We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel next to amazing Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Save Saved
You added Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel next to amazing Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at the hotel with my wife and two children in midJuly this year and had a fantastic time. We got an amazing deal on the price through Travelzoo and the hotel despite being new did not dissapoint, the food, service and facilties are all excellent. Plus with Marakech so close by it was fantastic to go and explore the old city and then come back to the hotel, where the kids had a great time messing around on the slides in the aqua park. Would definitely recommend for a family holiday, either you can spend your whole time at the hotel or if you are like us and want to see some local culture on your holiday too, then this hotel offers the best of both worlds. We liked the fact that you could explore the hustle and bustle of Marrakech but that the hotel was out of the town, so it felt like you were in an All Inclusive resort that you would get by the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    428
    162
    89
    100
See reviews for
579
266
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and 16 year old son on 9th July for a week. Like everyone else I had read all the bad reviews prior to our trip so went armed with contact numbers for Broadway Travel whom we had booked with. I feared the worst and was not looking forward to our much needed holiday!
However, our taxi driver greeted us at Menara airport which was a good start and we dared to hope that perhaps it was not going to be as bad as we had thought.
The hotel was grand and our room was great, in a new building near the restaurants overlooking olive groves at the back of the hotel. The air conditioning worked ( which was a big relief ) and the building works looked pretty much finished apart from a couple of the slides at the water park.
The food was delicious and varied, the asian curries were amazing and there was enough choice to suit all my family. None of us had any tummy problems.
The courtesy bus into town was a bonus and we went there most afternoons, it was boiling hot but the fresh orange juice on sale in the square for 40p a glass helped.
We stayed in Marrakech one evening and ate in the square which was an experience, the taxi back cost 200 dirham , about £18 which was good value for the half hour trip. A local bus does run from outside the hotel and is very cheap but pot luck as to timings!
Plenty of pools and pool towels are complimentary, like any other resort people seem to get up early to hog the loungers. The staff were continually cleaning , polishing , watering..
What else can I say, I felt we had a very good value holiday and as they say, you get what you pay for!.. i would stay in Marrakech again but probably in a Riad in town.
Happy Holidays!

Room Tip: A quiet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel has great facilities but on the last day i got bad food poisoning and i was terribly sick. The water park is fantastic and i loved going on all the rides.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here 13-20 July, was really worried after reading the negative reviews but needn't have been! We had a lovely room with a pool view, hot water and air con, clean towels everyday. The food was really good, plenty of choice, lots of delicious morrocan dishes, breakfast there is eggs, toast, breads, rolls, croissants , pastries, fruit, yoghurts, pancakes, cheeses etc etc lunchtime, soups, rices, curries, stews, fish, chicken, cold salads, fresh cooked breads, pasta and pizza! Dinnertime had a great selection plus tagines, BBQ etc. Afternoon tea is pastries and cakes in the lobby bar, then you can get panninis and chips in the afternoon from the afadina bar. I think there is only an hour in the morning and afternoon when you can't get food!! Apart from pastries!! The drinks/bar is good, generous measures and chilled Rose wine and beer! Sometimes a bit hit and miss with glasses, and once they had no milk for an hour! But hey ho nothing serious. The waterpark is great fun so many slides, they had a filter problem with the lazy river but that's sorted
now, the staff are very helpful if you are polite and courteous, think they have only been open a few weeks with teething problems and had rude Brits screaming at them! We had a couple of minor moans which they quickly rectified. It's not 5* by uk standards, but it is good value with the added bonus of the aqua park. Take the free shuttle bus into marrakesh it's a worthwhile experience! Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

We arrived back from this resort late last night (25th July) we had been very apprehensive before going having read some of the other reviews.

We took our two 7yr old children and all had a really good time!
I do get the feeling the hotel is improving daily, there were some things that could have frustrated us, like bottled water being free to start, then chargeable later (water dispensers are available though, and bottled water gets left in your room when its serviced) and the fact we had to request to change rooms after the first night, due to being given two twin beds rather than a double and two singles. But on the whole we were very satisfied with the hotel and its facilities.

I think it depends on your expectations, i did hear other guests complaining about the entertainment etc but we had the attitude we were going to enjoy ourselves and did so :) If you are someone that wants nothing but perfection then you will find things to moan about, if you take a more optimistic view you will have a lovely time! You can eat (all happy with food options) practically all day and there is a free shuttle twice daily in to Marrakesh.

I honestly wouldn't let some earlier reviews scare you! We did get this holiday for a reasonable price, had i paid an extra £1000 my expectations may have been different, but to round this up we enjoyed ourselves, the children enjoyed themselves and we have all had some well needed sunshine!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

I havevliterally just returned tOday and thought it appropriate To write a review as therechave been a lot of negatives about AFP... Yes there are negatives but there are also positives... I will start with those..
The waterpark is fully open and if that's your thing it's great, lots of slides, queues to a minimum..
Food, variety was plentiful and the Three main restaurants were good.
Staff, a mixture of good and bad, those that were good were very friendly, helpful and even though a language barrier existed they tried there best.
Negatives...
Location, it's isolated andcyes there is a free shuttle which you should make use of, but you have to book it..
The afternoon snacks are a joke, how panini and chips can be so hard to make is at times a shambles..
There must be some issue with the food or pools as so many people were sick including us, two days of the week were bed ridden..
The smell from the gardens wascat times unbearable, a lot of flooding green mess particularly at the back of the park.
The staff that were not friendly were at times rude.
Let me point out it is not a 5 star resort more like 3 but it is Morocco and you have to take that into account...
The AI rules seem to change a bit at no notice..
All in all go with an open mind but like I say don't expect a European 5 star and enjoy the sunshine...
Would I go back, probably not....

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

Please read .up until now my stay at aqua fun club has been great .my son 9 year old son has been using the sides on the aqua park for the last 5 days and loved them  and today he has been told he can't use the slides any more as they have implemented a minimum age limit of 12 . I spoke to the hotel manager and told him people are not aware of this when booking holiday .he said if I signed a letter taking full responsibility he can go on them? they seem to be making the rules up as they go along

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club

Address: 18, Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 18 km from Marrakech, the Aqua Fun Club covers an area of 8 hectares with the largest water park in Morocco, with no less than 57 slides, ideal for your holidays with family or friends. Aqua Fun Club has 262 comfortable and well equipped rooms, including 107 family rooms, 149 standard rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 royal suite. They are all air conditioned and include a seating area with a private balcony overlooking the pool or garden, and feature a mini-bar, safe-box, phone, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are equipped with shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. The Aqua Fun Club offers varied dining options served in different restaurants: the Asiatique, the Mediterranean, the Pizza Pino and the Tajine. You can also have a drink in the hotel bars or enjoy the private nightclub. The hotel also features several amenities, including a spa, a tennis court, mini football, mini golf, a children's club, free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service. The Aqua Park offers several varieties: Slides, water tracks, wave pool, water tree, children's wading pool, whirlpools and many other surprises .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.