We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
lower terrace overlooking the olive grove
lower terrace overlooking the olive grove
lower terrace overlooking the olive grove
view of two terraces
master bedroom
master bedroom
twin or double bedroom
Marrakech
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Karen D
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An Architectural Gem in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Dar Raja is a quiet surprise at the end of a small street near the Mamounia Hotel. We rented Dar Raja for three weeks in March, and while that may have been a bit too long to spend in Marrakech, it wasn't a day too long to spend in the house. The house is designed for complete privacy for you from the world, as well as each bed/bath from the other. The retractable glass ceiling with the glass staircase leading to the roof seating areas is ingenious, and the view of the Mamounia's gardens is all to yourself, unbelievable really, as are the stars. The kitchen is small, and actually part of the main sitting area, but it is not a drawback. The daily maid service is pretty nice, as was the simple breakfast that was prepared for us each day. The plunge pool was definitely too cold for us in March, but would probably be nice in summer. There's lots of TV, plenty in English, and the Internet service was good (we were charged 20 euros for it) although sometimes we had to go to the roof to get the connection.

One drawback was the owners' insistence that all alcohol brought into the house must be purchased from them. While they were very accommodating in providing what we asked for, a quick check at the supermarket showed they were charging for the service.

We recommend taking the car service from the airport or train station, because it would be very difficult to find this house the first time, and anyway a taxi can only get to within a few blocks and then you have to walk. Have the owners meet you and take you into the neighborhood.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The design of the house
Liked least: Prohibition a la Al Capone...You have to buy from me!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2012
Hello Karen,

Thank you so much for all the nice things you wrote about Dar Raja.
As to alcohol, we are in a moslim country and are responsible for what might happen to our guests ( heartattack etc.) We charge very little compared to a restaurant, and the fact we buy the wines ourselves is the best way to avoid overdrinking. It's a rule which often proved useful as other Riad owners explained.
We're happy we appreciated us being there to welcome you at the derb entrance upon your arrival, to guide you to Dar Raja. We always do so for our guests as finding one's way into the medina is not always easy at first.
We hope you go on enjoying Mexico.
Dar Raja will be glad to welcome you again in our imperial city whenever you wish.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
aultbeaut...
seer green
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Our Ryanair flight to Marrakesh landed in Casablanca,so we took a 2 hour taxi ride,arriving in Marrakesh well after midnight.Lydie,the owner,very kindly picked us up,and is very charming. The riad was spotless,and we had ordered a salad,which was wonderful.We got to bed at about 2.30am.
The maid came in at 8.30am,and left about two hours later.On the next day,she arrived before 8am,and was there till 1pm. She cooked a delicious supper,and we both recommend the food,but the riad is quite small,and,though very discreet,it meant we couldn`t really relax. On our last day,when we had to leave at 11am,she was there early,as she had to prepare the riad for the next guests.This was also a pity.
If you are going out for the day,then I would really recommend her cooking,as it is excellent,and very good value.
The plunge pool was a bit too cold for either of us,but it would be a benefit in the summer,I`m sure.
The twin-bedded room has the better bathroom,but no hanging space,and is more noisy than the main bedroom. There are 15 stone stairs up to the bathroom,so the incontinent will get fit.
The open glass stairs to the roof terrace take a bit of getting used to,and perhaps would curtail binge drinking.There is wine provided at 100 dirhams a bottle,and it was good.
This is a place for older children,and sober adults,as the plunge pool can not be closed off.The roof terraces overlook the Mamounia Hotel,so people watching is fun.
We both enjoyed our stay very much,and I would certainly go again,but perhaps hope the very nice maid could be persuaded to come much later.We did ask her to come at 10.00am,but a misunderstanding meant she arrived at 9.20am,to have breakfast on the table at 10.00am.
It is outstanding in that you can have sole occupancy,is clean,quiet,well situated,and provides first class food,and sells alcohol,which is not always the case.The new owner,Lydie deserves to do well,and we both liked her very much,as we did our early morning visitor!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Sole occupancy,and two bathrooms.
Liked least: Being wakened up every morning.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
swisslady...
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fabulous riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

we had a fantastic time in this beautifully decorated riad. nothing has been forgotten. staff who cooked and cleaned for us were helpful but unobtrusive. wifi didn't work but who needs wifi when there is so much to do!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: roof terrace and pool
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
anaspanna
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“beautiful place & amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

