We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, but” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toubkal Guide Day Tours

Toubkal Guide Day Tours
Douar Taourirte Asni, Marrakech 42152, Morocco
00212-67115 7636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 529 Activities in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you´re outdoorsy, go for a hike in a national park at the feet of the Atlas Mountains. Waterfalls and other natural beauty are in good supply. The tour provides good information on the park. The guides allow you to choose the difficulty of your hike, including factors such as altitude climbed and the specific types of sights that you would like to see. In any case, you can expect to be brought to many beautiful vantage points. Come with hiking gear.
Garden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yes, but”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We did the three valleys four day hike, in early April. it was magnificent. cherry blossoms and running streams, clear mountain air, the sounds of birds, goats and sheep. the guide, Hassan, was terrific- always aware when one of us (me) had fallen behind, or zoomed ahead and needed rerouting, answering questions,drawing our attention to puzzles we'd missed (upright poles signifying threshing floors, burned bushes near a stream where women had boiled water for laundry), accurately describing hiking times and accommodation standards. he's a treasure.

so why the 'but'? It's worth negotiating in advance with the very busy Jamal. we'd said we were vegetErianת, should have negotiated the whole menu, to exclude sugary commercial jams and processed cheeses. (Laughing cow cheese!), pushed for fresh fruit instead of canned (!), plain yoghurt. I brought my own maccinetta, to make morning espresso, a brilliant move,though somewhat to the distress of the donkey driver/ rather surly 'chef'. spaghetti and Frenchfries for dinner? it's odd having NO control over what and when one eats, and with only two of us in the group, it shouldn't have vee so difficult to make djustments. I wish I had insisted on going with them to the shops in Imlil to purchase the food, supplementing the costs as necessary.

Some of the gites had great terraces with magnificent views, and one even had beds and toilet seats - others, just so you know, were mattresses and middle eastern style toilets.

But overall - magnifique!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    28
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Toubkal Climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I had an excellent experience trekking up to the summit of Toubkal. Jamal (The organizer) was excellent before, during and after our trip. He was very attentive, flexible, organised and well priced. Our guide for the trek was houssain he was fantastic!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Toubkal climb with toubkalguide.com”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

An amazing experience, and a very professional organisation!
Jamal, the owner of the company, picked us up at the airport and we stayed at his guesthouse, the Imlil Lodge - a very cosy, family style and Berber-authentic place. Great dinner and lovely breakfast in the sun at the terrace.
Later on in the morning our giude Momammed and one cook with a mule (for carrying equipment) picked us up and we trekked up to the refuge Toubkal at 3200m. Since our summit attempt was in early April, we brought crampons and iceaxes, which was very useful at the steep section right above the Toubkal refuge. The weather was clear but there were incredibly strong winds, with gusts up to 22ms at the summit ridge. Although other parties turned around, Mohammad made it safe for us to gain the ridge and to reach the summit. An exceptional performance!
I warmly recommend toubkalguide.com, the whole trip was organized with almost german precision and timeliness, and you feel really welcome and learn a lot about the Berber culture!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
“3-day desert trip to Merzuga fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

So pleased with everything! The private tour to the desert was an unforgettable experience for many reasons. The accommodations (especially in Dades Gorge) were outstanding as well as the hospitality and friendliness on everyone's part associated with the tour: our driver, our guide, the Riad workers in Dades, and the camel guides in the desert.

Our guide was very professional, yet relaxed and easy going. We both felt very comfortable, safe, and content during every step! Beginning our trip with this tour was the best way to begin our week in Morocco since after the 3 days we had learned so much about the wonderful culture, languages, landscape, and people of Morocco.

I was so enchanted with the trip and the Toubkal Guide Company that I hope to return soon to climb Toubkal with the same guides. Inshallah!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great day out- like walking with a new friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Would highly recommend this trip. What a great day out. Our lovely guide came to collect us from our riad and we set off to the foothills of the snow capped Atlas mountains. We were driven safely in a comfortable car while our guide chatted about the local area. We asked to stop at a shop to buy some argan oil and honey to find that it was a coop run by Berber women who crack the nuts by hand and grind to produce this special oil. Next we stopped at a busy saturday market in the foothills and wandered amongst the stalls selling everything from dates to sheep's heads. No tourists except us and no one pestered us to buy. We travelled higher and further into the foothills til we reached a village. There was a toilet here; hole in the floor type but clean. From here we climbed up though the trees and along the course of a river to waterfalls. I am in my 50's and my daughter in her 20's, you need sensible walking shoes or walking sandals and we clambered over rocks along the way. Very beautiful and very peaceful in March but were told it gets busy later. You will need to let the donkeys and carts pass as some of the tracks are narrow. We walked for 2-3 hours along paths and dirt roads, through Berber villages and orchards. Our guide chatted about local life and it was like walking with a new friend. Last stop for us was a road where we sat in the sunshine while our meal of salads, tagine and fruit were freshly prepared. We slept on the journey back to Marrakech!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toubkal Guide Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Toubkal Guide Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toubkal Guide Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.