We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
lower terrace overlooking the olive grove
lower terrace overlooking the olive grove
lower terrace overlooking the olive grove
view of two terraces
master bedroom
master bedroom
twin or double bedroom
Marrakech
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SaraNamva...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riyadh, amazing city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures and information on the website don't really capture how amazing the design of the property is. Despite the small size, everything you could need has been carefully planned into this unique property. The pool in the living room was really refreshing and I was able to float on my lilo whilst enjoying the relaxing lighting. The The bedroom furniture was very comfortable and the AC really cooled the rooms down which was great after a day sunbathing on the terrace! I loved everything about the house and would recommend it for a comfortable stay. Another great thing about the property is that its very central - 5min walk away from all the action in Jama fina, but down a quiet culdi sack that was silent at night due to the way the streets are designed. The riyadh is also a stone throw away from the kings new palace.

I had my 2.5 year old daughter with me who acts more like a 4 year old and is very aware of danger. She was very good and stayed away from the pool and stairs unless I was right next to her. If you have children that are young and are not likely to listen then I would say this property may be dangerous for small kids - the pool (which does have a drown alarm system fitted) does not have rails around it. Also the staircase banister has great big gaps that even a thin adult could fall through. Needless to say the glass staircase, despite being a work of art is a death trap for kids - with great big gaps between each glass step and massive gaps in the rails - my daughter never went up the staircase unless carried up (only twice!). I do not want to be negative about the property as it was lovely and I would return, but want to make anyone who is planning to travel with children, in particular toddlers to consider the pottential risks.

Problems:
1. The cleaner did not provide fresh towels each day, but instead dried them in the tumble drier and hung them in the sun for 5 days!! The washing machine was chained up and we had to pay to use it (a small fee, but after paying over £100/night I didn't want to pay anything on top)

2. The same breakfast provided EVERY day - breads, pastries (from the freezer!!) and Jam. Coffee not great. For the price paid I was expecting something cooked. In the end we bought our own cheese, eggs and salami from local shops which was lovely

3. On the last day we were almost hurled out the door as a pre-booked taxi was arranged for us for 10am! We had expected to leave at 12 lunchtime as this was the information on the website. The cleaner has informed me that this would happen the day before and I did email the owner to state that I wished to stay till noon but to this day have not received a message back. It was quite annoying as two cleaners turned up quite early banging around and the taxi just turned up...my daughter had been up the night before really ill and we were all exausted.

In summary amazing house, but relativly poor customer service. You will have a comfortable stay as the house is great but I would make sure you clarify what your going to get for breakfast and that you do not want to be pushed out the door at 10am. Also that you do not want the cleaners getting the house ready for the next set of clients whilst your still trying to pack your bags!!!!! I was treated much better at another riyadh I stayed in during my visit in quite a rough part of town for £40/night...

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 2 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The terrace
Liked least: safety issues
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
According to your description and feelings, it seems you did not understand what an exclusive vacation offers : the intimacy of a real home.
It is not in the least a hotel club with an international buffet serving all kinds of food to suit all possible tastes but a private home with a moroccan-french breakfast (coffee with spices-some guests asked where they could buy it-mint tea, milk and cocoa for children, english tea, fresh orange juice, sweet pastries as croissants and brioches, two sorts of jam, honey and moroccan pancakes cooked by Nezha herself and kept inside the freezer just because august in Marrakech is just over 45°) prepared every morning by Nezha whom you call "the cleaner" and who is a very sweet and efficient person appreciated by all our guests for her discretion and smile. If you had asked her for salami and cheese, she would willingly have bought it for you. The concept of Dar Raja makes it a place where you can also cook for yourself and feel at ease as if you were home.
Nezha tries not to stay too long into the riad and after making up the rooms leaves you alone to respect your privacy.
As to the last day, you were supposed to leave the riad at 1100 and the driver who picks up our guests to take them back to the airport drove you to another riad on request at 10 00 because that was what had been organized according to what you let us know. We always let our guests leave their luggage inside the riad if their plane is late and they can even stay as long as they wish if no new guests are due to arrive.
Concerning the children, their safety is obviously mostly important to us. For nearly two years we've had more than twenty families with very young children at Dar Raja and nobody ever complained about the stairs or the pool. We are the only riad in Marrakech with a pool alarm and a barrier would be practically impossible to fit out and even dangerous.
A young child of 2 and a half is not supposed to climb stairs alone or stay near a pool unsupervised.
As to the washing machine, it's been broken by guests once and we had difficulty in having it repaired, so if you want to have your linen washed and dried, Nezha can do it for you for a very small fee as you noticed.
The towels you used got very dirty and in spite of her efforts, Nezha could not remove the stains.
We were sorry to hear your daughter had been ill but you forgot to tell us -you cou ld have called as you had done previously or sent a mail-that the cot had been totally ruined. We had to buy a new one.