I have to say I cant think of anything bad to say about this riad - it is simply spectacular.
Location, facilities and sylish decor. A real slice of luxury and style in marrakech. It is very peaceful compared to many places in and around the medina and for that I was very thankful as it can all get a bit much.This rias backs onto beautiful gardens and is a world away from the craziness, noise and smells of the medina. A true haven! I would highly reccommend staying here to anyone. The only people who may not like it are ones with small children as it has an amazing plunge pool (well needed in the summer months) but it is on the same floor as the lounge/kitchen with no way to block it off.. A real trwat for us grown ups though! Thank you for making such a special place to stay in. I will be back!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Adstring
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay all round..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Dar Raja is a lovely Riad, located very close to all the major points of interest. We were the first guests to stay and it certainly exceeded all our expectations. The design and styling of the Riad was exceptional and the bedrooms and bathrooms comfortable. We spent lots of time up on the spacious roof terrace which overlooks the famous 'La Mamounia' gardens. The staff were polite and helpful and provided a tasty breakfast each morning at a time of our choosing.

We were there as a family (with 2 older children) and the Riad made our stay in Marrakech a most enjoyable one - we'd certainly recommend it to friends.

4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
paul l l
Toulouse
1 review
“Féerique !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation

Marrakech oui, mais pas n'importe comment.

Après avoir choisi la destination, encore fallait-il trouver le bon pied à terre.

Sensibles aux belles choses, nous avons très vite été séduits par ce Riad d'exception mêlant architecture inspirée (lignes superbes, prouesse d'un architecte français), confort moderne (clim, calme, vue sur jardin de la mamounia, wifi gratuit, piscine interieure avec alarme, chaine Hi-Fi, TV, etc...) et emplacement idéal (placé au coeur de la ville, à deux pas du palais royal et de la place Jemaa el fna).

La finition du Riad est exceptionnelle. Tout est fait avec gout et simplicité.
Les magnifiques petites ruelles menant au Riad nous sont vites devenues familières, tout comme les habitants et commerçants du coin.

Avec 2 jeunes enfants (3 ans et 6 ans), il était primordial de ne pas être loin de tout. Les ballades a pied pouvant vite devenir un calvaire pour nos têtes blondes sous une chaleur torride.

L'emplacement idéal en a d'ailleurs convaincu d'autres. Vous pourrez le vérifier en regardant la liste des prestigieux voisins propriétaires de Riads du quartier (show-biz) .

Côté service, là encore c'était parfait.
Petit déjeuner copieux et savoureux tous les matins à l'heure que vous souhaitez. Libre à vous de choisir une sorte de demi-pension complète en commandant la veille à Néza (la fée du Riad et des briouates) les repas du soir.
Avec tous les équipements de cuisine utiles, il est aussi très facile de cuisiner les bons produits achetés sur le marché ou en grande surface (carrefour).

Il faut souligner aussi l'excellente attitude du personnel qui jongle parfaitement entre discrétion et interaction, au grès de vos envies. Nos enfants les ont très vite adopté et une belle relation s'est même crée.

Cerise sur le gateau, nous avons rencontré Kad & Lydie, les heureux propriétaires du Riad, ainsi que Pierre et Yacine qui nous ont fait découvrir les bonnes boutiques du Souk et meilleurs restos de Marrakech. Plus que de simples guides, ces gens là sont vite devenus des amis.

En résumé, le seul regret que nous ayons eu est de ne pas être resté plus longtemps car nous nous sentions tous les 4 comme chez nous dans ce majestueux Riad Dar Raja.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$113
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Christian D
212 618237032
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Jul 2013
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 22 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing