We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stylish hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Du Golf to your Saves list
Hotel Du Golf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit De La Palmeraie BP 1488, Marrakech 40060, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super stylish hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed a couple of weeks ago at this hotel. The hotel is really super, very stylish, the interior and exterior designs are wonderful. The great thing is that you have the use of all the facilities of this hotel and its sister hotel, the Palmeraie Golf so have access to a heated indoor pool and all their other pools as well. Norah, who I think is on the Management team deserves a special mention. She was absolutely lovely, always checking that we were enjoying ourselves and that we were having a good time. A real credit to the Hotel. The Manager at breakfast was also excellent, making sure we had everything we needed.

I would definitely have given the hotel 5 stars but for the poor service around the pool bar where we were just ignored, drinks/food ordered didn't turn up etc. We gave up on day 3. However this didn't spoil our time as we went to the sister Hotel Palmerie Golf for pool bar service where we were served immediately and also had lunch at the Italian restaurant and at the golf club which was very pleasant.


The bedrooms were super and we had a really good night's sleep. The shuttle bus was great and the driver really helpful.

All in all we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We had a nice room with a pool view on a high floor. Double rooms seem to have baths and showers an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    124
    54
    19
    18
See reviews for
62
122
13
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was the first time for me to visit Marrakesh and luckily enough that my accommodation was in Holiday INN Marrakesh as it is located in a lovely resort area with excellent spa , gym & pool facilities.

The room was well equipped and the staff were showing good hospitality.

At the resort area , you can find many international restaurants (but unfortunately none of them offer the local Moroccan cuisine food).

There is a free shuttle bus which you can use to visit Sahat Elfana mosque and King Mohamed V rue.

Overall experience is excellent if you are seeking for a very well established resort and that you can compromise the idea of being near to Marrakesh downtown area.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with a golf area view and located near to the reception area as there some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

i would recommend this hotel , beautiful spacious rooms and decor. Excellent breakfast and range of food and options. oh they have free wi-fi as well so was good, and the hotel has free shuttle to the city so you save money as well .

Room Tip: all rooms are good but try to request the second floor its much more nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evrehailles, Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, very well-appointed rooms with all the amenities, with styling well beyond normal Holiday Inn standards. Frankly it is more like a Crowne Plaza. My only complaint would be that the door did not block sound from the hallway very well. My room had a nice little balcony, big modern bathroom with good lighting, which is rare in the EMEA region, a tea kettle, bathrobes and slippers, lots of outlets, all the good stuff. The breakfast however was mediocre in selection and quality of food, but they did cook eggs to order and make pancakes. It was winter and I was at a conference so I didn't get out much or even see the pool much less use it. In classic American chain style the hotel itself is located well away from the city, behind guarded walls, well insulated from any danger of actually experiencing the country you are in, if you want to avoid it. The golf course is right across the road. So if you want to visit Morocco but feel like you are in a Disneyland version of it, this is a good choice. Safe, clean, comfortable, very nice.....American.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Thats about all the positive side I can say about this resort as its a shambles as far as the management goes. I find it really difficult to find anything positive about this resort and since posting reviews, this is the first time I have felt so disgusted at the sheer lack of any service whatsoever.

The check in and onwards was just full of problems throughout but by far the worst was the attitude of most of the staff. Rude and ignorant is the best way I can put it. The barmen were by far a class of their own. It was a privilege to be served by them or at least it felt that way. I asked for a drink and the barman told me they had none. I did think he was joking until he walked off. He spent the rest of the time yawning and leaning on the coffee machine trying to sleep.
The breakfast on the first morning looked like someone had thrown everything across the breakfast room. There was a big corporate party in and as they left, the staff simply ignored the mess and left everything where it was. We made up our own table and got our own coffee and tea. The next day there were two managers I think in the room and it was very different. The tables were cleared and places set out.

We went to eat in the resort and went to 5 restaurants and could not get a table despite them being half empty.The receptionist told us in the afternoon there was no need to make a reservation as you can always get a table. We ended up in the bar paying 600mad for very poor quality food.

