We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great for everyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club to your Saves list
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children, aged 12 and 5. We stayed at the Aqua Fun Club for 1 week and we left on the 31st August. We arrived at the hotel at 10.30am but check-in wasn't until 3pm. We were told that our room would be ready by midday and the reception staff did offer us a room to get changed in so we could use the facilities but we were happy to wait until we got our room. We were given drinks whilst sitting in the hotel lobby and our room was ready at 12.30pm. It was a lovely room on the ground floor, as requested.

The food was fantastic. For breakfast there was omlette and pancakes made fresh every morning, cereals, yoghurts and fruit. There was pizza and pasta made to order and also a variety of dishes and delicious desserts for lunch and dinner. There was an Asian section which had Indian and chinese dishes on offer. There was a good variety so everyone would be happy with something. The service was excellent.

Hotel entertainment during the day takes place by the pool near the Mickey Mouse hut, where kids can also get their lunch and an ice-cream! The other end of the hotel is the Aqua park which is open to other hotels. The slides are amazing and for people with younger children there are 2 other pools where they can have lots of fun, with smaller slides. There are life guards at all slides and around pools.

We also took a trip to the Medina of Marrakech on the free shuttle bus that runs twice a day, this needs to be booked the day before you want to go. We went for the morning shuttle that left the hotel at 10am and arrives back at 1pm so it wasn't too busy in the square and was easy to get around. You have to expect to get pestered by the locals to go into their 'shops' and it is up to you to take it or leave it. We didn't experience any rudeness and did not feel uncomfortable in any way (apart from the heat!)

We did have a problem with towels on a daily basis. They would only leave 2 when there was 4 of us in the room but it wasn't a problem to get more. The reception staff were very helpful in the event we needed them. Evening entertainment could be better but we have to remember it's a new hotel and will have teething problems. Overall, we had a fantastic time, the kids loved it and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waleed E, Manager at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
We would like to thank you for your kind review, and we are always happy to know our guests opinion about our club.

Also, It is our primary mission to ensure that our customers are having fun and enjoying their holidays among their families.

In the meantime, we are doing our best to improve our service and go past our initial troubles.

We hope to see you soon and ascertain the change by yourself.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    464
    186
    96
    114
See reviews for
640
284
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week in August 2011 with 2 children 4 and 10. Weather was very hot and it was quite a trek for the children. Arrived at the hotel and was intitially impressed by it's appearance considering the previous hotel the coach had dropped off at.
We were told to leave all our belongings outside the hotel reception by the water park which we thought was strange and not very secure but did as we were told whilst we attempted to check in. We attempted to check in for 5 hours!!
Each time we and other families went to reception we were greeted pleasantly but as if we they hadn't seen us before, when in reality we had visited the reception over and over again, and were told that house keeping were still in our room and to come back in an hour. We were told this every hour, for 5 hours. During these 5 hours we asked if there was anywhere safe to put the luggage and were told no, it would be fine outside the hotel. We asked for somewhere to shower and change and were told no we couldn't shower but could change in the reception toilets. It was suggested to us that we go and eat so we went to the snack bar and were told that it didn't serve food until 1pm. We pointed out that it was 1pm to which the bartender shrugged and walked off.
We did put swimwear on and used the pools and waterpark which was great even though a number of slides looked rather unsafe! The water park had a number of cabanas around it in which to relax however all, and most sunbeds and parasols were 'reserved' with people's towels and belongings all day everyday with no sign of any people.
We found somewhere to sit and the children were more than happy in the pools until a sandstorm hit! Never seen and thing like it, the air was filled with flying sand the sun beds, towels and garden ornaments were flying into the pools. Staff looked terrified and were shouting at people to get out of the pool. Like many others who had no room to go to we headed for reception to find staff desperately holding the glass doors closed and the place packed! Still no urgency to get us to our rooms however. By 4pm we were still being told there was no room so we did a bit of foot stamping and the key appeared. The room was nice and quite large but it hadn't been cleaned very well and wasn't cleaned very well all week. It certainly was new which suggests the 'opening' in June 11 was following a refurb, a bad one. The carpet was dirty and not fitted at the edges, the tiles on the verandah had been replaced with ones that didn't match and the plaster was crumbling off the walls in every corner. The were no tea making facilities in the room, only 4 coat hangers and never a towel each all week but it seemed pleasant enough. It turned out we did better than others though. 1 family of 3 were given a room with only 2 beds and were told to bring a sunlounger in from round the pool for the 3rd person!
The holiday was all inclusive which meant we had to wear a wristband and eat in a big Buffet restaurant, which I hate. They claimed they had 3 different restaurants but they didn't it was one big canteen with 3 different areas. 'chefs' cooking the fresh food were rude, surly, slow and lacked skill or initiative. The food was pretty much the same each day and was laced with salt. One morning I watched the restaurant manager sweep up the spilt cereals off the counter with his hands and put them back into the top of the dispenser! There was no option to eat anywhere else except to pay at a pizza restaurant/fast food outlet but that didn't look ant better.
Drinks were ok, when they had something to serve them in and hadn't run out! On a number of occasions the resort was reported to have run out of draught and bottled beer, not that this affected us but being served a coke in a paper espresso thimble did!! This was a regular occurrence as was the lack of ice for drinks, unless you were pairs if women with big gobs and everything on show at which point the staff managed to find beautiful cocktail glasses and plenty of ice, these people could also order their drinks by standing at the back of the queue and shouting there order to the staff which was then attended to in front of others who had been patiently queuing and being forced to accept 50ml of warm drink in a paper cup!
Entertainment was provided but was poor, information as to when and where it was to be held was inaccurate for which no apology was made to the extent that one night we took the itinerary down and handed it back to them as they were accusing us if reading it wrong when it turned out the entertainer had actually missed the bus and was late.
Very disappointing place. Water park was great for the kids though. Incidentally during a walk around the water park we found showers, changing rooms and lockers all which could have been offered to us during our 5 hour wait when we were told there were no such facilities. Food was rubbish, service and maintance were poor. There was rarely any hot water for a shower and no water at all if someone had the pool shower on, we discovered on a number of occasions. One day our little boy ran back to the room to use the loo whilst we were outside. He came back and said there was a man in the room. We went to investigate as we had not been advised of anyone. It transpired it was someone who had come to fix the bath plug which we had to remove with tweezers each day. This was reported the day we got there and this was the 4th day. The man was no longer in the room but he had kindly left a few tools lying around including an 8 inch hacksaw blade for my son to play with.
Not a good place but for the money we paid I suppose we shouldn't have expected much better.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waleed E, Manager at Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Valuable guest,
We are always ready to read every review about our hotel whether it is good or bad.
Day by day, our guests feed back is helping us improve our service.
We have dedicated all efforts to better reception check in, Aqua park safety and rooms’ cleanliness and amenities.
Also, food is varied everyday with many choices from local food, Mediterranean to Asian dishes, with a special menu for children.
Day and evening entertainment are becoming a real attraction thanks to the amazing work of our animation team.
In fact, everyone has noticed the positive change in reviews, and this is mostly due to the wonderful impact of your opinions.
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merzouga, Morocco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Booked with Broadway Travel and stayed at the Aqua Fun Club in Aug 2011 with three children aged 11-13.. The weather was great,and there was a range of pools of various size and depths to suit people of different ages..