Our aim is to make our guests happy, that's why we do our best to come up to their expectations and always answer their requests. We often read or hear :" Thank you for your prompt response".
As a conclusion, their satisfaction is our reward.

Kindest regards

Kad & Lydie Saim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ChantalM2...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Little Piece of Heaven...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Marrakech is a magical place and so is the Riad Dar Raja.
A small oasis where you can relax after visiting the souks or walking the wonderfully chaotic streets of the Medina. It is located at the end of a short cul-de-sac within walking distance of the Place Jemaa el Fna (a must when the sun goes down). The area is safe and the direct neighbours friendly and helpful.
My daughter & I spent a few days there (definitely not long enough...) and we absolutely loved it.
From the patio which is an open-plan space, with dining & kitchen areas & even quite a large plunge pool, you can gaze at the blue sky & hear the birds singing; at night, just close the very cleverly designed sliding glass roof.
A very impressive glass staircase leads to two terraces with wonderful views of the Koutoubia Mosque & the very lush gardens of the legendary Palace Hotel "La Mamounia", which is worth a visit, though staying there would definitely make a dent in your budget...
The two decent size bedrooms, with comfortable beds, overlook the patio. You can access the en suite bathrooms through stone staircases, easy enough to manage (& I am of a certain age...). There is no hanging space in one of the bedrooms but I don't think that it is a drawback on a holiday in very hot Marrakech...
I certainly must mention the lovely housekeeper, Nezha, who would come & prepare our breakfast in the morning & would also cook some delicious Moroccan food if we so wished; but beware! the portions she prepares are very generous and you may have to loosen your belt a little...but after all, who has heard of a diet on holiday!...
Last but not least, the owners of the riad, Lydie and Kader, are totally charming and very helpful. We had some problems with the lights, one night, & they came straight away, shortly followed by the electrician...we would call that a miracle in some parts of the world!...
We hope to be able to return to Dar Raja one day & enjoy the wonderful Moroccan hospitality.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The two terraces, the whole design of the property.
Liked least: Nothing really; the internet was not working but it was perhaps a blessing in disguise...
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Karen D
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An Architectural Gem in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Dar Raja is a quiet surprise at the end of a small street near the Mamounia Hotel. We rented Dar Raja for three weeks in March, and while that may have been a bit too long to spend in Marrakech, it wasn't a day too long to spend in the house. The house is designed for complete privacy for you from the world, as well as each bed/bath from the other. The retractable glass ceiling with the glass staircase leading to the roof seating areas is ingenious, and the view of the Mamounia's gardens is all to yourself, unbelievable really, as are the stars. The kitchen is small, and actually part of the main sitting area, but it is not a drawback. The daily maid service is pretty nice, as was the simple breakfast that was prepared for us each day. The plunge pool was definitely too cold for us in March, but would probably be nice in summer. There's lots of TV, plenty in English, and the Internet service was good (we were charged 20 euros for it) although sometimes we had to go to the roof to get the connection.

One drawback was the owners' insistence that all alcohol brought into the house must be purchased from them. While they were very accommodating in providing what we asked for, a quick check at the supermarket showed they were charging for the service.

