We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Almas to your Saves list
Hotel Almas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The best thing I liked was it's location and value, you can walk to a good variety of shops,restaurants and bars. They don't have private parking space for your car if you have one so I used the public parking area across the street from the main door and you have to tell the parking guard to watch it out for you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    127
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
107
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the medina and then decided to stay in gueliz for 2 nights to sample the 'new city'. The hotel is in a great location jusy a short 5 mins walk to the shopping centre, cafes and bars. The hotel staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was very nice with a large variety of food to choose from. Our room was ok. It was very spacious, and bright with a nice balcony. The negatives were that there appeared to be a large gap in one part of the ceiling where you could see into like the loft part of the hotel? At first we thought this was a broken ceiling panel. When checking with the staff and having a look in another room it would appear this is just how it is designed? Maybe? It did not effect our stay but it was unsightly and almost looked like someone could get in if they wanted. We did also see a lot of ants in the bathroom and in the bed. The rooftop swimming pool was very nice clean and relaxing. This is not the worst hotel I have stayed in but I would only describe it as ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southampton UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here twice during the same trip to Morocco and had we not returned I would have rated it more highly, particularly for the suite rooms we were given first time round. Internet connection was also good when in certain areas of the hotel, and it was free. But on both occasions the breakfast choice was poor and the organisation of it worse. I know breakfast isn't an extensive and wide ranging meal in Morocco but they could have at least made sure what was on offer was replenished regularly and the orange juice not so diluted that it tasted like squash. Our second visit was really disappointing because our son was allocated a room that reeked of smoke and we weren't asked beforehand if we wanted a non-smoking room (if they exist). It was sad that it was let down by poor management as the location is great; being so close to the number 1 bus route that goes to the Medina for 4 dirhams and just round the corner from the excellent Amaia restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel certainly stands out on the street!

We arrived on the 27th Oct and the taxi fare here from the airport was 150dirhams, took about 15 mins. It would appear the pricing is set on the airport boards near the taxi rank.

We were signed in quickly and given our key - it is one of the credit card type keys, which is great but it also activates the electricity in the room which is not so great if you want to charge items up when you are out as as soon as you remove the card the power goes. A minor hitch though and many hotels are now going down this route.

The reception area was very inviting and the "lounge" area outside the main door was very nice and we spent time sat here every night after a last coffee of the day in Winoo (a great juice / coffee bar two doors up).

Staff on reception were very helpful at all times.

We were on the 5th floor and there is, fortunately, a lift.

The room was large and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom which had a lovely large shower with plentiful hot water, although the water pressure did dip a few times.

The bed was lovely and firm and HUGE! I think it was a double and single pushed together. Bedding was lovely and crisp and seemed to be changed daily.

There was a large flatscreen TV in the room, which didn't show English channels but the music channel came in handy.

Lighting in the room was a tad dim but not a major hassle.

There is a fridge in the room as well, which is big enough to hold a few bottles of water.

Breakfast was a continental type affair and there was always plenty of everything, although tea spoons always seemed to be out of stock / all used when we hit the dining room but staff were happy to go and grab some.

The swimming pool on the roof is small, very small and we didn't use it but we did spend some time up there taking in the view and just having a relax. Again, like the rest of the hotel the pool and surrounding area was very clean.

A taxi to Katoubia Mosque was 25dirhams and to the Tanneries was 35dirham, coming back from the square at night was more pricey at 50dirhams but we had been forewarned fares could double as darkness fell.

As mentioned reception staff were very helpful for sourcing cab pricing and they did make a call for us as well.

The hotel is about a 25 to 35 minute walk from the Fna square so not far at all really and a cab was cheap enough anyway.

The only thing I wish they would consider investing in is room safes.

As we went back to the airport in daylight we got a cab for 90 dirhams, but you can expect to pay anything from 75 to 100 dirhams.

We stayed 5 nights and the only extra over and above the booked price was a 100dirham tourist tax which we were expecting and were informed about when checking in.

All in all we found the Almas to be in an excellent location, to be very clean and with very helpful & friendly staff and would therefore have no problem in recommending this Hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I am not sure what the normal rooms are like as the amazing staff upgraded us to a suite and it was beautiful, large comfy bed and balcony. The staff was very helpful with our bags, directions, taxis and questions. Internet was great and very fast. Is nice and close to some great restaurants. Definatly a well priced alternative to staying in the Medina

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We only had one night at this hotel, after we had spent a few nights in the Medina and a night out in the desert.

Friendly!! Just what we were after when we arrived tired and needing a good night sleep away from the madness of the Medina. We were upgraded to a suite which was HUGE! Great bed, super large room and the location of the hotel couldnt be better. We would definately stay here again in a heartbeat.

Excellent value for money - breakfast not so good, but to be honest there is only so much bread you can eat..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night in October before catching our flight home. The room was large and clean but there were stains on the carpet and ants in the bathroom. The bed was massive and the storage space was generous.
As other reviewers have stated, the hotel is in the new town about a 30 minute walk from the main square and near some nice bars / cafes (and McDonalds / KFC if you are so inclined).
The chap on reception was friendly enough with decent English but the lady was somewhat surly.
There was no safe in the room so we asked for use of the safe deposit box which was basically an envelope held under the reception desk.
The only real niggle with the room was the shower whose temperature fluctuated whilst in use and the length of time it took the water to drain away.
We only sat by the pool (which seemed to be used by the pool attendant's family) which is very small but probably quite welcome after a hot day's sightseeing. No signs of life at the poolside bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Almas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.