We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place with lovely staff. Plus it's easy to find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mboja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Mboja to your Saves list
Riad Mboja
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   no 4, Derb Jdid | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #772 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming place with lovely staff. Plus it's easy to find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Mboja is a lovely little riad located conveniently and close to Djemaa el-Fna (10 minutes walk, but an easy one - forget about the maze of central Medina, here you get all attractions of the old city part with no risk of getting lost... as long as you're not super clumsy). The riad is run by a French lady - who we did not met in person - and her fantastic Moroccan staff. Very warm people, all smiles. The riad has a homey feel to it. If you have a problem, for sure you won't be left alone with it.

There was a mix-up with our booking and we were given a smaller room than we needed (it's a key word - we travelled with an infant). Ours was already taken. The owner, on the phone, was very dedicated to help us in every possible way. All turned out OK and the solution turned out easy - fellow travellers switched their room for ours - but it's always great to feel the staff cares 200%. Not that common, after all...

Rooms are clean and comfortable, although a bit too dark. Assuming you don't spend too much time inside it should not be a problem, but I prefer brighter rooms. Other than that everything is fine. Breakfasts are very tasty. Do spend time on the roof, it's lovely!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

First, we came from the airport, with the chauffeur-service, with didn't speak english, but was so nice and a smiley face that our first opinion of moroccan people was quite nice and funny!
Very warm and welcoming people.
Second, the arrival at Riad Mboja.....That's it !
They are really, really warm and welcoming people, nice and gentle, the owners are a french couple, real good english speaking.
They seems to know a lot about their city, providing such good advises and tips, for you to avoid as many bad things as it can be done.
Really helpful...
The Riad is a beauty, tiny place with 6 rooms, nice furnitures, seems quite new, and rally clean by the way.
So were our room ("Emeraude"), so comfy!
You must see the roof terrace, with a wonderful point of view over the city, with the Atlas mountains (it seems that we were lucky to actually see it !), perfect meanwhile your mint tea's coming.
You won't get lost, unless you rally want to, because the main place is straight, and less than ten minutes walk...great if you wanna have your dinners at night over there!
We've been on a 3 days trip to the desert (thanks to your advises, alicia), and this won't leave our memories for an everlasting time !
WONDEFUL....the countries, the roads, everything is such a beauty.
Thanks again for everything, because this is gonna remain an unforgettable journey to us.

Room Tip: The "Emerude" room is a beauty, with A/C, a safe for your money and passports, a nice bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

We were here in january,the Riad is really Charming,in a Nice location...
Most of all,the owners and the team working there were so nice to us (english speaking), Always here to inform you in any matters(we spend so much time talking with alixia,so nice)
We would really recommend this nice and friendly riad

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had a great time at Riad mboja, lovely friendly staff and a beautiful Accommodation. The rooms are awesome, very clean and the bathrooms are fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mboja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mboja

Address: no 4, Derb Jdid | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #772 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mboja 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIAD M'BOJA ideally located in the medina,haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Mboja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mboja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.