I lost count of the number of Happy Birthday wishes he got from the staff.

Yes there were minor gripes but all in all an excellent stay. Agreed the food could be better but we always found something to eat and food was freely available during the day and night. Its not a 5 star in UK standards but for the price we paid it was tremendous value.
The fun park is excellent for children of all ages including adults!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Day 2 of our holiday. Fabulous place, people and food. As other have said not ENGLISH 5 star, but defiantly a 4 star. Few minor faults, nothing to upset the holiday. Looking forward to the next 5 days of SUN, GOOD FOOD AND RELAXATION.

Room Tip: Ask politely and they will do their best to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

On Sunday 28th of August me and my family travelled to Pickalbatross Aqua Fun Club in Marrakech. Having read some of the negative reviews we went with an open mind. We arrived at the airport and were shown to our coach.
When we got to the coach an apparently friendly man took our bags and loaded them into the coach. When we went to board the coach however he insisted we tip him and, having just stepped off the plane, none of use had much in the way of change and we 'tipped' the man a pound which is all the change we had at the time, to which the man looked almost insulted that we hadnt payed him more for his work of less than one minute.
However after a slight delay in setting off we arrived at the hotel within half an hour and were immediately impressed. The hotel is situated on an extremely long road on which there is much baron land with very little in the way of pretty sites. So when we stepped off the coach and saw the hotel it was a stark difference to the surrounding areas. We were greeted with some sort of fruit juice cocktails.
After checking in our room wasn't ready immediately but we were told our bags would be safe outside the front of the lobby when they were carefully watched by several members of staff.
If there is a faults to me made about the hotel I would suggest that it is the adult entertainment. There was a moroccan show on one occasion which was entertaining and there was a karaoke night which was also enjoyable. There were some mediocre singers outside the 'Le Charlot Bar' every night. However there could possibly be more entertainment as there wasnt an awful lot to do on a night time.
The pool room at first glance was excellent with 6 pool tables. However on further inspection all of the cues were tipless due to pure vandalism from some of the guests. At a guess it is the younger children playing with them and not being minded by parents. The hotel replaced the cues but they were all broken again within a day! Many of the tables didnt have complete sets of balls either. I think that the hotel should possibly keep the pool equipment behind the bar and require a refundable deposit to prevent this annoying problem.
The rooms, despite being huge, were excellent and contained extremely large beds. After returning to our rooms after the cleaners had been we were impressed to find any laundry that we had left lying around had been collected, folded and left neatly on the bottom of the beds.
Our building overlooked a large pool which had a very quiet relaxed atmosphere. However over the other end of the site, there was another large pool at which the 'Animation Team' were based. This is the pool where my family with a 17 year old son and 15 and 10 year old daughters tended to go to during the day. This pool is much more lively with music being played throughout the day and activities in and around the pool being held.
Although the english of some of the staff was minimal, the english of the 'Animation Team' was faultless. The animation team was made up of a fair few member (we weren't sure exactly how many as they worked on a rota). However there were 4 members in particular who stood out. Housni and Sim were two of the men who were often involved in the games in the pool such as volleyball, waterpolo and other small fun games. They were both very friendly and would always say hello when they walked by and often stopped to see how we were doing. However Sarah and Hasan were 2 members of the team who we noticed were constantly in and around the pool even when there were no activities on. They were both extremely friendly and would make an effort to come over and say hello if they saw you from a distance. They both showed a genuine interest in what we had to say and were excited to share stories and information with us. The 2 of them both took the rolls of doing the childrens entertainment and the children responded excellently to them both.
The water park was huge and had a large variety of slides with a variety of double and single dinghys and mats that meant that we went to the water park for several hours every day without every getting bored.
There are 3 resteraunts serving different types of food (Moroccan, Asian and Mediterannean) that are connected and you can easily move between the 3 of them with ease and chose easily from a range of well prepared food. Any food that I did not like was simply due to my tastes as I could not fault the chefs on any single occasion.
The members of staff are constantly cleaning, from the men with the mops around the pool, to the waiters collecting glasses and we could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel. On several occasions I have seen many members of staff still cleaning in the early hours in the morning. In all we had an excellent holiday and made some fantastic friends! Would leap at the opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed at hotel 3rd - 10th September (last day today). I believe star ratings are based on facilities on offer which would definitely make this 5 star.

Best points for me:
- staff constantly cleaning hotel. At any one point you can probably see three members of staff mopping floor, cleaning glass, checking water in pool. Even saw a woman cleaning the stage area in one of the bars while an act was performing!
- the space to relax. The complex is huge (Internet says 10 pools which I can believe). Each surrounded by wooden sun loungers. Have only seen these before in Thailand and they are much more comfortable than usual plastic ones.
- aqua park. Great fun and little queing
- bar staff very friendly and eager to please
- food. Excellent quality and taste and most of it but nice pizzas and paninies made to order for less adventurous
- morrocan people. In the main very friendly and felt safe at all times
-free wifi in hotel and rooms

Would recommend taxi driver Mohammed (his details are on one of the pictures on aquafunpark's Facebook page). He will give you private tours of morocco. We hired his taxi for the day and went to the Atlas Mountains with him for 400 derhams (£40). Speaks good English and showed us many sites on route.

Definitely coming back in a few years or visiting their sister hotel in Egypt.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Address: 18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 18 km from Marrakech, the Aqua Fun Club covers an area of 8 hectares with the largest water park in Morocco, with no less than 57 slides, ideal for your holidays with family or friends. Aqua Fun Club has 262 comfortable and well equipped rooms, including 107 family rooms, 149 standard rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 royal suite. They are all air conditioned and include a seating area with a private balcony overlooking the pool or garden, and feature a mini-bar, safe-box, phone, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are equipped with shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. The Aqua Fun Club offers varied dining options served in different restaurants: the Asiatique, the Mediterranean, the Pizza Pino and the Tajine. You can also have a drink in the hotel bars or enjoy the private nightclub. The hotel also features several amenities, including a spa, a tennis court, mini football, mini golf, a children's club, free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service. The Aqua Park offers several varieties: Slides, water tracks, wave pool, water tree, children's wading pool, whirlpools and many other surprises .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.