Our accommodation was excellent - spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. Varied food was available from 0700-2400hrs with the exception of between 1100-1230hrs and 1800-1900hrs. Four bars were open from 1000-2400hrs.

We found the service to be efficient, friendly and professional and the Moroccan people to be generally humorous folk..

The hotel is approx 20 minutes drive from the centre of Marrakech and during the day we visited the souks where the stall owners try to work out your nationality as you pass by calling out 'genuine fakes here!' and ' 'buy from us, we're cheaper than Asda!' returning at night to the busy main square, Djemaa el fna to watch the story tellers.

We've been to Marrakech many times but not stayed in an A1 hotel before. It was definitely an experience and the children enjoyed themselves immensely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Aqua fun club was out of this word. I am booking to go back, the hotel was great for Adultds, teens and the kids. If you do or dont have a family it is still a great hotel. My room was great ! The food was out of this world.

The Aqua park was great but the floor was slippy. Lots of slides for all people even babys. And they have sun beds so you can watch you Family / Friends having a great time. But if you want to get away from the water park and have more of a quiet time yoy can go to one of the meany other pools, laying in the sun or going for a dip in the pool.

The people/ staff where great lovley and helping to everyone. There was also free pool tables if you want time out from the sun.

What a great holiday

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We arrived as a group of 8 with 4 c hildren at 10.am unaware that check- in wasn't till 15.00hrs. We were allowed to use all the facilities but was unhappy when at 15hrs was told the rooms were not ready. We expressed our disatisfaction and was given one at 15.20 then the other room at 16.30 followed by bed linen at midnight. Reception staff clarfied our rooms were ground floor but once escorted there we saw they were first floor, this was not a good start, we did not complain as we were happy with the location. Our safe was locked and not opened until the next day. Once opened the staff observed there were no batteries, we waited 5 days before the batteries arrived even though we went to reception daily. Hot water was a problem, very hit and miss. Towels were a constant problem, never enough, arriving late, and on one ocassion we had to use the beach towels and on another ocassion borrow from another room. We found the reception staff helpless, pretentious and in some cases blatant liars. The Manager Miss Bouchra was no better, making arrangements to meet with me on two ocassisons, both days she was on pre-planned leave. Avoid 'Donia' if you have a problem, you will find her very confrontational and in need of customer training. 'Naila' tried hard to accomodate and the 'bell men' provided a first class service.
The rooms are spacious, clean and to a good standard. The premises overall is very clean with cleaning taking place throughout the day, we had no concerns about hygiene practices of the staff, more of that of the visitors.
The food was very good, tasty, moroccan, varied. If you only eat plain then you will have to que for pizza, omlettes and chips. The restaurant staff were very pleasant and efficient.
The waterpark facilities is first class for children and adults alike. Unfortunately you have to be physically fit and able to take full advantage as there are many steps to climb and you have to do so carrying your own boat, ring, mat etc. No fun for an ageing granny like myself.
You really don't have to leave the complex! the hotel is in the middle of no where, you can't even go for a walk, so you have to taxi everywhere. There was so much to do we only went out once, but naturally if you want to explore there is camel riding, quad biking, markets, the mountains.
Ignore the hotels publicity regarding transfers to the airport, that does not apply, although they do free daily transfers to the city which is lively and worth a visit. There is a different atmosphere at night but you will have to pay about 400return dh.
There is little by way of hotel entertainment: bingo (couldn't understand the caller) Kareoke (not well organised) Snake charming and morrocan dancing (very good -make sure you take your camera).The disco was ok and the DJ will play your requests if he has it.
We found out by mistake the children can get inclusive icecream from the MIckey Mouse Club
We do recommend the hotel, there was no pressure to tip and as it is fully inclusive so nothing to purchase. INCLUSIVE WIRELESS INTERNET and inclusive use of a computer. I have spent a fortune on computer access on other holidays so I found this a fantastic facility.