We recommend taking the car service from the airport or train station, because it would be very difficult to find this house the first time, and anyway a taxi can only get to within a few blocks and then you have to walk. Have the owners meet you and take you into the neighborhood.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The design of the house
Liked least: Prohibition a la Al Capone...You have to buy from me!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2012
Hello Karen,

Thank you so much for all the nice things you wrote about Dar Raja.
As to alcohol, we are in a moslim country and are responsible for what might happen to our guests ( heartattack etc.) We charge very little compared to a restaurant, and the fact we buy the wines ourselves is the best way to avoid overdrinking. It's a rule which often proved useful as other Riad owners explained.
We're happy we appreciated us being there to welcome you at the derb entrance upon your arrival, to guide you to Dar Raja. We always do so for our guests as finding one's way into the medina is not always easy at first.
We hope you go on enjoying Mexico.
Dar Raja will be glad to welcome you again in our imperial city whenever you wish.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
aultbeaut...
seer green
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Our Ryanair flight to Marrakesh landed in Casablanca,so we took a 2 hour taxi ride,arriving in Marrakesh well after midnight.Lydie,the owner,very kindly picked us up,and is very charming. The riad was spotless,and we had ordered a salad,which was wonderful.We got to bed at about 2.30am.
The maid came in at 8.30am,and left about two hours later.On the next day,she arrived before 8am,and was there till 1pm. She cooked a delicious supper,and we both recommend the food,but the riad is quite small,and,though very discreet,it meant we couldn`t really relax. On our last day,when we had to leave at 11am,she was there early,as she had to prepare the riad for the next guests.This was also a pity.
If you are going out for the day,then I would really recommend her cooking,as it is excellent,and very good value.
The plunge pool was a bit too cold for either of us,but it would be a benefit in the summer,I`m sure.
The twin-bedded room has the better bathroom,but no hanging space,and is more noisy than the main bedroom. There are 15 stone stairs up to the bathroom,so the incontinent will get fit.
The open glass stairs to the roof terrace take a bit of getting used to,and perhaps would curtail binge drinking.There is wine provided at 100 dirhams a bottle,and it was good.
This is a place for older children,and sober adults,as the plunge pool can not be closed off.The roof terraces overlook the Mamounia Hotel,so people watching is fun.
We both enjoyed our stay very much,and I would certainly go again,but perhaps hope the very nice maid could be persuaded to come much later.We did ask her to come at 10.00am,but a misunderstanding meant she arrived at 9.20am,to have breakfast on the table at 10.00am.
It is outstanding in that you can have sole occupancy,is clean,quiet,well situated,and provides first class food,and sells alcohol,which is not always the case.The new owner,Lydie deserves to do well,and we both liked her very much,as we did our early morning visitor!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Sole occupancy,and two bathrooms.
Liked least: Being wakened up every morning.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
swisslady...
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fabulous riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

we had a fantastic time in this beautifully decorated riad. nothing has been forgotten. staff who cooked and cleaned for us were helpful but unobtrusive. wifi didn't work but who needs wifi when there is so much to do!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: roof terrace and pool
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
anaspanna
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“beautiful place & amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

I have to say I cant think of anything bad to say about this riad - it is simply spectacular.
Location, facilities and sylish decor. A real slice of luxury and style in marrakech. It is very peaceful compared to many places in and around the medina and for that I was very thankful as it can all get a bit much.This rias backs onto beautiful gardens and is a world away from the craziness, noise and smells of the medina. A true haven! I would highly reccommend staying here to anyone. The only people who may not like it are ones with small children as it has an amazing plunge pool (well needed in the summer months) but it is on the same floor as the lounge/kitchen with no way to block it off.. A real trwat for us grown ups though! Thank you for making such a special place to stay in. I will be back!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Adstring
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay all round..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Dar Raja is a lovely Riad, located very close to all the major points of interest. We were the first guests to stay and it certainly exceeded all our expectations. The design and styling of the Riad was exceptional and the bedrooms and bathrooms comfortable. We spent lots of time up on the spacious roof terrace which overlooks the famous 'La Mamounia' gardens. The staff were polite and helpful and provided a tasty breakfast each morning at a time of our choosing.

We were there as a family (with 2 older children) and the Riad made our stay in Marrakech a most enjoyable one - we'd certainly recommend it to friends.

4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$128
/
Night
Week
Send a Message
Owner
Christian D
212 618237032
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Jul 2013
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 21 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing