We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roches Armed

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roches Armed to your Saves list
Roches Armed
Ste. LES ROCHES ARMED S.A.R.L | Douar Aremd-Imlil Asni, Marrakech 42152, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was a lucky find. We walked up to Aroumd after getting the bus to Imlil on the assumption that there must be somewhere to stay up there.
After wandering around the village we got to the top where we found this place. The tagine was excellent (probably the best we had in Morocco) with plenty of food, and the rooms were very nicely decorated and very comfortable. Friendly people who looked after the bags that we didnt want to carry up Toubkal.
Easist to find if you stay on the road that goes up the left side of the village, rather than the narrow streets.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were lucky to land in this wonderful place. The view is amazing particularly from the rooftop, the food is excellent, but what is best is our hosts' kindness. Moreover their knowledge of the neighbouring land is excellent which has allowed us to see breath taking landscapes. If you come to Morocco, do not miss this place!

Nous avon ététrès chanceux de trouver ce magnifique endroit. La vue est magnifique depuis la terrasse, la nourriture est délicieuse, mais le mieux c'est l'amabilité de nos hôtes. Leur connaissance des environs est excellent ce qui nous a permis de faire de superbes randonées. C'estun endroit à ne pas manquer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Excellent. really enjoyed staying here.
Got the bus/taxi to imlil via asni and then walked to aroumd. Stayed a night there before walking to the refuge and spending a night there. Then walked up Toubkal and back to aroumd the next day.
Three course dinner, night and breakfast for 150 Dirham, great! Water and tea included.
really friendly, clean, hot shower, clean toilets, beautiful sun terrace with stunning view of mountains.
They also looked after our big bags whilst we did the trek.

The hostel is located at the top of town so make sure you walk past anyone else trying to get you into their hostels with similar names!.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed here on the last two nights of my trek around the Toubkal Massif. Would first of all say that it is extremely comfortable and welcoming while being nice and quiet, being located in Aroumd away from the busy streets of Imlil. It's a great location for starting an ascent of Toubkal as Aroumd has very easy access to the Mizane Valley (well I suppose it's actually in the Mizane Valley!).

As a solo trekker nearing the end of my trip, I enjoyed the relative luxury of showers, a nice lounge and a long sleep in a soft bed. Also there was somewhere to wash and dry my clothes.The garden at the front was very pleasant to sit in and drink tea although larger groups may prefer to appreciate the mountain view from the extensive terraces.

All in all a lovely stay and I hope the new born kid goat is doing well....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were on a mountain trek with a family group and stopped here for lunch before our descent. Delicious food, friendly staff and the most fabulous views - this really made our day special and provided welcome rest and recovery after our climb! Would definitely recommend it for a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

For TRIPADVISOR first: this place is named ROCHES AREMD not Armed and it is located in IMLIL not in Marrakesh.
It has actually the best location of all lodgings in Imlil on a hilltop with fantastic views. But if you're arriving by foot it is a 300 meter climb.
It is very professional. That's positive as well as negative. Don't expect a 'homestay' in a local house. Anyway Imlil is not the places for that, you must go to more remote, less touristy villages.
For hikers and climbers, I guess there are cheaper places in Imlil, but the location is worth the 50 Drh extra.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stunning location and fabulous staff. Great value meals and basic but comfy beds. You need a sturdy vehicle to get up here but once arrived you feel as if you have left the rest of the world behind and there is no better spot from which to explore the Imlil valley.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roches Armed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roches Armed

Address: Ste. LES ROCHES ARMED S.A.R.L | Douar Aremd-Imlil Asni, Marrakech 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel Roches Armed is your host structure in the Toubkal Massif and the surrounding areas in the chain of the High Atlas.Here, we are just 10 minutes drive from the village of Imlil, or 30 minutes walk ... (Preferably a 4x4 or a small car ..).We have a professional team of muleteers, cooks, assistants and guides accompanying mountains in graduate status.Our teammates make their tasks by love and devotion to later full satisfaction of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Roches Armed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roches Armed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.