We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay In A Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Almas to your Saves list
Hotel Almas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Stay In A Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this lovely hotel for 5 nights. Check in was quick and the man behind the reception desk was very pleasant and spoke good English.
Our room 214 was big and clean with doors leading out onto a private balcony. There was a big wardrobe along with shelving, a dressing table,a fridge and TV. The room was cleaned daily along with towel change and toiletries replenished. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.
The breakfast was served from 0630-1030 A variety of cereals, pastries, bread rolls, boiled eggs, yogurt, jam, honey, semolina, cheese, cold meat, olives, dried and fresh fruit, nuts, orange juice and coffee. You can eat in the restaurant or outside on the terrace. The restaurant also serves evening meals but we didn't eat there.
There's a swimming pool along with sun loungers up on the roof which we didn't use, but it looked spotlessly clean. Towels are also provided. All of the communal areas were clean and well looked after and all of the staff we encountered were friendly. I would definitely go back to this hotel if I was to visit Marrakech again.

The hotel is in a convenient location away from the hustle and bustle of the medina, but is only a 20 minute walk away. It's situated in Gueliz, an area that has plenty of cafes and restaurants to suit any budget. I would definitely recommend eating at the restaurants where the locals eat rather than the tourist places. You will also find MacDonalds and KFC on the main road walking toward the old town.
All the places of interest are within walking distance if you like to walk. There's also 2 big supermarkets which we came across, one which sell alcohol.

When you arrive at the airport you will need to change your money into Dirhams. We changed £300 but only spent about £100 so best to try work out how much you may need. We only needed money for food and drink as we traveled light and didn't intend on buying tourist tat to bring home! There's English speaking places within the town where you can change money too if you feel you need to change more. However, in town they do not change your money back to your own currency, they only do that for the Moroccan residents. If you have money left you need to change it back to your currency when you arrive back at the airport before you go through security. Dirhams cannot be used in duty free. You can use your own currency or euros in duty free and change is given in euros. There's 2 duty free shops in the airport. Check out the prices in both before you buy anything as we found that one was considerably cheaper than the other.
100 Dirhams is about £7.30

We got the number 19 bus from the airport. You tell the driver which hotel you are staying at and he drops you close then gives you directions to reach it. We bought a return ticket for 50 Dirhams each. A return ticket allows you travel back to the airport within 2 weeks. When you go for the bus to go back to the airport just wait by the road where you were dropped off and when you see the bus put your hand out for it to stop. There's no bus stops! The journey only takes about 10-15 minutes and the buses are every half hour.

The driver dropped us outside MacDonalds. Cross over the main road to the phone shop opposite MacDonalds. Turn left down the next street and cross to the other side of the road then take the second right and you will find Hotel Almas, a 2 minute walk away

Marrakech is a busy place with lots of traffic so be careful when crossing the roads. People are friendly. The souks are amazing and no doubt you will get lost. If this happens and you see a group tour then tag onto that and you will eventually get out! The food is delicious and the smoothies from the stalls too. I would recommend a mixed one. I only came across a couple of those stalls in the souks so if you do find one try it. They are only 5 Dirhams about 35p. You can also get an ice cream in the square for 2 Dirhams!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    139
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
117
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here in February 2014 for 6 nights as part of a week-long stay in the city. The hotel itself is clean, well looked after with polite, helpful staff. The room was large, with a huge bed and space to sit and relax. The TV had a number of channels including English channels and a World news channel in French. The room also had heavy curtains (which helped make the room dark), Air-con (although ours didn't appear to work), a fridge and a nice big bathroom and a very comfortable shower. The hotel had a rooftop pool which was freezing cold, but actually quite refreshing and in the heat of the day was nice to dip your feet in. The roof had towels, sun loungers and a decent view as well. A nice place to chill with a book and soak up some sun away from the craziness at the ground level below.

I do however have a few issues with the rooms:
The rooms had no safe, which meant we felt like we had to hide valuables away or take them with us daily;
The air con didn't seem to have any effect what so ever (and it was a hot week when we were there);
The rooftop pool could have done with more loungers, as one large family could have occupied the lot in one go; and
The walls were extremely thin, to the point that we could hear everything from our very 'active' neighbours.

This final point did become a nuisance as we heard voices, TVs and shouting at all hours from the next door couple/family (it sounded like a herd of elephants) and then late night/early morning, I was regularly woken up to interesting sounds from beyond the wall.

With regards to the location, if you accept you a good 30 minutes’ walk from the central square and night market, then it's great. Those that think it's a leisurely stroll there are mistaken. The walk is straight forward, but contains mad dashes across roads and is very noisy all day (although equally well lit on an evening which was good). The new town location is close to loads of bars and good restaurants and has a little supermarket a short walk away. But for those that want a more central location, a hotel nearer the walls or a riad in the centre are better options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing away from the road if possible. The view might not seem like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very comfortable rooms, an excellent rooftop pool and lots of decent restaurants all within 5 minutes walk. The Irish bar on the next street is really handy and offers great value pizzas if you fancy a snack. The old town of Marrakech is just 20 minutes walk away and we would really recommend this hotel as an excellent low cost option

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel overlook the main street however this didn't cause us a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We came to Marrakesh as a last minute alternative for somewhere to take a short spring break with some sun. This hotel lives up to the other reviews - basic but clean with helpful staff. There were several places to eat nearby and food was very cheap.
The pool area on the roof was clean and well cared for but we did not use it - the weather was pleasantly warm but not really hot enough in mid March for a dip. It was not very large.
Our room was ok. Two large beds pushed together to make an enormous double. Not much choice on tv but free wifi with good reception. We were on the 5th floor facing the road and did not find the city noise intrusive.
All in all I would recommend as a budget hotel located close to everything you want in Marrakesh.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

For the amount I paid for this hotel, I set my expectations low and didn't expect much. First impressions, I thought the check in was a bit unproffesional and the amount of English spoken by the staff slightly lacking. Despite this, the hotel room was large and comfortable with a large double bed and a beautiful shower. In addition the location was ideal, just a 20-25 minute walk to the old town as well as some lovely restaurants and cafe's in the area to visit.

On a warm day it was nice to enjoy the rooftop pool area, which was an added bonus considering the amount I paid for this hotel. If I visit Marrakech again and find myself on a budget I would stay at Hotel Almas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed in this hotel and it was very nice, one of the only highlights we had in marrakesh as we didn't enjoy the city much.

The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and in the centre without being too noisy outside

The breakfast wasn't anything special but not bad either.

I don't think I would return to marrakesh but I would come back to the hotel if I ever have to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Good Points:
Friendly and helpful staff.
Comfortable rooms.
Fantastic pillows.
Fairly good location.

Bad points:
Thin walls.
Strange toilet position with a wall in the way, making it awkward to use.
Food was quite random: Some evenings there was a small buffet with limited choices and other evenings I was just given a meal without any choices.
Swimming pool was uncomfortably cold.
There is no official Hotel parking. You pay 'Guardians' on a nightly basis to 'look after' your vehicle.
No tourist information available at reception.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter than the front because you are away from the main road, altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Almas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.