The courtesy shuttle comes form across the resort and does not even come in sometimes to the holiday inn. The first time we tried, the bus pulled in the driver got out began shouting into his mobile then got back in the bus and drove off. We waited till the next one 2 hours later but that didn't even turn up.

Its a long way to the centre and works out expensive every day to go in and out. There is however an abundance of great places to go once there where you will get outstanding service. Kosy Lounge, Pepe Nero and Gastro MK. These are the same if not cheaper to eat and by far the best places we found. it will work out cheaper to go there than be spoken to rudely and given at best average food.

if you want to stay at this resort don't expect any service but expect a really good room if you book a suite

Room Tip: get a suite and go eat in the centre and save your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Nice hotel. Beautiful spacious rooms and decor. Excellent breakfast and range of food and options.

Wifi FAR too slow and completely unreliable. Service disappointing in the main.

Recommended, but not typical Moroccan. Completely modern rooms and nicely styled. Lots of plugs and sockets and amenities in the room. Lovely beds and pillows.

I was with work so didn't explore usage on a personal level.

Big fan of Marrakech. Not a mega fan of this hotel.

I've stayed in many Holiday Inns in the past and definitely the best one.

Think it's their flagship hotel...... ....................

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed in many Holiday Inns across Europe and Asia but this was my first in Africa, and what a treat it was! Being a Platinum Holiday Inn Member (Priority Club) I was automatically given a Beautiful and very spacious suite overlooking the golf course and mountains (see Pic Below). The Check in experience was good, but not perfect! Saying that the more i got to know the Team the more welcoming and friendly they were, this was mainly down to the language barrier, their English was about as good as my French!! Although there was a few people that spoke Good English (Mainly Mona, Sophia, Sara, Tariq & Zidane) the 6 people i have mentioned really did go the extra mile and made my stay that little more special, (Thank you to you all).
The Food was fantastic and being in the leisure trade all my life i know the difference, and the service in general lived up to its 5 star rating. The Rooms/Suites were spotlessly clean, and fresh sheets were delivered and made up every day. The beds were far too comfortable which made getting up in the mornings hard work!!!! Seriously though they had either Feather mattress's or a Feather Mattress topper, whatever it was i wish i owned one. The only issue i had with the cleaning was there were no wet floor signs, and considering the entire hotel flooring is marble it was like a skating rink most mornings.
Overall, it was one of the nicest Holiday inns I’ve ever stayed in, only super seeded by the Holiday inn Pattaya Thailand.
One thing i didnt realise until my 3rd day was the hotel is part of a complex, and short walk to a huge communal Pool, restaurants (Japanese, Brazilian, Moroccan etc) which were all good, there’s also clothes and gift shops dotted about. The Hotel is about a 15 minute taxi journey to the albeit wonderful mayhem of the medina and the new town, although there is a free courtesy Coach running there and back from the hotel. The Taxi is a fixed rate of 100 Dirham’s (£8.00) each way (excluding tips). One slight fault is the safes in the rooms, the strong and sturdy, but fixed to the inside of a chest of drawers, so you could just pinch the drawer? Not that i was ever concerned about leaving valubles in my room, the Hotel was very safe
All in all, an awesome Hotel and a fantastic Country....
TIPS:
They don’t speak Arabic, nearly all people speak French
They except, US Dollars, Euros and Sterling as well as their own currency / Dirham’s
Don’t change your money in the UK much better rates in Marrakech (and you are only allowed to take approx £92 /1000 Dirham’s into the country.
Do not take photos of the guards in their ancient and Traditional Uniforms, its completely illegal (i found out the hard way!)
Always carry small amounts of currency, as tipping is a must, and small notes/denominations are hard to come by.
If anyone entertains you (belly dancers, snake charmers etc), don’t take a photo of them until you arrange a price first.
If going to the Medina or New Town, arrange with the Taxi that drops you off to pick you up at a set time, as the competition between Taxi drivers especially outside the Medina is fierce and aggressive to say the least.
Lastly, Watch your back/wallet in the Souk Markets!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Golf

Address: Circuit De La Palmeraie BP 1488, Marrakech 40060, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Du Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Du Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.