We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Almas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Almas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Based on the tripadvisor reviews we booked this hotel. Really good 3star hotel, maybe a little bit more, but not 4stars. Clean room and very big bed, nice swimming pool (very clean!!), but you miss the small extra’s to make it a 4star place. Welcome was not as we expected based on the review here. Very aloof attitude (is that the right English word?) of the lady in the front desk. Later that day there was a man at the desk, I think for the evening shift and he was very welcoming, kind and helpful.

At the last day he arranged a taxi for us to pick us up at 6 in the morning for 100 dhr, for an early flight. When we left the taxi driver told us it would be 200 dirham and we told him that was not the deal. The kind man wasn’t there, but there was another man (security guy?) who helped us with our luggage, and he told us ‘’ok, pay 150’’. We really wanted to get our flight and were not in the mood for arguing, so we agreed. At the airport the taxi driver wanted the money before we left the car, we gave him 150 dirham (100 and 50 bill), checked it both and got out of the car to get our bags out of the trunk. He didn’t help us and then showed us a 50 and a 20 bill, telling us that we didn’t pay enough! We got angry and were very, very, very, sure of the 50 and 100 bill and that he switched one bill, and we told him that. I think he did see on our faces that we were really sure. So he said ‘’ok, ok!’’ and drove away.

I know that this not the fault of the hotel, but if they arrange a taxi they should really be careful! I do not blame the hotel, but I don’t have any good word for the other hotel guy who didn’t help us and told us to pay 150. He even wanted a tip after that (for the suitcases)! I would give this hotel 3,5 stars, but because that isn’t possible I go for 4 stars because of the location, breakfast, swimming pool and clean rooms. Despite of the stupid taxi driver incident, I would definitely stay here again when visiting the Nouvelle Ville area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    114
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
103
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Leonards-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked this hotel on a half-board basis, not knowing what the local food would be like. We neededn't have worried about local cuisine, however.

Each receptionist we encountered was polite, courteous and helpful. Our room was excellent with an enormous bed. Pillows were a little firm for my other half but I can sleep on a clothes line so had no issues. Great to have AC, too as it was generally 33-35 degrees each day outside. No hairdryer but there was a fridge, which we kept stocked with diet cokes and bottled water, available everywhere. There was a small kiosk just round the corner, selling 500ml bottles of water at 15Dh (about £1.50) a time.

We arrived at about 9:30 on our first night and asked if we were too late to eat. The receptionist arranged for a meal to be sent up to our rooms. It was fantastically welcome.

Breakfast was continental buffet. Lots of pastries, rolls, sliced meats, cheese, yoghurts. The usual stuff. Coffee (great), tea and fresh orange juice on tap.

Evening meals were limited, to say the least. Little choice, as there was a small kitchen only open at breakfast and evening meal, providing only two choices per night. You'll be disappointed if you don't like chicken and maybe if you do. We ate in the hotel three times but only when we were too tired to go to any of the excellent local cafes or restaurants, of which there are loads within 5 minutes walk, off Place du 16 Novembre (including MacD, if that's your thing). We noticed some people in the lobby with coffees but it wasn't something we actually ordered ourselves.

The swimming pool is on the roof and, even when it's hot outside, that pool is COLD. It's quite small but made a welcoming, if cold, break. Towels provided by the pool. Plenty of loungers by the pool, plus toilets, showers and changing rooms.

Hotel will also provide a few excursions, which were paid for on our return to the hotel. We went to see the waterfalls in the Atlas mountains. Not particularly exciting but it was good to get somewhere cooler for the day.

We were on the 2nd floor and had good wifi access. The room overlooked the street but we were not disturbed by any night-time activities, despite there being restaurants around us.
Jemaa El Fna is a five minute taxi ride, costing around between 30-50Dh (£3-£5), depending on your haggling skills.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Huge, air conditioned rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast adequate and great to have the pool, which while not huge is extremely clean and most welcome in the heat of the city. Great location adjacent to a Juice and Sandwich bar, with the most wonderful fresh fruit juice and fruit salad in one for less than £2. Adjacent to this a great fish restaurant which we were told is the best in Marrakech and where we enjoyed lobster cooked to perfection for £10.00. This area is frequented by the locals so the prices were brilliant but doubled in the next street.

Receptionist's were all very friendly and helpful and their English was also very good.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for four nights with y little girl. I was a little sceptical before i left the uk as I didnt quite believe it would be as good as it looked. This place cost me £35 per night and I'm still in shock it's exactly how it looks in the pictures and is clean presentable friendly and I am really going to miss it. It's nice to come back to a clean hotel after spending the day in heat and dust at the souks and the inner city. Would totally come back here just for the hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A really good hotel. Clean modern rooms, lovely rooftop pool - not the biggest but fine for what you need from a city hotel. Friendly staff, especially the lifeguard who did a great job of playing with and entertaining our kids!
Breakfast perfectly adequate though imagine if you're staying more than a few nights it could get a little tedious.
Well located as just a 20 minute walk or so down the main street to the Medina and a short taxi ride back if you're too tired to do the return walk.
Would definitely return if I wanted another short trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

i booked 2 nights in this hotel, thinking it is affordable and clean, from the pictures anyway:(

i couldnt stay there after checking in because personnal formalities...

back home after , they charged me 2 nights without staying, or even informing me that i will be charged!!

its scandelous and unprofessional, stealing peoples money with such a snicky way , what a shame!

as a moroccan myself, please dont stay there>

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent hotel for my second stay in Marrakech. Wanted a hotel with a pool, didn't want to be right in the hustle and bustle when staying in a Riad in the old quarters and did not want to be far away from all the action.

Hotel Almas ticked all the boxes.

Clean room, big bed, comfy, great shower, even a decent movie channel for late night movies before going sleep.

If you are into sunbathing the roof is excellent, also where the swimming pool is located.

Staff are friendly and even gave us late check for no extra cost.

Breakfast was fine. Mixture of cold options, plus pancakes and boiled eggs.

Great restaurant next door which was always full of locals and food was so cheap yet tasty, especially pizza. Also a popular fish place across the road, so you will not go hungry.

Superb location if you want to be walking distance from all the action in sqaure or a cheap taxi ride. Gueliz is more of a modern area, with excellent restaurants so if you want to stay amongst the history this is not the area for you. The hotel matches the area. Also close to the train and coach station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Almas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.