Overall we found this to be a terrific holiday, excellent value for money and most suitable for families. If you are travelling without children I would suggest somewhere where the service is taken more seriously.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool the other views are not attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We purchased a day pass for this place, we were staying in Marrakech and drove past it on an excursion, it looked amazing from the outside so we thought we'd try it out for a day. There were lots of slides and it all looked pretty new. There were areas with balinese style beds whilst other areas such as the princess castle had really old plastic loungers. It all looked very clean and fun until I broke two of my toes. I broke my toes on the "Multi Slide", for such a high slide the splash pool was very shallow. Because of this I landed on my foot and elbow (which now has a massive golf ball sized lump) my big toenail came off and it was bleeding. I came straight out of the water and my boyfriend found staff who then made me walk to another person (when I say walking I mean hopping) who then led me to a locked door behind one of the slides, he was radioing through for assistance but no one would come, so I was then asked to walk somewhere else! By this time I was in agony, I had a whole toenail hanging off which was bleeding and couldn't walk on it as all my toes were in pain. I was hobbling yet asked to walk from place to place dripping blood everywhere but my boyfriend had enough and said no, after about 40 minutes a lady with a first aid kit come over and stopped the bleeding and put a bandage over my toes and said I couldn't go in water. We went to one of the small kids slides so our 5 year old could play and looked everywhere for this non existant "wave pool" the park "boasted" of. We took our son to have a game of crazy golf, there was one golf club and my boyfriend informed me it was a man sized chipper and no way used for putting. There was no ball but the shed attendant informed us we MIGHT get one in reception if not "maybe tomorrow". A lady near the crazy golf informed us a boy had fallen down a man whole a couple of weeks before and had fractured his skull.

We had the buffet which was cheap and very nice though the waiters and waitresses kept arguing about wether drinks were included in the buffet price or not, no one knew and needless to say we did not pay for the drinks. The utensils used to self serve were pretty odd though and I've never seen a buffet place where the utensils are just placed onto dishes with old, cold food on them.

The place was very slippery, there were no anti slip mats on the very smooth paths. We also got stuck in the yellow whirlpool slide and the lazy river was filthy, so filthy and algae green they had shut it off. Apart from that it looked like a fun place but they should pay more attention to health and safety, depths of splashpools and so on...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

If you paid £400 or less including flights then you are getting good value for money.
Rooms are good, clean and spacious, we had rooms in the new block, one facing the pool the other over wasteland. My recommendation would be to ask for rooms overlooking the pool.
The water park music cam be very noisy at times, I would recommend staying around the M/mouse pool and visiting the water park as required.
As said before this is not 5* but more like 3.5*. The food is okay but not catering for young children.

Reception staff are not particularly helpful and not pleasant at times, always we will sort it tomorrow, however tomorrow never comes.

This hotel has the potential to be an excellent stay for a week but staff need better training and a personality. Apart from the hotel, there is nowhere to go in the evening, Marrakech is approx 30 mins by taxi, return fare £25. Marrakech is worth a trip in the eviening but be aware of the traders as some can be quite offensive.

During our stay there was no evidence of D&V, we felt quite safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Address: 18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#115 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 18 km from Marrakech, the Aqua Fun Club covers an area of 8 hectares with the largest water park in Morocco, with no less than 57 slides, ideal for your holidays with family or friends. Aqua Fun Club has 262 comfortable and well equipped rooms, including 107 family rooms, 149 standard rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 royal suite. They are all air conditioned and include a seating area with a private balcony overlooking the pool or garden, and feature a mini-bar, safe-box, phone, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are equipped with shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. The Aqua Fun Club offers varied dining options served in different restaurants: the Asiatique, the Mediterranean, the Pizza Pino and the Tajine. You can also have a drink in the hotel bars or enjoy the private nightclub. The hotel also features several amenities, including a spa, a tennis court, mini football, mini golf, a children's club, free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service. The Aqua Park offers several varieties: Slides, water tracks, wave pool, water tree, children's wading pool, whirlpools and many other surprises .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.